We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
19
79
61
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
79
61
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goa tourism colva beach sea facing river cruise excellent location value for money rooms are big basic facilities rooms are average room rent beach side three nights live music 49ers infront geyser bang
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Placed in a nice location nearest to Colva Beach this Goa Tourism venture is nice to stay. I stayed here for two days. Picture post card sunset view from the hotel room is the best thing I will cherish for years. The rooms and garden are maintained. Staffs are nice behaved. The restaurant inside the hotel was run by service provider and they served nice food. Room Tariff and food price is reasonable. We got car hired by the hotel and provided with Tourism's women taxi run by Ms. Reshma, a nice lady having good communication and driving skill. On day tour we touched Palolem and Agonda Beaches and on the other day we visited Aguada fort, Calangute, Bagator, Majorda, Panjim (River cruise on Mandovi). Overall, experience of Staying at Colva Residency is nice.

Room tip: Front side rooms of main building are nice.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepa-sawkar, Front Office Manager at Colva Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Colva Residency!


It has been our pleasure to welcome you at our residency and we thank you for sharing feedback your recent visit.
Thank you so much for your generous praise and we hope to deliver more such experience for you on your future visit to our Residency.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

I was in Goa for four days and was staying at Jasminn by Mango at Betlabatim,a fantastic property.

Everyday I would walk the beach from Betlabatim to Benaulim and back.Sometimes I halted at Silver-Sands,Colva, which lay in between, for a beer and lunch break.One day out of sheer curiosity I decided to step into COLVA RESIDENCY,where we used to regularly stay ten years ago.We have many happy memories of our stay here in the bygone era.

The reception was shabby and dusty. I asked them to show me the beach facing first floor room where we used to stay.After fumbling around for a great deal of time the elderly gentleman said that he cannot find the keys to room on the first floor and instead can show me a ground floor room. I agreed as I did not have a choice.He hollered for a lackey who took his own good time to liesurely saunter in.We proceeded in tow to see a ground floor room in the farthest wing. I tried asking him a few questions but gathered shortly that he didn't want to answer any.The room was pathetic and damp.The bathroom decor was stale and horrific.The air-conditioner was window mounted and groaned feebly when switched on.The whole ambience was unwelcoming at the very first sight. I recoiled in horror and stepped back.

ONE CAN STAY HERE ONLY FOR THREE REASONS:-
1) One is a government employee and is getting a free/concessional stay.
2) One is caught in peak season and no accommodation is available. &
3) Issues of budget as GTDC is renowned for providing the cheapest accommodation in Goa in every sense of the term.

Bitterly disgusted and disappointed I decided to catch a meal in the restaurant.The restaurant was as run down and shabby as can be.The decor was old world and decrepit.The table clothes were maroonish and cutlery dusty.There was no one else in the restaurant and a cheap hindi song was blaring out from the speakers.A sharpish fellow appeared and rattled out the food available in a typical Amar,Akbar, Anthony style.He cheekily said forget the menu,we only serve a few things.Impressed we ordered for beers and cold drinks with rawa fry,roasted kaju and chowmein.The lady manning the bar counter wore a permanent scowl on her face and we don't know whether she was plain bored or unhappy at being made to work because of us.The beer was nicely chilled and so were the cold drinks.We asked the smart fellow not to pour the drinks in the glasses which looked as if they have been in line of duty for a decade if not more.The veg chowmein was tasty.The kaju's were burnt but we decided not to protest.Now arrived the rawa fry.It smelt so abominable that we couldn't even touch it.The smart fellow agreed and took the rava fry back to the kitchen.After a wait of good half an hour the next version of rawa fry arrived and again it was same as before.Not in a mood to get into any argument we requested the smart fellow to take the dish back.The smart fellow agreed that the fish was indeed stale and ran to call the chef.The belligerent chef insisted that the fish was palatable.Half amused and half not wanting to get into any argument we merrily said we will pay for the dish anyway if only they take back the untouched rawa fry and spare us the smell.Somehow we finished the meal and decided to exit asap.We were surprised when the lady with a permanent scowl,who had been minutely surveying us, decided not to charge us for the untouched rawa fry.The smart fellow surved us some saunf which was kept out in the open and hence had turned damp. I jokingly told him that maybe the fennel seeds can be kept in a airtight container and he said saheb yahan aissa hi hai,kya karein ? We gave him a generous tip as he was the best part of this resort.FOR THE RECORD THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED ON THE AFTERNOON OF 19/AUGUST/2018.And as we were leaving we head the lady with the permanent scowl and the belligerent chef arguing in a loud voice with the smart young man.They were visibly unhappy that the smart fellow was sympathetic with the just cause of customer's.

I write this with a very heavy heart.
Colva Residency stands on a very prime and one of best sites in the whole of Goa.The site is worthy of a plush seven star property.And yet the government has managed to completely destroy this prime property.GTDC must have been the brainchild of a very bright bureaucrat or a bright minister who loved Goa and wanted the ordinary people to have a slice of paradise.GTDC has been in the forefront of promoting tourism in the state through its hotels and tours.Both have completely gone to the dogs.

I request Manohar Parikerji to personally look into this very sad state of affairs and rectify it by taking suitable drastic steps immediately.

TILL THEN STAY AWAY COMPLETLY FROM GTDC EVEN IF YOU NO CHOICE.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank SANDEEP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The location of hotel is really good. I had sea view room with balcony, little market and few shops around. There are few restaurants and pubs nearby. This is all you need for one week relaxing vacation. Traditional breakfasts in the morning were really good.

Room tip: The rooms in the main building face restaurant with life music so if you prefer go to bed early you need to book a room in the bungalow.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuliyaM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogesh N, Manager at Colva Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Goa Tourism!!!


Thank you for considering Colva Residency for your choice of accommodation in Goa. We highly appreciate your initiative to appraise us with your feedback during your stay at our hotel.


We regret for the inconvenience caused during your last stay. Your concern has been noted and corrective action has been taken. We would like to assure you that our services are always at par and this may be one of those rare times when things didn't go well. We request you to visit us again and we assure you the best of services.

We deeply value your relationship with us and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our Guest’s deserve the very best.

Please feel free to email me on yogeshgtdc@gamil.com.


Thanks & Regards,
Yogesh Naik
Manager Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We spent 3 nights at Colva residency in the last week of April. We had booked sea facing rooms and the view from our front door was magnificent to say the least. The property itself has been recently renovated and our rooms had been freshly painted. The sea facing rooms are a little crowded but quite comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. This is the only hotel that I have stayed in where they offer you a stand to dry clothes in each room (highly essential if you have kids who spend all their time on the beach). The ACs were also fully functional. The bathrooms were clean.

The front desk is very helpful and the housekeeping is pretty prompt. You also have an option to avail of Women's cab which is very good option for female travelers or family.

The proximity to the sea is a big plus point as you don't need to carry anything with you when you go to the beach. It would hardly take you five minutes to return to your rooms

The room service in the restaurant is a bit slow. The average wait time for tea is around half an hour but the food is quite good. The free breakfast is a fixed and limited affair with a different menu for each day. The south Indian options in the breakfast is a little limited. I personally loved the poha and the upma. The chole also was quite good

They also have an ayurvedic massage centre. If you are looking for authentic Kerala Ayurvedic therapeutic massage, I would not recommend the place. The therapist did not seem to be trained at all.

One suggestion for the management would be to have showers or taps fitted in common areas outside the rooms

All in all it was a very pleasant and memorable stay

Room tip: Choose the sea facing rooms for the view
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Pravda_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeshwant M, Manager at Colva Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Goa Tourism!!!


Thank you for considering Colva Residency for your choice of accommodation in Goa. We highly appreciate your initiative to appraise us with your feedback during your stay at our hotel.


We regret for the inconvenience caused during your last stay. Your concern has been noted and corrective action has been taken. We would like to assure you that our services are always at par and this may be one of those rare times when things didn't go well. We request you to visit us again and we assure you the best of services.

We deeply value your relationship with us and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our Guest’s deserve the very best.

Please feel free to email me on yogeshgtdc@gamil.com


Thanks & Regards,
Yogesh Naik
Manager Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Ok ok stay not worth for money need to maintain evrything only plus point is near to the beach thats it and off course the market and the restuarent for sea food will not recommend this for sure...Thank u

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeshwant M, Manager at Colva Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Goa Tourism!!!


Thank you for considering Colva Residency for your choice of accommodation in Goa. We highly appreciate your initiative to appraise us with your feedback during your stay at our hotel.


We regret for the inconvenience caused during your last stay. Your concern has been noted and corrective action has been taken. We would like to assure you that our services are always at par and this may be one of those rare times when things didn't go well. We request you to visit us again and we assure you the best of services.

We deeply value your relationship with us and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our Guest’s deserve the very best.

Please feel free to email me on yogeshgtdc@gamil.com for any more suggestions.


Thanks & Regards,
Yogesh Naik
Manager Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews