We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality throughout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed 3 nights last week. Overall, the premium quality of the hotel is evident from the momemnt you are greeted at the door to the details in the finishing of the rooms. Room and toilet were luxuriously fitted out and full range of toiletries provided (comb, toothbrush, moutthwash, sewing kit, Occitane soaps/shampoos). Found the beds too soft for my liking. Hotel kept luggage for 4 days whilst we went to Nagano for skiing without any hassle. Location (next to Tokyo station) was very convenient if you intend to use the JR trains to go to other prefectures. Tokyo station itself has tons of shops and eating places.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    235
    59
    25
    11
See reviews for
363
409
100
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This past November I was lucky enough to be able to stay for a week in the Shangri-La Hotel. I've never had service like this at a hotel before. They were more than happy to accept my luggage via delivery service (takkyubin) and hold it for a week for me. Makino-san, with whom I had been corresponding via email regarding the matter, actually recognized me when I was checking in and greeted me by name and told me if there was anything at all I needed to just let them know. They purchased my return train ticket to Narita airport for me, and would have guided me to the proper platform as well, if I had needed the assistance. And every single morning when I walked by and every single evening when I returned from work they greeted me with enthusiasm and asked me how I was and if there was anything they could do to help me. I went out shopping every evening and each time they hurried to help me with my bags and to call the elevator for me and would help me all the way to my room if I needed it.

The room was stunning as well. Tastefully decorated and not to mention enormous. There was plenty of room for everything, a very comfortable desk for me to work at and I must say I loved the heated toilet seat with bidet attached as well. Every little luxury I could think of had been provided for - comfy slippers, a turn down service every nice, fresh bottles of water each day - and if I needed help with anything and called the front desk, they always greeted me by name and helped me immediately. I slept soundly every night and they had obviously also thought about sound-proofing the room somewhat, because I never had problems with noisy neighbors or getting woken up by slamming doors, which I often have with other hotels.

I can't think of a single bad thing to say about either the staff or the hotel. And it's location can't be beat either. It's under a 10 minute walk from Tokyo station - even for someone with short legs like me.

It's not cheap, but then again, what's cheap in Tokyo? But you won't regret staying here - I'm sure of it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zubora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is the best Shang I have ever stayed in. The rooms are gorgeous the bed divine (better than any Westin bed) the staff were unassuming and perfectly aware of our needs.
Nothing in Tokyo is cheap but this hotel is worth that little bit extra.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was my first time in Japan on business and the team at Shangri-La made it an outstanding experience. Service was simply flawless, from the concierge team that met me at Tokyo station and escorted me to the hotel to the reception team that helped organized my daily business excursions into Tokyo. Every member of staff went out of their way to help me acclimatize to a very new environment, it was a refreshing experience to be greeted by name by almost all members of staff after less that 24 hours! The central location in Maranouchi and next to the Tokyo station made travel easy, the great concierge team who translated all my travel requirements to the taxi drivers made it all the more so!

I cannot recommend the Shangri-La Tokyo enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

They don't have the New York Bar at Park Hyatt, but that's about it... Shangri-La at it's best...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lars2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Address: 1-8-3 Marunouchi | Marunouchi Trust Tower Main, Chiyoda 100-8283, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,834 - ₹ 74,532
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The splendid Shangri-La Hotel conveniently located adjacent to Tokyo Station. Guests will appreciate Shangri-La's unique brand of hospitality and service, as well as the very finest facilities and amenities while staying within the comfort and warmth of this luxurious Tokyo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Shangri La Tokyo
Shangri La Chiyoda
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo Japan - Chiyoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing