We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen M

Friends out

Review of The Cliff Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jun 2024
Stopped at the Cliff for drinks with my friends and ended up having food also
Was served by Dio on the terrace who’s a credit to this place very welcoming and attentive offering blankets to make sure the breeze wouldn’t tarn our experience
Lovely atmosphere with the best view
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jun 2024
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased to see you stayed for food and were well looked after. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹17,287
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹17,285
  • Agoda.com
    ₹17,298
  • eDreams
    ₹17,287
0.2 km from The Cliff Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
All seasons is a well-maintained Victorian building with 40 rooms
₹9,724
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹9,724
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹9,724
  • Agoda.com
    ₹9,730
0.2 km from The Cliff Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₹9,150
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    ₹7,568
  • Agoda.com
    ₹7,600
  • StayForLong
    ₹10,459
1.9 km from The Cliff Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Sunrise view from the room.
    0.2 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    0.2 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    ₹11,794
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₹11,777
    • Vio.com
      ₹10,008
    • Hotels.com
      ₹11,441
    0.0 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹8,758
    • Booking.com
      ₹6,483
    • Lol.travel
    • Agoda.com
      ₹6,487
    2.3 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    ₹11,372
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      ₹11,795
    • Agoda.com
      ₹10,252
    • Hotels.com
      ₹11,795
    3.1 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹8,849
    • Agoda.com
      ₹8,854
    • Vio.com
      ₹8,854
    • eDreams
      ₹8,849
    3.1 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹7,562
    • Vio.com
      ₹7,567
    • Agoda.com
      ₹7,567
    • eDreams
      ₹7,562
    3.1 km from The Cliff Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Gorleston-on-Sea
    Reviews (1,985)
    Filter reviews
    1,985 results
    Traveller rating
    1,042
    601
    226
    58
    58
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    1,042
    601
    226
    58
    58
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews terrace bar cream tea sea view bath suite lovely hotel gorleston beach no lift lovely meal lovely room weekend break cooked to perfection fish and chips cooked breakfast a lovely stay great yarmouth sea front muse
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 1,985 reviews
    Reviewed 1 June 2024

    Lovely lunch, thank you. Dio was great. Very impressed with his memory skills in not using a pad to take orders! Nice food and great service. We didn’t have it but the afternoon tea looked amazing. Had a fruit scone to finish and was beautiful. Warm and fresh!

    Date of stay: June 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Edward C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

    Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass your comments onto Dio.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

    Super hotel. Staff were excellent. Lovely terrace with beautiful views. Very comfy bed, good shower and coffee/ tea available. Lovely sea view from room however couldn’t sit out on the balcony during service time due the the kitchen hvac unit on the same area.

    Room tip: There is ample parking. No aircon in the room but a fan is provided. Lovely restaurants within walking distance.
    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Mags A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    Thank you so much for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 May 2024

    The Cliff Hotel is in a prime location, with an attractive terrace - a real sun trap - but the overall editing experience was disappointing.
    Our pre-lunch gin and tonics were tasteless: explained away because the tonic is apparently dispensed from a pump, rather than out of a bottle.
    Brisket was leathery, the fish was fine but the batter greasy.
    Nobody asked if we had enjoyed our meal, nobody asked if we would like to see the menu for dessert, even though we had two youngsters eating off the children’s menu.
    We were left wondering what training staff get. A few basic lessons on how to make feel customers comfortable would help

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Fedupfood
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    Thank you for your review, I must say that your experience is not at all our usual standard practice. May I ask that you email sales@thecliffhotel.co.uk so I can look into this further please. Thank you

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 May 2024

    Dio was very welcoming and tended to are every needs! Food was fantastic and certainly best roast in the area by far!
    Comfortable relaxing and local ambiance with great views beach family restaurant good drinks good space and plenty off appeal

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sebastian R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    I am so glad you had a good time with us. Thank you for your review

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 May 2024

    Have been before, they never let you down, attentive staff, clean hotel, wonderful food and service, we needed extra pillows which we asked for on arrival and they were delivered to our room 10 minutes later, absolutely excellent service, easy place to park, they make you welcome, the cost is reasonable! Great views and you can have a drink in the evening on their terrace which has heaters !!
    Will see you again 👏👏

    Room tip: Just enjoy
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank L2992XApatrickm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jess Squire, Marketing at The Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews