We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokyo Kiba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great cozy hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My friends and I, a group of 7, stayed at this hotel during a two week trip. It was very close to the subway station, right next door to a large grocery store, and across the street from a 24hr restaurant. Overall this hotel was amazing with its low prices and variety of rooms. As another reviewer pointed out the corner rooms are have more space. The only con about the hotel is that non of the staff spoke English. They were very polite and friendly but the language barrier was a bit daunting on the day of check-in

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms if possible, they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChaSiewBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    108
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
133
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our budget honeymoon travelling around Japan. At £34 per night in total for a semi-double room, we weren't expecting much at all but we were pleasantly surprised! We went staright from Narita airport on bus, got off at Kansai & got the Tozai (Blue) line to Kiba (exit 4b is right next to the hotel). We arrived early but they kept our bags for us 'til check in at 3pm so we were able to explore the area. There's a shopping mall & supermarket right next to the hotel, with a couple of really good cafes serving up food we're used to (toast, tea & scrambled eggs etc). It's about 160 yen each for a single to Otemachi train station, minutes walk to Tokyo's main station right next to it, again, on the subway's blue Tozai Line.

The guys at the front desk couldn't speak English but were very willing to help & were friendly & accomodating. We were given clean towels, robe & trousers to wear, slippers & a locker key for a large locker. The capsule was a semi-double & really clean & comfy, just what we needed after long flights from the UK. There's a mirror, a wee TV, alarm clock, dimmer light, plug socket & air conditioning. There's a grass/woven bamboo-type blind as a "door" to the capsule but despite this, you can't hear anyone else snoring or anything. The hall was very quiet & we would recommend havign the bottom capsule so you don't have to bother climbing up the ladders to get into bed. It's also handy when sorting out your things, you can leave stuff on the floor.

We had a semi-double capsule which I thought was a perfect size, but my man did hit his head a couple of times off the TV so he said he'd have preferred a double. We were glad to be able to have a capsule together as some capsules stated online that males & females are separate & we wondered if this applied to couples. This hotel was fine for couples though.

The bathrooms are obviously separate & catered for everything you could need. Shampoo, conditioner, bodywash, body lotion, hair dryers, combs & lockers were all provided for no extra cost. There's only about 3 showers in the women's bathroom & it is communal showering, but you soon get over any self-consciousness as this is common. There's Western style toilets (phew!) & they're luxury ones at that (heated toilet seats, bidet facilities). There's a jacuzzi, which was amazing & sometimes I was the only one there, which was great. Mid afternoons or really early mornings were quiet. The men's jacuzzi was bigger & had a massage chair & more showers but I think this is because it caters for a lot of businessmen rather than women.

The tea downstairs was a wee bit expensive & the computer was very slow & cut out several times, despite me putting in plenty of 100 yen coins. I don't like smoking "areas" as I don't smoke & would have preferred the sitting areas to be completely separate. There's vending machines providing snacks & also underwear if you need it!

I would definately recommend this hotel, it was a novelty to stay in & provided everything we needed. I was surprised it was only a 1* rating on the website we booked it from.

Room Tip: I'd recommend choosing a bottom capsule if one's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KittyVonShuShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We only stayed on night at the beginning of Sept 2011 in this hotel but it was really pleasant. Note that we didn't stay in the 'Capsule' Style of rooms but in a normal Double Room. It was particularly clean and quiet spacious and the double bed comfortable. The room included internet which came in handy.
The main thing about this hotel however was that the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They didn't speak too much English and we didn't know a word of Japanese unfortunately but they really tried their best to help us with directions, handing out maps etc. We really didn't expect this of such a budget hotel. Thanks a lot - arigato!
Kiba is not very central or a hip area but we had a very nice walk in the neighbourhood and enjoyed discovering a bit of 'normal' Tokyo as well. Nice small restaurants nearby as well as a park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaLe798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I really wanted to try the capsule hotel, and I absolutely loved it. It's very clean, quiet, they even furnish the pijama and shoes. A locker is available for the bags, and the capsule is a good size, I was able to have a carry-on in there. TV, lights and all cables to connect your laptop. This is free, but internet at the lobby you need to pay. It's close enough to metro station, but you will probably need to ask direction or Google map and print before you go. :) The bathroom are clean, one for guys and one for girls. Nice public bath with pink water for girls, clean. even some hairbrush, toothbrush and good creams if you don't have your own. The sleep in the capsule is amazing, best sleep ever!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koto
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyo Hotel Horidome Villa
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#25 of 121 in Taito
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
#40 of 74 in Chiyoda
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Kiba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Kiba Hotel

Property: Tokyo Kiba Hotel
Address: 1-4-3, Kiba, Koto 135-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Koto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,332 - ₹ 4,924
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tokyo Kiba Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tokyo Kiba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Kiba Hotel Koto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing