We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the hidden gems of tokyo”

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 54.21*
and up
Nocturnal Walking Tour of Shinjuku
Ranked #3 of 385 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The tallest building in Shinjuku, TMG No. 1 offers sweeping views of Tokyo--all the way to Mt. Fuji on a clear day--from the 45th floor observatory.
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

It’s free and a must to visit. The observation deck on the 48th floor gives a city view of a large part of Tokyo. I was even lucky to have a good view of my Fuji. Do visit both the north and south towers. And there were volunteers ever ready to explain on the different views from the tower.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Gabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free view"
in 255 reviews
"observation deck"
in 293 reviews
"north tower"
in 202 reviews
"mt fuji"
in 316 reviews
"degree view"
in 34 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 114 reviews
"free attraction"
in 60 reviews
"night view"
in 49 reviews
"great view of the city"
in 60 reviews
"free entry"
in 64 reviews
"excellent view"
in 41 reviews
"top floor"
in 86 reviews
"shinjuku station"
in 182 reviews
"observatory"
in 283 reviews
"elevator"
in 319 reviews
"skytree"
in 166 reviews
"queue"
in 260 reviews
Filter

407 - 411 of 6,145 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018

Staying at a nearby hotel I went up to the viewing floors a few times to get my bearings in Tokyo.The views are excellent and the tourist items on display are beautifully designed and packaged. The helpful English speaking volunteers told me some local history and pointed out landmarks.Very helpful.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Tasro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We visited this free viewing platform as it was near to our hotel.

It’s old, outdated with poor viewing areas. The lighting at night reflects off the glass stopping any decent photos.

We went at night to find a restaurant blocking all the decent views. To the east.

Don’t bother if you want to take decent views of the city at night.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank AusGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

It is very easy and free to travel up the 46 floors of this public building at the top of which is a beautiful view of Tokyo. Highly recommend getting up there early on a clear day when Mount Fuji is visible. Lacks the engineering charm and eccentricity of Tokyo tower but is far less crowded and higher and better placed.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Glutton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

You probably still want to go to Tokyo Skytree after visiting the Government Building but considering that this one is free I think everybody should go if you have the time. Not a lot to do or see near the building but it’s only five minute walk to the Shinjuku Train Station.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Ringo_Cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing