We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main(Chiyoda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
449
504
161
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
504
161
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese gardenbeautiful gardenkoi carplarge hoteltop floorfloor restauranttriple roomrevolving restaurantmain buildingstayed here for four nightsmount fujiakasaka mitsukemetro stationshort walklots of restaurantsakasaka areabit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives:
- good location walking distance to JR and subway lines a couple of stops from Shinjuku and Shibuya
-beautiful gardens
-friendly staff
Negatives:
- Such a huge hotel but only two tiny gyms, and I mean really tiny with only a couple of treadmills and bikes and no weights room, totally inadequate for the size of the hotel.
-rooms are very small, some people at check in where trying to get a room with queen or king bed but didn't seem to be having any luck, most rooms are two single beds with small bathroom. Understand this is in line with local hotels so if after more spacious rooms best going with one of the International hotels.
- hotel is a little tired and showing its age.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNewOtaniTokyo, Manager at Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for using our hotel.
We appreciate for your comments.
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
We will share the information internally in order to improve our service.
We look forward to seeing you again.

 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a Tokyo marathon travel package. Pleasantly surprised. This hotel transports you back to the grandeur of the 1960's. The era of James Bond, "You only live twice". The wallpaper, carpets and decor are perfectly preserved. Rooms are dated but well maintained and spacious by modern standards. This hotel is huge. It kinda feels as big as a Las Vegas/Macau casino hotel. There are a mind blowing number of restaurants to choose from. Service was good and attentive. Buffet breakfast has good selection of food. Outside Japanese garden was quite large, very pleasant to walk around and picturesque. Enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The deco of the hotel is retro look. Staff is friendly and most of them speaks English. Very beautiful garden.

We booked two nights for a mini-suite for triple sharing. The room is about 37 sq M. very spacious! The additional bed is a proper wooden frame bed, we love it!

There is a step above ground to the bath room, please take care if you get up in the middle of the night. The hotel provides pyjamas and toiletries are of good quality.

We have breakfast at the lobby level cafe over looking the beautiful garden. We also went to level 40 for breakfast on the second day. The food on both locations is good, with wider selection at the lobby cafe.

The hotel is accessible by two metro stations. If you plan to take a train to explore Tokyo, it is recommended to stay at Garden Tower as it is about 10 minutes walk to Akasaka-Mitsuke metro station Exit D (look for Marunnouchi line M13). There is evaluator and escalator from from the metro station to Exit D.

If you suffer knee pain, we do not recommend you use Yotsuya station, which is across the road of the Garden Tower as it has many flights of stair cases to walk to the platform. From Shinjuku to the hotel, look for metro station Shinjuku-Sanctome M09 where there is elevator down to the platform.

Overall, the hotel is value for money.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank CHM_LifeIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

When staying in the New Otani Complex all the staff is available to you including concierge service solved many transportation issue with in Tokyo. I highly recommend this hotel; even close to (short walk) to a great selection of eating establishments.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Great location, really pleasant and clean rooms. Extraordinary staff. All of the staff are incredibly helpful and generous with their time and advice. I will always head to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower, when i next travel to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Garden view is the best, high floors are also more quite and easy to see the entire city
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nawaf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews