We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel in business district”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great business hotel in business district”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. It's a bit off from the main train/subway station - yes there's shuttle running from Shinjuku station and back but it runs only til 10pm - so if you are out for dinner or late evening drink/shopping you are out of luck. Alternative is a good 10-15 minute walk - not terrible but just bear that in mind.
Room size's great from a Japanese hotel standard point of view - good 300 sq feet for their standard room. Nicely equipped with free water and Crabtree & Everlyn toiletries. Don't expect spectacular view from the hotel in the skyscrapper district but view from higher floors can be quite nice on a clear day.
Service's okay - as one reviewer mentioned, language's never a problem. Called belldesk and housekeeping for several occasions and things were delivered straight away. Before I came, I emailed the hotel to ask for help with some restaurant reservations, but never got a reply. They only told me it's done when I checked in - by that time I already got my booking sorted out by someone else (yes the concierge by a certain Platinum charge card is awesome)
Got free breakfast in the lobby coffee shop as part of the HHonors perks - very nice buffet style breakfast but it does get quite crowded at around 8 before everyone got off to work.
I would say this is a perfect hotel for business ppl (esp if your office's close by) or couples on sightseeing/shopping trip (for its room's bigger than average), if the price is right. After all Shinjuku's a good base point for travelling around Tokyo. Would think twice if I were travelling as a family - I wouldn't fancy dragging kids to walk such distance from station to hotel at night.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better. All rooms are not far from elevator - so wouldn't be a bad idea to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g4gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

To make your travel easier next time I would suggest you take the Tokyo Metro Subway which is directly accessible from B1 of the hotel. Alternatively we offer a shuttle service to JR Shinjuku Station - walking is a 10 minute safe and easy trip.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,274
    1,514
    391
    106
    71
See reviews for
1,115
1,199
412
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Shinjuku for 3 nights. Although the hotel is about a 15-minute walk from the Shinjuku Station, it provides a complimentary shuttle to and from the Shinjuku Station that runs every 20 minutes. The hotel shuttle stops at the side of the Keio Department Store (on the upper-most street level) on bus stop number 21, which is at the West exit of the Shinjuku Station.

Getting from the Narita Airport to the hotel is very convenient since the Airport Limousine Bus stops directly at the hotel (we only knew this after arriving at the hotel).

We stayed in the normal deluxe room, which is large for Japanese standard hotel rooms. The room was very clean. The hotel placed us on the 8th floor in room 824. Luckily, we didn't have to walk far since this room is very near the elevator. The only comment is that the medium-size TV was placed a bit far from the bed. We had to glare from the bed to watch the TV.

The staffs were very helpful. Additional praise would go to the bell lady (or concierge) who would help transport your luggages without worrying about how heavy they are.

The hotel has many restaurants including a buffet. There is a Denny's restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel.

Area-wise, there are vast shopping centres around the Shinjuku Station such as Keio Department Store and Odakyu Department Store. There is a huge food centre in the basement of the Keio Department Store.

Overall, the hotel was just Great! We would definitely stay here again during our next visit to Tokyo.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 824, which is conveniently located right near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Journey_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

My team and I thank you for choosing Hilton Tokyo and we are very happy that we left you with great memories of Tokyo and our Hotel.

Thank you for also recognising the excellent service of my team and I will share your feedback with them.

I trust you had a comfortable trip home to Thailand and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

PROs: Good room size; clean; comfortable

CONs: no real cons per se; location may be questionable to some; however, it has a direct connection to the underground train

This is your typical business hotel. That is, not a luxury hotel with all the bells and whistles, but an above average business hotel with an 'executive' lounge.

Lobby: the lobby is spacious with a large restaurant/bar; a chocolate bar, a pharmacy/gift shop in the back, and a bank of 6 elevators (I think, can't remember exactly now). The staff were nice. It can get crowded in the lobby.

Rooms: I stayed on the executive floor, which gives access to the executive lounge. This lounge is nice as it provides breakfast/dinner; drinks, etc. The breakfast was good. Limited selection, but you should be able to find what you need. Dinner is really a broad selection of small finger foods. Dinner time gets very crowded as people come for the "free" food and drinks. Wireless is "free" too. The room was above average in size. The bed was average. Someone mentioned the lack of a robe, but I think they hid them in the drawers...you have to open each one to see if they are there. Bathroom was good...had your 'technologically' advanced toilet too. Outside noise was not an issue.

Location: I did not have time to walk around; but this area appears to be close to business and government buildings. There is direct access to the train (via underground passages). Taxis appeared easily accessible. For those who do not want to spend a fortune on the hotel's breakfast, there is a Denny's directly next door (not sure of the cost though).

Verdict: Above average hotel that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRXsand2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear guest, thank-you for your positive feedback and I am glad you had a wonderful stay with us. In particular I am very happy you enjoyed our Executive Lounge and daily breakfast and evening canapes served on level 37.

Concerning 'bells and whistles' we have a large variety of room types including very luxurious western style rooms and suites to modern Japanese style rooms complete with laquer furniture, Japanese timber accents and traditional shoji screens. In terms of guest facilities and services we provide all hotel services 24 hours a day including our restaurant/bar, concierge, guest services, room service and fitness.

Bathrobes or Yukata (Japanese cotton robe) are in all guest rooms in the drawer unit.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here one night on business. I took the Narita express to Shinjuku station and decided to walk about one mile to the hotel since it was a nice day. I stayed in a club room Junior suite. The room was modern and spacious. The bathroom was small and they didn't offer a robe which was surprising but everything else was good. The fitness room was good and the main restauarant had a very nice lunch buffett. The club lounge access was good

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carync6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank-you sincerely for your feedback and I am very pleased we impressed you with our hotel.

Concerning bathrobes all guest rooms have either bathrobes or yukata (Japanese style cotton robe) in the drawer unit. Pijamas are also available on request along with other amenities from our housekeeper.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hilton Shinjuku it's a nice hotel. Location is perfect, 10 min walk from Shinjuku station (they also offer a free shuttle bus)
We stayed in one of the Executive queen suites, with access to the executive lounge. The room was beautiful with minimalist decoration and big enough.
The restaurants in the hotel are good, we had a very nice diner at the Musashino restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carnet_de_voyage933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

My team and I thank you for your lovely feedback and we are really pleased to know you had a great stay.

In particular I will share your feedback on our Executive Floors with my Executive Lounge team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,968 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,984 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,293 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,819 - ₹ 41,982
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing