We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, modern hotel with a cool vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the hotel. Rooms were a bit larger than most Tokyo hotel. Relatively new. The only drawback was that it was not in the most desirable part of Shinjuku. However it was close to the action and the neighborhood was not dangerous or anything (just a few men's clubs and love hotels in the mix). We were also not impressed at all with the rooftop lounge. the prices were very high, the food was not very good and the portions were very small and they charged a fee to get into the lounge. At a minimum, hotel guests should not have to pay a cover charge to have a drink and eat in their own hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing in the direction of Shinjujku Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,406 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t stay here. Sink water tastes and smells like sewer lines. Front desk service is only willing to help those who are just checking in or paying money. We just checked out today and asked for a taxi at the front desk. The staff lady asked us to wait while she finished typing something before assisting us. Once she was done she called a Taxi for us and asked us to pay an extra 450¥ service charge for the hotel to call a taxi. We have no choice so we say OK, then she told us to wait 10-15 minutes.

We waited for over 15 minutes and noticed other people got Taxis before us. We ask the front desk again and now we see the staff lady run outside to try to call us ANOTHER Taxi - meaning they let other people take our Taxi even though we reserved first. We ended up walking to the train station with all our luggage because the staff here is incapable of calling a taxi and because we are late to the airport for our flight.

Best part of the hotel is the rooftop where you can see the city skyline and not see the front desk staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my third time to stay in Granbell. Location is great, rooms are nice and tidy. There is a live chat service which you can connect with staff immediately to get help in traffic, making reservations in restaurants… etc. the staff in live chat is very friendly and good in English, and replies promptly even in mid night.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank cleow695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love this hotel! Been staying in this hotel for at least 3 times. Although it's small but it's cosy!

Quite convenient to the station which is about 8 mins walk.

The only negative point is that they forget requests. Wanted to surprise my friend cause it's her birthday but they didn't do anything. So I was quite disappointed.

I will still stay in this hotel whenever I'm in Tokyo!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chelsac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed here fir 6 nights. Got the twin room (not double room) which is bitter. Although room was not big, but this is Japan, every space counts. Free breakfast at the 12 floor is good. Took the Narita express (NEX) at 4000 yen round trip. From station took the taxi @ 1000 yen, because we were carrying bags. Make sure you buy suica card for traveling. When we travel, we used Higashi-shinjuku station which is only 350m walk instead of shinjuku station. There are so many restaurant around this area and the staff were so accommodating and helpful. we took the uber to the jr station on our way back at 1200 yen.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,469 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel

Address: 2-14-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: ₹ 7,359 - ₹ 22,788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinjuku Granbell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing