We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,318)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveller rating
855
1,192
222
39
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
1,192
222
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden gai the red light district great location lawson convenience store mister donut minute walk hotel is located would stay here again rooms are small train station the ground floor never felt unsafe buffet breakfast night life busy area stayed here for nights decent size
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Overall a very satisfactory stay. Location is the best part. Close to Shinjuku station and in walking distance to the park and the party zone - Golden gai is literally right behind the hotel. Easy to get to other parts of the city and their main attractions. Our room was clean and reasonable size (for Tokyo). Oh and silent! Which is important in this part of town! We didnt choose the morning buffet, opting to eat out while exploring. Can very much recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tobias Lund F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated near Golden Gai. There are many mini bars, robot restaurants, ramen noodles, restaurants and cafes nearby. You will not miss any nightlife actions staying here.

The room is clean and we love the bathroom! The bathroom size is big and clean. We stayed here with a toddler and we didnt feel too cramp which is a good thing.

There is a udon restaurant and lawson right below the hotel. We tried a restaurant specialised in blowfish ( eg puffer fish) right across the hotel and it was really nice!
The Shinjuku train station is just 5-10 mins walk. There is a cinema nearby and you can find a good gyoza restaurant there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here as it is very convenient to go anywhere or get anything staying here. The shopping centre (Lumine Est, Isetan) is just walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank YYee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is a good hotel but I can't agree with those who like the location. You have to walk a gauntlet of crowds and hawkers to get to the main entrance. Twice we were solicited on the hotel's street. (It did not happen to us any other time during 8 days in Tokyo.) Once was by a pimp and another time it was either for drugs or sex. So it's a seamy walk on that street. Fortunately there is a back path into the hotel entrance that is quite calm and charming. So that is quite preferable. We asked for a room on an upper floor and we had no problem with street noise and had a good view. The Lawson's on the ground floor was quite convenient. You have close access to a lot of shopping nearby. But again, it is not the most serene part of Tokyo. The staff were helpful and the room clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry17149021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

One of the best hotels I stayed in especially for its location. In the heart of shinjuku where all the restaurants are located. It's a small room but it's so clean so I give it five stars for that. It's small but cozy and when the window is opened you have a lovely view of the city. It's definitely worth your money and the employees were so accommodating. By far, the easiest check out as well. Also, you are so close to the stations hat you can get anywhere!!

Room Tip: The 13th floor has a prime view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This is our first time staying at Citadines Shinjuku because it has a kitchen, it’s Shinjuku location, and a great price for the 3 of us sharing same room. We booked very early, about 11 months before arrival and got a great rate. About CAD$290 a night all service charge and taxes included for 3 adults without breakfast.

The room was large enough for 3 adults with a king bed that was absolutely comfortable on the form side with an European duvet. Crisp linen and everything smelling fresh and clean. Our adult son slept on the sofa bed with 2 extra mattress toppers and duvet which he didn’t seem to find too uncomfortable.

The kitchen with a bar fridge, one stove top, kettle, toaster, and microwave came in so handy for making breakfast or nuking up bento boxes. There were 3 of everything from plates to wine glasses along with dish soap and rags given.

The air conditioning is fantastic as it can provide both AC or heat and was very quiet.there was also enough lighting g and outlets for charging our devices. There was a tub along with shower and the Toto toilet with its washlet like bidet and heated toilet seat are a plus.

Despite some people criticizing the location, we actually loved its location and here is why:
1. 2 minute walk to 7/11 convenience store that sells fantastic meals, hot croquettes, desserts, and coffees that is excellent for 100 yen or 150yen for a large. The ATM machine also worked well without any problems using our Canadian bank card. The food quality of their meals are good and great selection.

2. 3 minute walk to a Lawson’s 100 where almost everything is 100 yen before 8% tax. Here, the selection and quality of prepared meals are not as high as 7/11, but buying non meals are great. Small butter 100 yen, jam 100 yen, soba shout 100 yen, eggs and fresh bread 100 yen, chubby European wieners at 284 yen for 8 of them. It is so convenient buying small sized everything here for just 100 yen like salt/pepper, and small bottle of Japanese mayo and wasabi.
There is no need to go to a super market and pay more money for the same items and they only have large portions.

3. 5 minute walk to a very large and new western type super market that has very high quality of cooked meals, cheeses, bakery, meats, and produce, they open at 10am and closes late at 11 pm.

4. 2. minute walk across the hotel to a take out restaurant called ORIGINS that sell many Japanese and Chinese deli items by weight and fresh to make bento boxes at very reasonable prices.

5. many great little restaurants nearby like Yatsunoya chain, little soba joints, and cafes.

6. 10minute walk to the nearest metro station, Shinjuku Gyoemmae, and a 15 mi Ute walk to another station called Shinjuku Sanchome.

7. 20 minute walk to the main Shinjuku Station.

The staff here all speak English and everyone is so helpful and polite.

We used the washer which it automatically includes detergent for 300 yen a wash and the dryer does not dry clothes enough despite putting in 200 yen for one hour. Replacing the dryers with more efficient and more powerful ones would be perfect.

There is a tiny gym with new treadmills but we did t use it because after having walked 6 to 8 hours a day, my feet were already killing me.

There is a flat screen TV with many Chan else but only with limited English channels but there are movie channels in English.

The room is extremely functional with many shelves, closets, and it is designed so that there are many places to put all your amenities.

We love the Citadines Shinjuku and we will certainly return here to this property and we highly recommend it to all those who want a great value and a little kitchen.

Thank you so much for an awesome stay Citadines,

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews