We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, convenient and with a view of the city.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient and with a view of the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We booked our reservations with www.agoda.com so we got a bit of deal. The Hundred Stay Hotel was very convenient in terms of location, its a 15 min walk to Shinjuku Stn and a 3 min walk to Shin Okobu Stn. It's also in the more quiet more of Shinjuku so you're not bombarded with crazy traffic. The hotel rooms go up to the 19th floor level and I believe the rest of the upper floors are penthouse rooms. We had free breakfasts (with voucher), there's a nice gym if you wanna work out, there's a computer room and a lounge area.
Just a note: to ensure you're booking for two people make sure they know it's booking for two even if it's just one bed you're requesting for. They made us pay an extra 2000Yen because they assumed it was for one person, meanwhile we had emailed them saying the booking is for two people.
We got a nice view of the city and a bit of Mt Fiji on a clear day. The night view is better though. The room is spacious compare to other rooms in Japan. It's got a bath tub, spacious closets, nice decor and it's clean. There is wi-fi but ask right away for the password and make sure it works in your room. But all in all I would definitely stay there again because it's convenient to everything, it's peaceful and it was affordable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a city view, perhaps the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    143
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
88
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. Its an easy walk to Shinjuku, about 10 mins. 2 minute walk to subway station. Lots of restaurants around.. The best feature of this mid price hotel is that its a self contained room.It has a kitchenette, plenty of plates, cups ect.A microwave and electric cooktop. With a Tesco express right next door, self catering is a breeze.Cooked ourselves bacon and eggs each morning.This is a big room and bathroom by Japanese standards,.as with all Japanese accomodation, spotlessly clean. Highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Im sure all rooms are self contained, we just booked a standard, check with hotel when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hundred Stay, Shinjuku, Tokyo.

This is a serviced apartment and hotel, located close to Shin – Okubo station on the JR Yamanote line about 15 mins. walk from the huge Shinjuku Station. We stayed there for a week in Jan. 2012
The Hotel seems to be an older building that has been renovated to suit its present purpose. The layout of our 2BR apartment was a little quirky, but not in a bad way. The apartment consisted of lounge/ main bedroom separated by sliding doors, small kitchen, and second single bedroom off to the side, with a step down you have to watch. This room has no windows. In both rooms there was plenty of storage space for our clothes. There was a special cupboard which I finally worked out, was for putting your shoes and and changing into house footwear.

The hotel is relatively easy to find about 400m from the station. Check-in was smooth and fast, front desk staff had enough English for most things. They were also very helpful, particularly with the set-up of my new ipod which this old fool couldn't do by himself. Above and beyond, as it took some time.

Fixtures and fittings were not luxurious but good enough for the price. Stove, microwave, washing machine, proper fridge/freezer, excellent storage, two bathrooms – one very small, but appreciated. There were two TV's, and a Bose stereo/dvd, and a radio with ipod dock. Light cotton robes were provided. There were also knives, forks etc. Lots of kitchen cupboards. Free internet (cable provided) and wifi in the lobby (password needed). The rooms are serviced daily or less depending on your rate/stay. The view from the 14th floor is basically of central Tokyo, nice at night. Traffic noise is minimal, windows have been retrospectively double glazed.

There is a small gym, and a business centre with computer/ internet provided. Breakfast is available in a cafeteria space for Y600, no more than adequate (for a teenager ) but there must be 50 or more dining options within 100m, including a Tesco attached to the hotel.
This is not the centre of Shinjuku, but it's an easy walk, 12 min at a reasonably fast clip, and the station – Shin Okubo, is just an uncomplicated suburban station where you can't get lost. So you can work out the system without huge pressure. An advantage IMO. Getting to many tourist places is relatively simple therefore.
Check out very quick, one of the desk staff disappeared outside to get a taxi and we were on our way home. 
There was just one minor problem. Instructions for some of the equipment could be better: the electric jug was a bit difficult to use at first, for instance. But on the whole we really enjoyed our stay and would cheerfully come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guerilla Surgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed with my wife for my business trip to Tokyo. A few minutes walk from both Okubo and ShinOkubo JR line station, being located in the Asia ethnic town with lots of place to dine and drink, right next to Shinjuku and a few station away from Harajuku, Shibuya area, I would highly recommend here for leisure purpose stay especially for couples and families. From Haneda or Narita airport you can take the limousine bus to Shinjuku station and either hopbon the train for one station or get a taxi for small fee (710-800JPY). The rooms are spacious compared with the normal hotels in the same price range. the receptionist speaks good English, which is still a rare service in most mid range hotels in Japan. The rack rate on their site is not so easy for viewer to understand, even on Japanese language, but you should be able to find reasonable rate on booking sites, such as Agoda, hotel.com etc.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The men working here are very polite as indeed are most of the staff. It is not their fault that this is an overpriced hotel. By the way their English is very good. The online site gives the impression it is an apartment hotel, but be careful when you choose a room on the net since it may be just a hotel room rather than the apartment you think you are choosing. For $200 per night at time of writing we really got an overpriced hotel room. The carpets are tired and the whole place needs a good going-over if they are going to keep charging this amount. The view of Tokyo is pretty good but hardly worth paying $200 per night for. It is attached to a convention centre and when you wind up by accident in lifts with businessmen, they may tell you that the layout of the building confuses them too. Just finding the entrance the first time was difficult as you have to lug your luggage around the building to the door. Returning to your room can be confusing as the signage is not all that clear. If you do your washing (it is free) it is a real maze just finding the laundry; we got lost repeatedly just trying to find the laundry again. And we did have to go back and forward many times because it took forever to dry the clothes in their listless driers (Washing machines with a dry switch). Put your clothes in there for 5 hours. But who wants to spend their precious time in Tokyo going back and forwards to the difficult-to-find laundry? We finally just put our clothes in for 5 hours and went all the way to Ginza for an outing. After getting back about three hours later our clothes were still damp. The apartment you think you are getting would cost heaps more than $200 if you decided to upgrade. Coming from Okubo Station look out for the tallest building. That is Hundred Stay. Their instructions on their site are not that clear. It seemed like some of the hotels in Bali and Vietnam that are used to foreigners just accepting rather poor conditions. I should have known by looking at Tripadvisor reviews, because the Japanese reviewers gave this place a hammering whilst the foreigners thought it was great- most of them are probably not that accustomed to Japan and expect Japan to be expensive etc. But this was one of many hotels we used all over Kyushu and Honshu and it was in comparison poor value. It was the most I have ever spent on a hotel room and I expected to be great. But I was disappointed to see that it was not only the most expensive we used but the worst. No reflection on the staff- the cleaners and receptionists do a good job. But it really is overpriced.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the one that you are aiming for. If you want an apartment make sure when choosi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku

Property: Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Address: 2-27-7 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,866 - ₹ 16,582
Hotel Class:4 star — Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNDRED STAY is located in a quiet area away from the busy crowd. A walk on holidays in Shinjuku Gyoen, Yoyogi Park, and the well-known Korean Town is relaxing, while it is also situated in a downtown area where you can feel the energetic Tokyo power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
100 Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing