We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, comfortable and well located but make sure you arrive early for a meal.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and well located but make sure you arrive early for a meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our group of four adults (Two rooms) stayed here late February and found the hotel rooms to adequate to our needs. Comfortable beds and large clean bathrooms. The only fault I could find would be the air-conditioning which was a real fiddle to operate.
The hotels restaurant was like something out of Fawlty Towers with very little choice on offer, although we were there well before service ended. People who arrived for a meal five minutes before advertised closing, provided us with a scene from the Maitre'd banging cutlery and making a performance of annoyance. Most people think a Hotel restaurant would be used to people traveling and arriving hungry. We decided breakfast would be better outside the hotel based on what we'd wittnessed the night before.
The other disappointment was the lack of concierge help for a broken zipper on my husbands jeans. I would have thought that in a city a large as Tokyo repair of a zipper could have been effected overnight. When we stayed at the Park Hyatt in Sydney without a pair of cuff-links for a dinner the concierge supplied some without fuss and allowed us to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhiteSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear snowwhiteSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tokyo Ginza. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and provide you with more information.

Referring to our Restaurant offer, we have a full buffet breakfast from 07.00 to 10.00 Am, followed by a nice lunch buffet from 11.30.
Our restaurant having a limited capacity of 70 seats, breakfast time queuing may happen.
From 10.00 AM we have to set up the room for the lunch buffet and reshaping the restaurant might be noisy, but we still provide a continental breakfast offer in our bar for late guests until 11.30.
We have a delicious but limited offer for diner; the menu varies on a regular base as the kitchen team prepares fresh dishes depending on the season still offering meal to our guests who wish not to leave the hotel. For those guests prefer dining outside of the hotel, our team can inform you about the many types of restaurants and various price ranges around the hotel and in other parts of Tokyo.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Pieter De Weerd | General Manager Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    675
    165
    32
    9
See reviews for
287
401
119
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Mercure Hotel's location is so convenient to all the meetings we had to squeeze in during our 2 day stay. We averaged 6 meetings and the hotel is just 10-minute cab ride from this hotel. It is that convenient especially during snowy winter. The rates were very reasonable as well.

The rooms were a bit cramped, and there is no hotel lobby were guests could go for meetings. Thus, we were forced to go to other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Summary
For high-priced Tokyo, Mercure Ginza offers good comfortable value in a great location. A small but well-appointed modern room (no 1021) which was very well laid out to offer maximum amenity in a small space which was a relief after the dreary hotel access and 1st floor reception.

Plusses
Great location in Ginza with its high-end label shops all around; quick access to the excellent subway system.
Comfortable bed and good pillow selection
Good air-conditioning system
In room safe
Tea & coffee making facilities in room
Ice machine down the corridor
Stocked minibar
Spotlessly clean
TV with Japanese channels and 3 international channels including BBC
For foreigners – an innovative heated WC seat with electronic bidet etc!

Negatives
Dreary entrance and reception area are off-putting – causing my wife to think we were staying somewhere (word edited!)
This hotel is not serviced by the airport limousine bus service, but a 1160 yen taxi ride (on a traffic-free Sunday afternoon) to the T-Cat bus centre solves that problem – just ask reception to write the T Cat address on a card to show the taxi driver. Similarly upon arriving at the airport ask the Limo Bus desk to write the name of the hotel on a card as Mercure doesn’t translate automatically to Japanese!

Room Tip: Don’t be daunted by the subway system. On approaching the ticket machine – hit the “English” button...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CondorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at the Mercure Ginza several times over the past couple of years and highly recommend it for it's top-notch location, ultra-clean rooms and friendly staff. This is the place to go if you cannot stand the cigarette smokey smell of the cheaper Japanese business hotels as most of the hotel is non-smoking. It's amazing to be in the heart of Ginza without having to pay an arm and a leg, and also within walking distance of the early-morning Tsukiji market. Looking forward to another visit next month!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hktrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night in between landing in Tokyo and boarding the shinkansen the following day. Mercure Ginza is well located in walking distance from Tokyo station (10-15 mins south along Sotobori Dori and then in to Ginza a few blocks), plus it's in the heart of Ginza surrounded by shops, restaurants coffee shops etc.

Booking was made through expedia - room rate was good and no problems at all during check-in. Check-in staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English, which always helps after a long flight!

Stayed in Superior Twin room. It was a "big" little room ... there was enough room for us to move about without stepping on each others toes
- 2 large, comfortable single beds (could accommodate 6'3 partner)
- large bathroom (by Tokyo standards) + good toiletries
- tastefully decorated,
- useful, 2 person desk (plus 2 chairs) so both of us could connect laptops and work if needed.
- internet access worked perfectly, first time.
- plently of space to laydown 2 suitcases, plus closet, coathangers etc.
- tea & coffee facilities in room (no milk, but loads of convenience stores nearby).
- good range of TV channels including bilingual movie channel.

Good value for money. Would stay there again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kouryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTokyoGinza, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Hotel Monterey Ginza
#16 of 89 in Chuo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Ginza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tokyo Ginza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Property: Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Address: 2-9-4 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#7 Family Hotel in Chuo
#9 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,849 - ₹ 26,742
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Tokyo Ginza 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of Tokyo's shopping area, within walking distance from Ginza dori and Harumi dori shopping streets, Kabuki Theatre and Tsukiji fish markets. The subway station underneath the hotel provides access to all attractions and sights inTokyo. The Mercure Tokyo Ginza offers a distinctive French flair and state-of-the-art technology. Due to its location close to Tokyo International Forum, the hotel is very convenient for exhibitors and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Tokyo Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ginza Tokyo
Mercure Hotel Chuo
Mercure Tokyo Ginza Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing