We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable vacatin”
Review of BesteBakken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BesteBakken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, It is a family operated place, you have the feeling that you came to visit the family. The hostess, Lindis, manages it all. She puts attention to so many details, including educating the guests on the traditional breakfast and dinner experience, plus guiding you on local activities. You can have a massage, take a trip on a helicopter, etc.
It was a wonderful and unique experience!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cbenzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

We spent 4 nights at Beste Bakken sttarting on Aug 14, 2017 and loved it. The innkeeper, Lindis, is a treasure who works hard to insure that her guests are happy. She is also a great cook and hostess. The included breakfasts are Norwegian specialties which are wonderful. We appreciated the fact that we learned so much about customs, foods, and the Norwegian way of life.
We opted for dinner each night and they too were wonderful. It is especially nice to sit around the beautifully appointed table with travelers from all over and have great unrushed conversations. The rooms are spacious, clean, and individully decorated. All in all, this is an exceptionaal inn with a truly exceptional hostess. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrockNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We are typically big, high-service, five-star hotel chain people (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc.) because we are a family of six and need several connecting rooms, big dining tables, restaurant options, flexible services, etc. This trip we used a travel agent who put us at the BesteBakken and I had some concerns when I saw the website. But this hotel turned out to be the highlight of our hotels in Norway. The place is a family business and they have incredible pride in hosting their guests. The property itself is gorgeous, with a main house and a renovated barn, gardens, patios, views to the water, and some friendly alpacas. There are a few room configuration options (we had one room with three singles and two doubles, and two bathrooms). The rooms were spotless, well-decorated, and well maintained with great views of the lake. Dinner was a three course sit down dinner, almost like you were at someone's home in Norway - with silver, crystal, flower centerpieces, and candles. Much of the food was locally sourced and homemade, and the wife/mother shared details about each course before it was served. Breakfast was equally as nice. All in all, a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Water view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum_efh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Ever find one of those special places that you do not want to share with the world because it is so fabulous? Well, that is what BESTBEKKEN is. An old fashioned bed and breakfast, in the sense that there is a special "Christmas" breakfast each day, made of homemade jams, spreads, breads and Norwegian delicacies like reindeer and alpaca sausage. The evening meal, is equal to the best 5 star restaurants in NYC. The food is home cooked and delicious and there are long tables where you meet guests from all over the world. The best, most interesting cultural exchange anyone could ask for.

The rooms are quite large, modernized and comfy, and yes there is wi-fi. The views are spectacular and the Alpaca are adorable. The location is perfect for trips to the Romantic Highway (unbelievable views) and the Glacier (I suggest the family walk) along with the Stave Church and other fjord experiences.

Perhaps the best part, however, is Lindis, the owner, chef and guide. Her grace, knowledge and hospitality are very special and she will help you explore the fjords, matching your desires, and providing experiences that are off the beaten track.

Bestbekken, in the heart of fjord country, is really a great place to stay for 2-3 days, as you explore the best of fjords!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank SusanL1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

It had alpacas, great view and a lovely host. There isn't much else needed. We only stayed for one night and it was great. We had a great dinner and breakfast which were home cooked. The room (butterfly room in our case) was great, cozy and it had an amazing view of the lake. It is a little hard to find and it needs a car to get up the hill but it is worth it. I can't recommend it enough for some lovely and relaxing vacation. In the dinner table you get to meet other people which is very nice and promises great conversations like we had. Also you get to feed the alpacas so there is that. If you get the chance stay here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Φωκίων-Ταξιαρχη... Σ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luster Municipality hotels
3.2 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
11.7 km away
Nes Gard
Nes Gard
#1 of 1 in Hoyheimsvik
141 reviews
10.8 km away
Gaupnetunet Hotell
Gaupnetunet Hotell
#1 of 1 in Gaupne
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Skjolden Hotel
Skjolden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skjolden
94 reviews
35.1 km away
Jostedal Hotel
Jostedal Hotel
#2 of 5 in Luster Municipality
73 reviews
0.3 km away
Eikum Hotel
Eikum Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hafslo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BesteBakken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BesteBakken

Address: Mobakken 11, 6869, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Luster Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Luster Municipality
Price Range: ₹ 14,931 - ₹ 15,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Epicurean Experience BesteBakken is a boutique hotel. BesteBakken is an exclusive, charming place where new experiences, culture, and memorable food are focal points. Here you will find a traditional and cozy atmosphere as well as modern and comfortable rooms. We strive to stimulate the senses by offering a totality of gratifying experiences - creativity and development, serenity and peace, food and drink, wellness, overnighting, and activities. You'll find us at Hafslo, in the county of Luster, furthest inland in the world-renowned Sognefjord. Welcome to an epicurean experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your BesteBakken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing