We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
103
5
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
5
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green tea soaking tub free laundry phenomenal experience lovely library night stay at hotel nespresso machine japanese style tatami mats washer dryer service team neon lights business building included in the room rate every staff member rooms are spacious restaurant reservations
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

I am of Japanese heritage but born and raised in Canada. This hotel provides some great insight into the Japanese culture with an eye to detail and excellent customer service. The Japanese breakfast each morning was definitely a highlight.

Tatami mats, origami, soaking tub, window screens, removal of shoes at the room entrance, great slippers (optional to wear real Japanese sandals available at the door), Japanese style robes and the awesome toilet (okay this is more of a modern contemporary part of the culture).

BTW you really don't have to bring any toiletries as the box of products provided in the bathroom is full of everything you will ever need. All nicely wrapped and tied in a traditional furoshiki.

One word to describe the staff is respect. It was consistent with every staff member we came in contact with. All made to make you feel at ease and welcome to their "home". I can't say enough about the entire team.

The restaurant 1899 Ochanomizu has a variety of green tea based foods and drinks. Great place to grab a quick meal and chat with friends and family.

Can't say enough about our experience...it is a must for all to experience when traveling to Tokyo.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zakextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20140801HRO, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Guest,
We could not be happier to receive such a great review from you.
It was an unforgettable experience for us to assist you and we all have enjoyed having conversation with you every day during your stay.
Again, thank you for choosing us to stay and we are so grateful that we had an opportunity to meet you and your family this time.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We have just completed a four night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel in a quiet but well connected part of Tokyo. It is a 9 room only hotel and from the moment we arrived we felt like it was all just for us. The staff could not be more helpful... by way of example, we arrived late on the first night and just wanted a quick local dinner. Despite the recommended restaurant being only a 5 min walk away, one of the staff personally escorted us to the restaurant and made sure we were settled before leaving. That's a first! Nothing was ever too much trouble. They offered to search for other hotels for our trip and seemed to love to be able to help. The guest relations manager Hitomi was especially helpful. Thanks Hitomi!

The rooms are incredibly well appointed. After a busy day in hectic Tokyo they are a dream to return to. We hardly heard a peep once in the room, very quiet. Everything you could wish for is provided.

Despite being in a primarily business district, there are several metro and the JR line within 5 to 8 mins walk away. We never felt like we were far from anything. Lots of little restaurants and a few bars within short walking distance as well if you feel like not venturing further.

Highly highly recommend!

Room tip: Don't think there is a bad room at this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20140801HRO, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment for us.
It is such an honor to be able to receive the words of praises from you.
It's exactly as you said we all enjoyed so much assisting you during your stay with us.
Again, we are so grateful to you that you find us to stay and give us an opportunity to meet you.
We look forward to the day that we welcome you again !

Sincerely yours,
Hitomi Takei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The service and attentiveness is impeccable. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Amenities are some of the best I’ve ever experienced. The staff made reservations for us, folded our free laundry, and helped us find items at the pharmacy when needed. I’d come back to Japan just to stay at this hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank HamiltonL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20140801HRO, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We are so grateful to you for your great review for us.
Please remember us and come back to Tokyo to stay with us again.
We all look forward to having you back to us in the near future.
Once again, thank you for finding us to stay this time.
Sincerely yours,
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

The expression "Practically perfect is everyway" from Mary Poppins springs to mind when writing this review. This was my wife's first visit and first hotel in Japan and set the bar very high. It is a nine bedroom traditional Ryokan style hotel, with strong western flavours. The room was very quiet, spacious and well set out. The staff is exemplary, with nothing too difficult for them to sort out for you. One example springs to mind when we asked for recommendations as to dinner and a kind staff member walked us to the restaurant to ensure all was well. The origami touches at night are a pleasant reminder. Highly commended to the discerning traveller.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank meikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20140801HRO, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Guest,

It is such an honor to be able to have you say such a thing to us.
You have mentioned about our service in detail and it means us a lot.
Once again, we are so grateful to you for finding us and choosing to stay with us this time.
We hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the very near future.
Sincerely yours,
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Staff, facilities, location, service. This is truly a wonderful and very private hotel. And for tourists ... before you travel off to other areas of the city, take an afternoon to wander around this very upscale neighborhood to see the many things it has to offer.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwhitmandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20140801HRO, マネージャー at Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your warm comment.
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
As you mentioned in your comment, our neighborhood has a lot of things to see.
There are a book shop street, a shrine, long established restaurants and more.
Your suggestion surely be some help to our guests.
Once again , Thank you very much for choosing us to stay.
We all are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews