We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful hotel in Tokyo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #11 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I just spent 8 days at the Okura at the height of cherry blossom time in Tokyo. We paid the normal rate and were lucky enough to get a penthouse room in the south wing. It had a long narrow balcony which was beautifully planted.

The first night we ate in the sushi restaurant in the hotel. It was amazing. Our Japanese friends later told us that it one of the very best in Tokyo, and among the most expensive. The latter news we had already learned.

The coffee shop had a truly wonderful breakfast buffet with local and western food.

Service was excellent, and the concierge desk was extremely helpful

Room Tip: Ask for the south wing. Penthouse if possible at the standard rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantafeSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    502
    126
    31
    27
See reviews for
318
258
167
479
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this property for during a 3 day business trip to Tokyo. The room was nicely furnished and impeccably clean. The staff was extremely attentive and provided excellent service.

The one complaint I had with the hotel is the extra charges for nearly everything. In general, I am always amazed that the nicest hotels gouge their best customers while inexpensive hotels give many of the same items away for free (for example wifi or breakfast). The Okura has made this irritating gouging a new art form. There were extra charges for a wifi router (the hotel has only wired access in the room), coffee (don't expect free coffee), pressing (the lack of an iron in the room leaves business travelers with little choice but to pay to have clothes pressed) and the topper was a charge of nearly ¥4,000 to use a fitness center that was small, cramped, crowded and which doesn't open until 6:00 am.

Despite the excellent service, I will probably try another hotel the next time I am in Tokyo.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lancburm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Fantastic 5 star hotel with a Japanese soul. The service is attentive, the staff speak good english, breakfast good, room size good. All pluses, only slight negative may be that the hotel has not been renovated recently, so a few appliances are not ultra modern.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajsanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Surrounded by greenery and located only minutes from a central tube station, the Okura is a big, comfortable hotel with a suprisingly intimate atmosphere. Impeccable, friendly service. Restaurants, shops and take-out dishes available in the building.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Was placed here by default. I was in Tokyo on business per the usual. Company placed me here because American Embassy is next door and said it would be the safest hotel to be at, they were right!.

Working in Fashion and Advertisement, I fell in love with the character of the hotel. Very retro in the lobby, but plush and residential in sleeping rooms. Toilet is a WOW factor. I wished I could have bought one home.

Staff is very committed to provided service and always at your beck and call, better than my assistant, but don't tell her that.

I am or was a firm believer of "you get what you paid for". I usually stay at the Ritz or Park Hyatt, but was told my company, they were not safe because they were sky lobby hotels, 80 stories above ground, uh hello, earthquake line, why do they build them so high? Anyway, the rate was so low, I was concerned, but service, grounds and facilities are far better than the concrete jungle of the Park Hyatt and Ritz.

Tokyo is a destination I frequent for business, so company made this a preferred hotel after our business gathering in Tokyo.

I am a foodie and this was is the place to entertain local clients let me tell you!

Room Tip: South Tower Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DviaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,238 - ₹ 27,993
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing