We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Doesn't disappoint, with wonderful service, comfortable and beautiful rooms as expected with the Grand Hyatt.

Stayed in a Grand King room on the 6th floor -- bed is absolutely humongous, air conditioning is absolutely silent, and the room is 99% blacked out when the blinds are down. I could hear noise from the traffic from my room though (628), so light sleepers might want to request a room on a higher level. Also notable is that the 6th floor is also "shared" with the restaurants; guests' privacy is maintained as one must swipe a hotel key before accessing the room section.

Staff was very helpful and kind. Given the language limitation in much of the city, the hotel staff's patience with questions and ability to explain thoroughly is very valuable. Concierge was helpful in explaining the transportation system, both local subway as well as commuter transportation for our day-trip to Hakone. I would also like to highlight a wonderful experience at Maduro whereby another guest accidentally took my coat upon leaving the bar (it was on the seat next to me) -- Manager Chikugo-san was extremely helpful in retrieving it. He and his staff contacting the guest who had my coat (whom I presume is either a regular or had left a phone number with a reservation), and he himself subsequently returned it to my room. Talk about service!

Food is good. But if you arrive later in the evening when only the 24-hour menu is available, don't expect any Japanese - or even Asian! - food. Their all-day dining menu is surprisingly Western-focused. (No Asian noodles, even??) On the other hand, it is in Roppongi, so there are plenty of restaurants open late night on Gaien Higashi Dori, which is a 10min walk away.

As for the price -- as mentioned by nearly every other review, expect to pay pay pay. This is very much easier to swallow if you're here for work (and the hotel bill is on work!).

Room Tip: Traffic is audible from the 6th floor (rm 628), so light sleepers might want to request a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiyataibao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    451
    95
    28
    16
See reviews for
324
420
166
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed in a standard room on 18th floor. Room was spacious but not huge. My request for an iPod dock and special pillows had been taken care of in advance. Couldn't fault the room. If pushed I'd have to say the view wasn't up to much( overlooking the mori tower) but as this was a business trip not a problem.
Excellent if rather expensive buffet breakfast.
Excellent fitness centre and pool.
Good location. Many restaurants and bars within a short walk.
This is a real five star hotel but it does charge five star prices, so be prepared.
I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximuslonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchestry Cty, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place could be my all time fav Hyatt. After an all day journey from the States, get into the shower, and you will know why you choose this hotel. The service is top notch. The frenchtoast at breakfast is the best in the world. The spa is great as well. Rooms are large and have great views. Blackout shades work great, if you are trying to fight jet lag. Ok, you get the point. If in Tokyo,stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMRDAR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here for 3nts and can recommend the hotel as long as you want to be in Roppongi Hills which is a residential area mostly. My room was large and lux, with a great bathroom and very comfortable bed with Frette linens and a view of all the high priced shopping on the street below. The hotel is connected to the Roppongi Hills mall type center which has a lot of high end shops inside and a few outside and a few places to eat. The hotel itself also has beautiful restaurants and I tried the Italian restaurant for dinner and the French Kitchen restaurant for breakfast, both of which were very good but quite pricey. The hotel itself is high priced but there are special rates occasionally and it seems to cater to the business traveler. My room and the hotel were lovely but I would not want to stay in this part of town again as it's not as lively as Shinjuku except for the area where all the clubs are so if that nightlife appeals to you, this might be a good area to stay in. I used the spa quite often and it's a wonderful spa with an indoor pool and whirlpool which is beautifully lit, and the women's spa area also has a cold plunge pool, a hot whirlpool, steam and sauna and a very nice locker room/vanity/relaxation area. The fitness area is also very well equipped. The two treatments I had were both good but pricey, though they did give me a discount coupon for my 2nd treatment.
The service in all areas of this hotel is of the highest quality and my room was extremely comfortable with comp. wifi and all the touches that you would expect in a 5star hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel if it fits your budget and the location appeals to you.

Room Tip: I booked the lowest priced Grand King room with a special promotional rate and was very happy with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnestown, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Grand Hyatt simply excels in all regards--service, room comfort, location, amenities, and yes even value. Starting from the bell service luggage is handled quickly and efficiently. Check in is smooth and the desk is well staffed, and all speak excellent English. After a 15 hour flight and 90 min bus ride, the hotel is a welcome oasis. The standard room is large by Tokyo standards, especially the bathroom. The room is very comfortable, impeccably clean, and full of nice touches--robes, toiletries, shoe care, tea set, etc. The variety of food and other services within the complex or a short walk is amazing. Internet service in the room and the hotel itself is great, and the business center is well equipped. Whether in Tokyo for business or pleasure, you can't go wrong at the Grand Hyatt.

Room Tip: Just request, and they will do whatever they can to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larryope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,209 - ₹ 56,380
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing