We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

In Tokyo, if you don't want to pay the big dollars, you cannot expect to have the space that you would find in a north american hotel. We travel and we need to adjust our expectations, for sure. But the most important thing in our planification was to be able to go from one area to another by metro during the week. No other way. The Sunroute was perfect: 20 feet from the metro station in Shinjuku, little but clean room, a good bed and a restaurant with a breakfast buffet just next door. Always really happy to come back to our hotel after a long day of sightseeing around this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ophelye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 416 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

My first stay in Tokyo, so I wasn't prepared for how small the rooms really are, here. This is SO tight for 2, especially with luggage for extended travels. But the cleanliness, quiet, and friendly staff made up for any tight adjustments necessary. Not much of a lobby. Just a couple of oversized benches, so if you're meeting others, there is nowhere for casual conversation.
The only attached Royal Host restaurant will suffice when really hungry. There are tons of small Korean restaurants around, but you really need to know Korean fare. We finally found a great (larger) grille and restaurant a couple blocks away with a Western flair - Squall Grille & Sweets. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeslieNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is an excellent location to get around Shinjuku and Tokyo. The rooms are clean although on the small side, and staff are helpful and nice. Don't forget that smoking in hotel rooms are still allowed, so non-smokers should check their booking carefully...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Higasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Very good hotel - very clean, secure. Literally, 1 minute walk away from the subway. The staff is really helpful and friendly. A McDonald's and a convenience store 1 minute away from the hotel. 7-10 minute walk from major attractions, like Shinjuku gyoen, department stores and large shopping district. Definitely recommend this place - will come back here for sure :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_Sakurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The room was small, but enough for the two of us. I was pleased with the size of the bathroom.

The hotel staff were lovely and happy to help out.

The only restaurant the hotel had was not that great and next time I will probably stay in the other Sunroute in Tokyo as when we walked past we noticed it had a lovely restaurant.

The hotel is located around the corner from the Shinjuku-Higashi subway but we chose to walk to the main Shinjuku station which was a 15 minute walk. The subway line is limited and involves a couple of changes so we wanted a more direct route.

It was helpful to have a laundry we could use ourselves as we had a fair bit of washing due to skiing the week before.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy_traveller4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,349 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
988 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: ₹ 5,433 - ₹ 10,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ostrovok, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing