We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
157
254
60
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
254
60
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus junior suite authentic japan shuttle service bubble bath yamanote line quiet neighborhood sitting room regular shuttle beautiful hotel health club nearest station buffet breakfast rooms are large great room bathroom amenities sofa bed
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019

My family of 4 stayed at RIHGA Tokyo in December 2018. The hotel is located near Waseda University and overlooks Okuma garden. Upon arrival, I was very impressed at the elegant interiors. That elegance extended all the way to our hotel room! Due to the busy time of year, our family had 2 separate but adjacent rooms with oversized twin beds. The floor plan was nice a roomy. Each room came with extra pajamas, robe and slippers for all guests. There is a well stocked mini-fridge, but it does have enough room for your personal grocery items as well. The bathroom was very lovely...marble countertops...ornate light fixtures...all in excellent condition...very clean. Our room was serviced everyday and always looked wonderful upon our return. Each morning we ate at the breakfast buffet. It offered a broad variety of Eastern and Western food. TRANSPORTATION--It took us a day or two to get used to Tokyo transit. You have to use a combination of Tokyo Metro and Japan Rail (JR). RIHGA has an excellent shuttle bus that takes you to Takadanobaba train station (JR). The ride is only 10 minutes long at most. This will allow you to use Yamanote line which is a circular route around Tokyo. Yamanote will connect you to all major atrractions in Tokyo (except Tokyo Disney). You can also use the Yamanote line to go to Shinjuku station which allows you to connect with the Narita Express (N'Ex). If you find that you need to access Tokyo Metro, the Waseda Metro Station is a 10 minute walk south of the hotel. Finally, a short block to the east of the hotel is another Waseda station that is the terminal for a trolly that goes to areas north of the hotel. (You probably won't need this very much for sightseeing). FOOD--As mentioned earlier there is a breakfast buffet. We didn't have other meals at the hotel. There are plenty of Japanese restaurants in the area, but we often opted to use the small grocery store called My Basket and the 7-11 (they are everywhere) for our food. Both are a half block to the west. LAUNDRY--The hotel does have a laundry service, but just across the street is a more affordable coin laundry. It isn't advertised in English and didn't show up on my map app when I searched for "laundromat" or "coin laundry". So you might need to have the staff point it out to you. They have 7 or 8 washing machines and 4 dryers. They do not have soap or softener for sale. You will need to bring your own--available at My Basket or 7-11. Have a great trip!!

Room tip: Request a Garden View room...Although they might be more expensive.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jismithll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad810266, Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear jismithll,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in detail with us and fellow TripAdivsor readers.
We are really pleased to hear you were impressed with the elegance of our hotel. We have over 300 chandeliers in the hotel which really help to create a warm, yet elegant ambience.
If you ever have the chance to come back and stay with us again, we recommend you use the Keisei Skyliner from Narita Airport. Although it is not covered on the JR Rail Pass (which the Narita Express is) it takes 36 minutes to Nippori Station. From Nippori Station you can take the ever useful Yamanote Line to Takadanobaba Station (25 minutes) and then our shuttle bus from there to the hotel (10 minutes).
We hope you had a safe journey home and hope to see you again in the future.
Warmest regards from the Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We had an Australian lady working there which was great helped us immensely by catching the right trains etc. Staff very good and breakfast first class. Recommend staying at rihga hotel short trip to tokyo on train

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank chuckdog20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad810266, Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Chuckdog20,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo and for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are so pleased to hear that our international staff were able to make your travel around Tokyo easier.
We really appreciate your recommendation and hope that you have a chance to return and try our breakfast again. Did you know our pot-au-feu (French beef stew) has been voted number 2 among all the hotels in Tokyo?
We would like to express our thanks again for choosing to stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Warmest regards from Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

This hotel more than met our expections. Room size for twin suite was perfect. The photo on line did not disappoint. The service could not be beat. Buffet breakfast did not disappoint as well as there is an assortment of Japanese as well as American style foods. A special thank you to Nathalie for her guidance and directions and to Kosuke Sakurai at front reception who was simply a delight.

Room tip: Twin Suite is spacious
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad810266, Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Dear Beth C,
We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for choosing to stay with us at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo.
We are pleased that your room lived up to your expectations. Our junior suites are bright and quite spacious, especially from the perspective of Japan, where space is a luxury.
We are quite proud of our selection at breakfast and are excited to hear that you found it to your liking. We hope you had a chance to try the omelettes from the live kitchen.
Both Natalie and Kosuke remember your group well and both feel overwhelmed that you made a special mention for them. Not only do we hope to help make your travels more relaxing and memorable, but we also hope to make memorable and positive experiences for ourselves through our interactions with our guests.
We sincerely hope you have a chance to come to Japan again and choose to stay with us or one of the other locations in the RIHGA Royal Hotel group.
Warmest regards from Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

I remembered the Righa hotel near Central Park in NYC years ago. The Tokyo branch was quite reasonably priced for its luxury, perhaps because it is a bit off the main drag. But a frequent shuttle to a convenient station makes up for it. Though frequented by Japanese, dont expect that kind of ambiance. The hotel is quite Traditional European in its look.
I planned to swim but never made it. Did make it to the Breakfast Buffet. It rated a good with us. A reasonable selection of Western and Japanese items. And if course nicely presented.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad810266, Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

Dear Syncomm 1,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who know our brand, and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us in Tokyo.
As you mentioned, we are on the outskirts of Shinjuku Ward and are located in a quieter area compared to the neon of downtown Shinjuku. We are glad you made use of the complementary shuttle bus to JR Takadanobaba Station.
It is a shame you we not able to make it to our members Health Club for a swim this time. Perhaps you will have time for a swim and sauna next time!
We hope to see you again in the future.
Warmest regards from Guest Service Manager at RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

I wrote clearly when booking and also later in the same day via e-mail that I need a king size bed and not two single bed.

We arrived by airplane and train at the meeting point for the Shuttle Bus in Tokyo but we did not see any clear indication.

We then called in reception and spoke with perfect English: after 5 minutes of attempts to make ourselves understood we could not make ourselves understood !

At check-in we were very surprised to have been assigned a room with two separate small beds.

We explained in simple words that we had requested and paid for another type of room but it was difficult to understand in English: how is it possible in a 5-star hotel in central Tokyo?

We were absurdly asked to come back after 3 hours and that on arrival we would find the room ready with the double bed.

We were therefore forced to wander in the vicinity of the hotel for the next few hours with tiredness accumulated for the long journey.

When we returned to the reception with extreme surprise, we found the same situation as before: the room with a double bed was not ready and we were again assigned with a smile to a room with separate beds.

Then we exasperated accepted the room and we asked to check out the next day to change the hotel.

Incredibly after half an hour someone knocks on our room: he was the night boy at the reception and he personally helped us to unite the beds and to form an finally acceptable double bed.

The night reception gave us a small bag of cookie for apologize.

The room was otherwise very pleasant and also the breakfast (but all always exactly the same every day).

This 5-star hotel, however, does not offer free entry to the pool and this was another big surprise: after paying a high price for a 5-star hotel why give this other unwelcome negativity to the customer?

No help getting your bags off at check-out.

The shuttle bus to the center was useful but the timetables could be extended until late at night and not until 10:30 pm.

For the rest a normal hotel with large rooms (and in Tokyo it is very difficult to find hotels with large rooms).

Would I stay there again?

Honestly not. Surely I would orient myself towards better choices at the same price.

I would recommend the hotel owner to train better staff because what happened at check-in is unacceptable in any hotel that is 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 stars like the Rhiga Hotel.

Furthermore, no minimum compensation or add-on was offered to make people forget the incident.

Patience.

We would come back, if everything they can improve this situation.

Room tip: High floor for sure
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Aristoweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews