We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Professional staff, amazing view, clean, safe 5 star hotel on its toes 24/7.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Tokyo Odaiba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Professional staff, amazing view, clean, safe 5 star hotel on its toes 24/7.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Wow where to begin.
Japan is amazing! This hotel was conveniently located to the metro,food,shopping and had everything one might need 24hours.
- The room we stayed in was #1004 and the beds were very comfortable, the linnens cozy bathroom clean and large. Toiletries given were way above average.
The balcony was good sized and again the view at night was beautiful.
- If you are a night owl the metro stops at midnight and does not begin untill 5 am, so make plans an advance.
- I would recommend the Nikko to anyone not on a budget. A very luxerious proper place to stay. Free wi-fi in lobby.
- Staff was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,465
    970
    196
    67
    32
See reviews for
990
769
178
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel has a good location on Tokyo Bay away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but you will have to take a train to Shimbashi station and then transfer to get to downtown, shrines, etc. The private railway to Shimbashi costs ¥620 roundtrip and is right next to the hotel. There are subways at Shimbashi and also trains to Tokyo station and beyond. However, there are three malls and other shopping within a 3-6 minute walk from the hotel, so you will not be short on options for food or other shopping while at the hotel.

The hotel has a beautiful lobby with very elegant features. Our room was well finished. It was not overly large, but not small either. We were upgraded to an ocean view room, which overlooked Tokyo Bay and the bay bridge. It was an industrial and commercial view, primarily, but very nice, with a small balcony you could step out on and look over the waterfront (jogging and bike trails) and the bay.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and was outstanding. We used the Ocean View dining room, which offered a western-style buffet (with many Japanese options). (There was another breakfast option in a Japanese restaurant that we did not try.) The breakfast rivaled some of the best in both Europe and Asia, although not, perhaps, the Langham Place in Hong Kong, the Hotel Bristol in Berlin, or the Renaissance Munich (which may be the world's best). We ate at the Taronga Restaurant at the hotel one night and it was excellent. There was an amazing pastry shop right next to the elevators that had desserts that tasted as great as they looked. All in all, we had truly great food at the hotel.

The bathroom in the room was well-appointed. My wife loved the bidet. Amenities in the room, including the charging station inside the safe, were quite good. Temperature controls worked quickly and well in the room. The room was very quiet.

We used the laundry service at the hotel, and while it was pricey, it was outstanding. We're trying to figure out how we can get such good results at home.

The staff is very polite and sincere, and they try really hard to please. The major problem is that none of them really speak any English (despite the fact that at least 20% of the hotel guests appeared to be European, North American, or Australian). The concierges, front desk girls, and girls who escort you to your room all speak maybe 100 words of English. They can handle a few standard questions, but almost anything complicated is completely beyond them. I had to figure out about 3/4 of direction questions and other questions myself. I don't speak a word of Japanese, which of course doesn't help, but then I'm not in the hospitality industry. So while this is a five-star hotel, I really can't recommend it to people who don't speak at least some Japanese. You will struggle, as we did. Since this is the only place we stayed in Tokyo, I don't know whether the other luxury hotels have the same issue, but the staff at the hotel we used in Kyoto spoke only moderately better English, so perhaps it's just a fact of life at Japanese hotels.

Happily, nearly all the signs in Tokyo are in Roman letters as well as Japanese, so the adept traveler can figure most things out. I did have to ask a few locals some questions, with mixed success. All the major trains, all the Tokyo subways, and most minor trains have announcements in English, and the LED panels on the trains and subways also list stops in English. So you should not have any trouble on the trains.

Tip: There is a grocery store on the first level of Diver City Mall, a quick 6-minute walk from the hotel, that has lots of carry-out food that you can bring back to your room. We used it a lot. Also, just through the train station (3 minutes from the hotel) is a 24-hour convenience store with plenty of food and drink options. The concierges can direct you to these stores and it will be easier on your wallet than eating at the hotel restaurants. The food courts in the malls did not look appealing to us; they seemed to be Japanese versions of American mall food courts.

Tip: To take a train to Narita, Kyoto, or any other place out of town, it's better to pick up the train at Shinagawa Station if you can rather than Tokyo Station. Shinagawa is a good-sized station, but much smaller and considerably less hectic than Tokyo Station. Also, if you are taking a taxi from the train station to the Hotel Nikko, it will cost you about 1/3 as much from Shinagawa as from Tokyo Station. Intrepid visitors might take the subway and private railroad from Tokyo Station with luggage, but we would not.

Tip: In our opinion, the day trip to Nikko from Tokyo was the highlight of our trip to Japan. The main temple at Nikko is the most beautiful sight we've ever seen in a considerable amount of world traveling.

All in all, a very pleasant stay at a beautiful hotel, with the significant caveat noted above about the struggles with English.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tripman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

So let's start on a positive note: fantastic lobby especially with great views at night. Decent sized rooms when you consider this is Japan and direct shuttle bus (payable) to the international airport. Also nice and stylish gardens as well as great views if you get the more expensive rooms (which we did). The views from these rooms won't dissappoint. The staff was generally nice and polite and also the concierge was helpful. Also no internet charge if you use it in their business centre.

And now the not so positive: this is supposed to be a 4.5* hotel. But you wouldn't know it from the breakfast which was somewhat basic and hardly any fruits (no bananas, no apples). I mean come on, when you pay so much to stay at this hotel, surely the breakfast should be up to the hotel's star standards. The breakfast was included in the price of the expensive bay view room but only included two breakfasts although we paid extra for this room so the kids can share it with us. The restaurants are VERY expensive and the one I had dined in (with an italian cuisine) had a service charge added automatically to the bill. A can of coke in this restaurant cost me nearly $10.

The room while clean had a stained carpet. The location is not that great if you want to go to downtown Tokyo. You need to take the train and change at least at one station.

Upon check out I had a lot of drama when I couldn't give back both keys. I mean come on, they were just your typical plastic cards (no actual metal key or anything) but no, I had to check everything until I found and returned both keys before I was allowed to check out. This was taking a bit of time as I couldn't locate one key but it made no difference, the receptionist was determined to get back both keys. This left a really bad impression on me and I was glad to finally check out of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here for a week for a conference. Trip from Narita by Limousine bus was very easy (direct) and affordable. The facilities of the hotel are in very good shape - attention to detail from the staff was noticeable.

We had meal coupons so ate in different restaurants - Toronga (2 fl) was best for breakfast. Sakura (3rd floor) had good Japanese lunch. There is a Starbucks in the mall next door (opens at 9am :-(), and plenty of food choices if you want a change.

Room was larger than the norm in Tokyo - really quite comfortable.

Subway (Yurikamone line) is 50 m walk from hotel lobby - and runs often. It does get a tad pricey if you are going to go back and forth to Tokyo a lot - at 310 JPY each way.

One minor gripe - no English language TV channels.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesanderson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great hotel, but out of Tokyo proper. There is a lack of restaurants in the area. It is very quiet, and if you've been at the station or shibuya, then it's a good place to recharge.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattnott118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,774 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo Odaiba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo Odaiba

Property: Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Nikko Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Business Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#7 Spa Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,908 - ₹ 42,799
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo Odaiba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront area of Tokyo Bay, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba enjoys spectacular 180-degree ocean views, with each guest room overlooking stunning views of Tokyo's skyline, Rainbow Bridge or Tokyo Tower from its private balcony. The hotel is also strategically situated only minutes away from a popular entertainment and shopping area as well as a key business and commercial district. With a wide selection of dining options and two levels of flexible meeting facilities, Hilton Tokyo Odaiba offers both business and leisure travelers a memorable stay like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Tokyo Odaiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing