We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City boutique hotel”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“City boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Modern, clean hotel. More of a city hotel than a typical beach resort place. Close to restaurants, shops and beach. Would happily stay there again. 10 mins from airport. Small rooftop pool. Not ideal for kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloconnor0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In your next visit to Alicante we would like to recommend you to sample the tapas menu at Monastrell Tapas Bar or your favourite drink at Isla Inclity Bar 4th Floor terrace until the 15th of September or all year round by the Lobby area.
Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel very soon.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    425
    148
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
826
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just one road back from the beach, promonade and marina, this hotel is situated in a fabulous location. The uber cool decor and furnishings provided a chilled laid back atmosphere. Both the bedroom and bathroom were trendy, large and clean. The breakfast was scrumptious, the rooftop bar was fabulous at night, the downstairs bar and restaurant were excellent. It's a great place to chill for a get away break, wether you want a base to party, or just relax and unwind. I couldn't fault this hotel - infact we're returning next weekend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hospes Amerigo and had the chance to sample the quality of our buffet breakfast and the different bars and restaurants located in the Hotel.
For your next visit we recommend you to try a relaxing Oriental massage at our Bodyna Spa located on the 4th Floor or simply and as we are sure you have already done, just to have a nice walk by the sea at El Postiguet beach at only 300 metres from the Hotel.
Thank you for your very nice comments that we will pass to all the Amerigo Team.
We are really looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is our second stay at Hospes Amerigo- the first was at Christmas 6 years ago when we greatly enjoyed a weekend here. It's fair to say that the hotel has endured some wear & tear since then & desperately needs some TLC to get it back up to standard.
Particularly the carpets in the hallways which are very worn & tatty (there is also a foul odour in the halls).
Our room was fine- for one nights stay at a bargain price of 120 euro- however I wouldn't have been satisified with it otherwise. Our room 404 was in a loft like location with one window looking out over the building next door- the blind drawn on the one window was badly ripped & wouldn't go up so the room was quite dark, with only a few dirty lamps for lighting.
The other issue- which I consider to be a major issue is the complete lack of correspondence! With the original booking I sent a request for a special bottle of wine to be in our room on arrival- I asked the hotel to contact me regarding the available options & stressed that I was particularly after a bottle of cava ( Domaine de la vega) that we had enjoyed years ago.No reply. I sent another 3 emails before we left Australia- No reply. I emailed regarding parking options at the hotel- No reply...until this morning!!!! It's ridiculous that the morning of our departure we receive an email saying that they can arrange parking at a cost of 29.50 euro & we need to book!!! We are already parked here & no one informed us of any such cost! I expect a charge but am shocked that the communication is so poor.
Regarding the cava, on check in they dragged my husband off to the hotel to select a bottle, whilst trying to sell him a 400 euro champagne, I stood at recepetion wondering what was going on? I had tried to arrange the wine as a surprise then when they dragged my husband away I thought he must've had the same idea..he hadn't & had no idea what was going on & was completely confused as to why he was being asked to select a wine. He choose a beautiful bottle of cava which we enjoyed but have no idea how much it will cost us on check out!

Room Tip: get one of the rooms in thr front of the hotel- looking out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazcanbefussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent writing to us.
We would also like to take this opportunity to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you expected.
Regarding your special requests, after checking our e-mail I have to say that we received your e-mail but we failed to send you a reply. We only took note of your commnents but did not send you a menu with available cava options as requested and the reply from the Hotel was sent too late.
Upon your arrival, we offered your husband the possibility to choose from the wine menu of the Restaurant as Domaine de la Vega was not available. The Restaurant staff tried to offer you the best possible service and all the options from the menu. I can assure that by no means they tried to sell you the most expensive wine on the menu and that the bottle of cava that was finally chosen. The final option was a very good cava with a reasonable price.
Again we would like to send you our sincere apologies for not been able to provide you with the service that you deserve. In this case, there has been a communication problem from our side and it seems that it was not handled properly upon your arrival.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante and offer you a true 5* experience at the Hospes Amérigo.

Francisco Capó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Hospes Amerigo have very friendly staff in all circumstances - the only downside is the size of the pool (not long enough to swim lengths) but they compensate with the beautiful terrace and lovely spa. Perhaps not a place for children but it's very well situated, close to the beach and with gorgeous spacious rooms (big baths!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyTrickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the service provided by all our staff.
Regarding your comments about the pool and as you said, this area has been thought to be used for relaxation and not for swimming. Due to its location on the 4th Floor, we have the luxury to have the only roof top pool in the city center of Alicante that allows our guests to relax and enjoy the best views to Santa Barbara Castle.
Again thank you for your comments and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We specifically choose this hotel as it is one of the few in Alicante that offers Family Suites. What we got was not nothing of the kind. It was simply two seperate rooms next to each other. The staff failed to correct this - even though it seemed like they tried. Off course this was not possible as it is probably organised like this by the managment. To stay at a hotel has a lot to do with feeling welcome and when you start your stay with being tricked th erest of the stay suffers. I can only recommend familes to look for antother hotel when staying in Alicante.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.
We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations regarding the Hotel family rooms chossen for your stay at the Hospes Amerigo.
As per your comments our family rooms consist of two rooms connected with a door and small hall that allows you to have your own privacy and also your children close to you.
We normally have very good comments about this rooms and we try to offer families with children this type of accommodation, also bearing in mind that a family room offers a 10% discount on the price of booking two Dreamer rooms.
For Guests that require larger rooms we have available one Master Suite which consists of one Junior Suite (one room with a living room) connected with another Dreamer room. Unfortunatelly availability on this room is very limited and I understand that during your stay at the Amerigo it may have not been available.
Again we would like to thank you for your comments that most sureley help us to improve our levels of service and we are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to our Hotel in your next visit to Alicante to ensure that we can offer the service that you expect and we can make your next stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,720 - ₹ 20,542
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing