We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had good service from the staff. Joseph in particular made sure we got the room we wanted and also made something special for our anniversary. At a good distance from beach and breakfast was ok. Rest of the comments seem accurate - cleanliness needs to improve, restaurant food needs to improve as well as the service can improve. Overall for the price, seems a decent one.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms better than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    154
    64
    22
    53
See reviews for
138
149
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is really a “BUDGET” hotel. You can ask anybody who has stayed in the “Pearls Oceanique Resort”. Definitely this is not a 4 Start hotel at all. I don’t know how come they got the 4 Start cadre. You can choose this as a budget hotel at the same time don’t go there with high impression and imagination that you can compare with 4 star facilities.

• Swimming pool is there again it’s quite good for babies and small boys. As it’s given the website pictures it’s not that big at all but in the website it’s given as if it’s equal to Ocean.
• No rooms are having any beach view. All rooms are having only the Swimming pool view but few rooms looks like they have a view but from there you can’t able to have a clear view.
• Food is “OK” but at the same time you can’t expect more items in it.
• Away from the busy Colva town. You have to walk at least 15 minutes to reach busy Colva town. Beach is accessible by 5 to 10 minutes walk. But It’s not advisable to walk after 7 in the evening.
• The hotel is located in a isolated place. Because of which you can’t able to walk to the beach any time in the evening. Instead of this you can choose a hotel that is just above the beach. It’s worth spending more if you are getting a good hotel just above the beach.

Other than this there is no interaction with hotel staffs at all. They don’t have the intention to interact with you at all. They don’t even tell you to come inside while you are entering inside the hotel.
Please be cautious about the check in and checkout timings. They don’t even give you even a single minute extra to stay inside the hotel once the checkout time is over. So incase your flight is scheduled to be in the evening in this case you should vacate by 11’0 clock in the morning. There is no other go other than vacating. They don’t have the courtesy to give you the option to vacate by giving you another 2 hours to stay.

Comparing all this you have many better options to stay in colva other than “Pearls Oceanique Resorts”. Worst in hospitality. Rooms are looking decent but at the same it’s not like given in the pictures or in the website. Rooms are comfortable but not too big or not small also. Please don’t go with the Website pictures. You will be having that you are cheated.

My Humble request to Make My Trip, Travelocity and Travel Guru is not to promote this hotel as a 4 start hotel. This is simply a budget hotel that has the cost of 4 star hotel. Better choose other option to Stay.

Room Tip: There is nothing available in the Mini bar. Please don't go with the Photos as they have enlar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kumaraguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We planned Goa holiday with quite a high amount of expectation, after checking internet information we booked Pearl Oceanique. Modern and well maintained hotel. Very good rooms overlooking pool. They allow to swim only till evening. Food was ok. Most disappointing is the reception staff, never bother about customer , do not have minimum cutesy or manner. We saw they talk very very loudly among themselves and ignore people. Never shown any intention answer any of our request. We found them bussy over cell phn chat [laughing laud talking, guy in full shirt], the lady receptionist in the night was quite a bit mannered than all other receptionist. Accept this all was happy experience. Chahat Chobisa

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chahat-chobisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The good things about Pearls first: 1. their website rocks - it makes the hotel look swank and cool, while it's actually just a budget place; 2. they have a huge-sized pool - great for kids; and 3. they are just a nice walk away from the Colva beach and all its action; 4. we got a great deal, which, given how the hotel looked on the website, surprised us.

Once we got there, we knew why we got the great deal - the hotel is far from what the website led us to believe. It's tacky and not the cleanest, and service is SUPER slow. On the second day we requested a change of rooms because we were given two single beds though we had a small child. It took nearly 3 hours for the other room to be ready - while we sat, packed and stuck inside, waiting to be asked to shift. Another time, we left the room keys at 10.30 am, and at 4.30, when we got back, the room was just being cleaned.

Hygiene is poor - my husband and child both got mild eye infections and urinary infection from the pool, and skin irritation from unclean towels. Overall, there is no thought to making things better for customers - it's a budget place, full of budget Western and Indian holidayers. But the hotel is just not equipped to take care of the number of people and their needs.

The breakfast was really pathetic - white chowli beans in a sad reddish sauce masquerades as baked beans. There is just one egg maker, and he has a very limited repertoire. The toaster didn't work most of the days that we were there. tea and coffee were invariably cold. The way things are arranged at breakfast, there's a huge queue of people waiting for their eggs. We had the dinner buffet one night, which was nice, but the a la carte lunch was hugely over-priced. Honestly, the shacks outside have better, cheaper, fresher food.

We wanted a late check out on the last day and they couldn't accommodate us - which we could understand. They were over-booked, but the staff was extremely rude and inconsiderate about it, and literally badgered us to leave. Again, our bags were packed but their bellboys hadn't come to take the stuff out, but the front desk kept calling and asking us to leave.

Just a final word of warning: don't go by the website, only go if you aren't planning to hang out at the resort. Please be very careful if travelling with kids.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, except for one restaurant-facing one, which is avoidable. Please make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_vach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colva hotels

Hyderabad
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

A decent place to start with. Nearest one to the colva beach. Location is not that great but once you are inside feels nice.
Food is not as per expectation.
Staff is ok not great service to mention.
Rooms are excellently maintained and very nice to stay. Do have a coffee by the pool @ night :)

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are good near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheela_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colva
1.9 km away
Baywatch Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Silver Sands Beach Resort
4.3 km away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.8 km away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva

Property: The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva
Address: Beach Road | 4th Ward, Colva Salcette, Colva 403708, India (Formerly Pearls Oceanique Resort)
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Colva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Colva
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,139 - ₹ 7,193
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst of lush green paddy fields, a whiff of sea air, a crafted beach resort, where you are assured to experience hospitality at its best. The Resort is ideal for everybody to have a great time of their life, with south Goa’s most popular white sand beach, the Colva is at a walk able distance of 500mts, offering exciting water sports and oodles of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearls Oceanique Hotel Colva
The Golden Crown Hotel & Spa Colva Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing