We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

First the good things. This hotel is conveniently located a 15 minute walk from Shinjuku JR station, and virtually on top of Shinjuku Sanchome metro. It is right in the middle of the busy eastern side of Shinjuku, so great for restaurants and shopping. The hotel staff were excellent. They were polite and exceptionally helpful.

Now the less good things. The hotel itself is badly in need of renovation. The rooms were shabby and the whole hotel had an odour of stale cigarette smoke. The rooms themselves we're small and not particularly clean, but the beds were comfortable and the bed linen was clean. The bathrooms were modular and a bit old, but functional with plenty of toiletries. Wifi was only available in the foyer, not in the rooms, but it was free.

Tokyo is an expensive place to stay, and this hotel is probably par for the course. I'm not sure that I would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Too much smell of cigarette smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    141
    115
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
81
72
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at Sunlite Hotel for 6 nights and it was pretty decent for the price. If you want luxury than you have to pay big bucks in Tokyo. It was clean, comfortable, a little small but we had a corner room which was on an angle so I think we had one of the bigger rooms.

Hotel was under construction so we got woken up early the first morning by workman and noisy tools, not great after a long flight! Wifi only works in the lobby downstairs and the laundromat is only across the way but it's not free, it's coin operated but the receptionists at the front desk will change notes for coins.

Overall, the location is convenient and the hotel is pretty easy to find. We used the C7 exit from Shinjuku Sanchome Metro station but be warned there are stairs at the very end so not ideal for heavy luggage. Take the C6 exit instead, there is a lift and it takes you up to the street across the road from the C7 exit

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Well if you are looking for cheap in Shinjuku, this is affordable and clean. There is free wifi in the lobby, and free laundry in the next building over. But the staff are less than friendly compared to the many other Japanese hotels we stayed at where we have been greeted kindly and helped if needed. The rooms are very small, but you'll find that everywhere you go. The beds are incredibly hard as well as the pillows. It is a fifteen minute walk to Shinjuku station, and close to the entertainment district with shopping, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We booked a double with twin room, which we thought meant two beds however this was not the case. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Il0veSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed at Sunlite from 1-8 May. Found it to be at an excellent location, close to train lines and subway is even closer (Exit C7).
No wifi in room, but free LAN cable if needed. They provide adaptor if needed. (free)
Laundry is done free, (even soap is free), but only two machines, so you need to plan yr wash carefully. Wash cycle is 3 hours long !!, I could not spare the time to sit there and wait when there is so much to see and experience about Tokyo.
Yes, rooms are pretty tiny, but space is premium in Tokyo so you will pay more if you want a larger room. They provide enough bathroom amenities. Setback is if you have a large suitcase, there may be not much place to put it. Also, lack of places to hang your stuff. They provide an electric kettle, and green tea and two small cups, no other utensils.

TV channels are all Japanese and they even offer Japanese porn (pay for TV). I have asked the hotel to consider some English language channels for its customers. Hopefully, its done the next time I am there.

The staff are very helpful and do speak better English than you would find in most of Japan.
For new visitors, the subway station closest is Shinjuku Sanchome, which is merely 7 minutes away. Isetan is 10 mins away. All major stores are roughly 15-30 mins away by foot.

You cannot go wrong to pick this hotel for location. Rooms are tiny, but their decent service and close connectivity is a major plus.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because there was ample places to eat nearby the hotel. Plus, previous reviews didn't recommend it. In fact, some of the restaurants close by served excellent food.

One thing I didn't like was that they asked for payment upfront when I checked in. I usually like to pay upon check out. I am not sure if this is the usual Japanese hotel policy.

Room Tip: Write directly to the hotel to request specifically what you want. They are fine with it. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Location is great, just across the street from an entrance to Shinjuku station. Clean rooms and well-run. A great experience, and the best value too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Kabukicho
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#37 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#39 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#13 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel–CABIN–Shinjuku
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#19 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Address: 5-15-8 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,629 - ₹ 9,883
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlite Hotel Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing