We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The way it should be!”
other travellers have booked this property
Frequent Visitors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frequent Visitors
View form the Ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Frequent Visitors
View form the Ocean
View From Above
View From Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Playa San Miguel, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TonyGarga...
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The way it should be!”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Playa San Miguel is a piece of paradise that is secluded but well worth the trek. We travelled with 6 adults and 7 children under 7 throughout Costa Rica and this was by consensus the best place we stayed. Travelling by private bus from Samara is a beautiful drive along the coastal mountains including a river crossing that everyone loved! (make sure if you have a rental vehicle and decide to cross the river you know where you are going and the tides). Patty the manager of the property will ensure you arrive safe and introduce you to Cheo the caretaker (farmer) and orientate you with the property. The property is a modern large 4 bedroom house directly on the beach. Upstairs are 2 large bedrooms both with bathrooms and the master bedroom has a soaker tub. Downstairs two more spacious bedrooms with a shared bathroom. There is a very modern kitchen and sitting area and out side overlooking the beach is the covered dinning area where we spent most of our time.There is an outdoor shower to wash away the tons of beach sand that you bring back with you. Two hammocks topped off the theme " off the beaten path in style" The beach itself was the best we saw on our trip with KM and KM of amazing sand and no people. There is one bar made out of an old shipping container on the beach which may sound bad but was actually very nice and the food was great. If you want fresh food Patty will arrange fresh fish off the boat wihich we did and it was fantastic! Cheo will also give you fresh eggs or chicken if you request it. There is not much to do here but to relax and enjoy the incredible beauty but a few attractions we did take advantage of were the Mike's butterfly farm and he is a charismatic, ,knowledgeable warm host, surfing with fellow Canadians Wild by Nature Adventures, This for us is the way Costa Rica should be visited and enjoyed, A word of warning if you travel here, it is not easy to get to but worth it and if you are relying on transportation other than your own do not pick the taxi out of here! You will not be disappointed if you pick this location and we hope to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, beach, house
Liked least: taxi out
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2013

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheo!
Liked least: The road there going over the mountains without a four wheel drive!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2001Miata
Rothesay, NB
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Again ... Every thing that I had come to expect”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second trip to San Dollar Cove and as with the previous stay I found every thing that I could want in a vacation. Excellent beach, great location, extremely helpful property manager and a happy caretaker.
Remember that the drive "Over The Mountain" is awesome although the road is not for the faint of heart at night. Walk the beach and collect sand dollars or just relax, either way this is the place to get away from everything.
Excellent internet connection so you can keep up with the world if needed although not recommended as the world will still be there when you get home.
This time I had fresh fish, caught that morning that I purchased in Bejuco and prepared by Doris. I like fish and this was the best I have had.

I can not recommend SDC enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon20121
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway from it all”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Long overdue review, but i stayed with my Partner at "Sand Dollar Cove" for a week in June of 2012 and loved it.

If you are looking for you own private beach, then you found it. Great beach, away from anything "touristy".

The owners were very accommodating and helpful.

There is a store about a 20 min dive away which has a descent selection of items, though stocking up on supplies and gas is better done on the way.

The Flying Scorpion has good food and great company, which you can walk to in 10 mins.

You feel very "away from it all" in the area. We loved having our "private beach" for the week.

Loved the San Miguel area and will definitely be back.

Be warned: The roads are god awful. Don't drive at night and rent a 4x4. But it's part of what keeps the area from being over run and over developed so it's a blessing in disguise. Also, CR doesn't believe in road signs. don't get overwhelmed by the directions to the house, just follow them to a T and you'll get there.

Also, the GPS is mostly useless we found. A good MAP would be a better option, and be sure to ask locals for conditions, especially in the rainy season. (But if they tell you to drive on the beach, please don't as it damages turtle nests)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing