We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Hopses Amerigo!”
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Viva Hopses Amerigo!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our first stay in the centre of Alicante, and the Hospes Amerigo proved to be an excellent choice of hotel.
The staff were very welcoming & forgiving our attempts at 'pidgin Spanish !
The room was spacious with an enormous comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space and an amazing rainfall & power shower combo.
The breakfast was outstanding – so many little delicious treats all beautifully laid out.
We also enjoyed a glass of fizz with ‘surtido de ibericos’ tapas in the adjoining bar.
2 minor grunbles – first, the door to the toilet in the room was a big heavy piece of frosted glass which just wouldn’t slide across easily. Other customers had obviously struggled as well as the door had a chipped edge which shed fragments if we attempted to move it, so we just left well alone. Second, the swimming pool on the top deck area is quite small, probably intended to just dip yourself in to cool down in the summer. The decking surrounding it could do with repair/renewing.
But these are minor – we definitely intend to return 

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We have already passed your comments regarding the bathroom door to our Maintenance Department to have this issue reviewed.
Regarding the pool, we have the luxury to have the only pool in the city centre of Alicante, as you mentioned we have intended this are for relaxation as due to its location and size is not meant for swiming. The idea is that you can enjoy the best views of Alicante from the roof.
In preparation for the summer months, we have already conducted our yearly maintenance plan of the pool and deck area that includes an special treatments of the wood and general maintenance of the facilities.
Also from the 25th May and until the middle of September, you can enjoy Islaincity 4th Floor Bar where you can sample your favourite drink, have a light lunch or enjoy a special dinner with the magnificent views of Santa Barbara Castle.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you to the Amerigo very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    432
    150
    33
    21
See reviews for
184
841
47
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I've reviewed here before. I'm back from my fourth trip to the Hospes Amerigo in Alicante and it is a lovely place to say: big rooms, lovely comfortable beds, great facilities, good breakfast and a lovely restaurant and tapas bar. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. The room I had was a little noisy because it overlooked the street where all the open air restaurants are, but this is Spain after all. Nevertheless, the beds are the most comfortable of any hotel I've ever been in, bar none, so I had a good night's sleep every night. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyear or front of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iirlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially that you could feel the comfort of our beds.
In Hospes the qualilty of your sleep is very important for us and for that reason we choose very carefully our beds, combined with the best Egyptian cotton for our linen and also with our line of amenities Korres to ensure that all of these combined allows you have a good night sleep.
In your next visit with us, we invite you to read one of the books that you have available in all rooms, where you can find more information on how to improve the quality of your sleep and consequently improve the quality of your life.
We are looking forward to welcome you to the Amerigo very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having stayed at the Amerigo on several occasions, the experience never disappoints. The staff are excellent and always helpful and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and always perfectly presented by the chamber staff. The whole team do a great job. The ambience is relaxed yet efficient and the food and facilities are delightful. There is no better place to stay in Alicante.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank encantado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and be sure that we will pass your comments to all the Hospes Amerigo team.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome very soon in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stay at the hotel for business but It will be a good place for vacation too due the position in the center of the town, near to several restaurants, beaches and to the castle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauri60Massa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is exactly what I expected for a stay in a smaller Spanish city near the water. It is not perfect but the staff was extremely helpful, nice, and attentive. I would have to agree with a couple other reviewers that some of the details need fine tuning (carpet in the hallways, etc.) but it is definitely not a disaster . We had a family suite and the price was also very reasonable - family suites are very difficult to come by traveling in Europe!

The pool area is small but there is also a patio outside the pool area that is lovely with more seating. The pool is shallow but perfect for us. And then there is a beach which is a 5-10 minute walk.

The restaurant next to the hotel was fabulous and a nice break from some of the tourist restaurants in the area.

The location was also outstanding for beach, touring and shopping. I would recommend it as an option for other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divachitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are very glad that you could enjoy one of our family suites specially designed to ensure that you can spend your time in Alicante with your children with all the comfort.
We will pass your nice comments to all our staff and we are looking forward to welcome you very soon specially in the coming months where you can enjoy the excellent weather and the nearby Postiguet beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
755 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,082 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 49 in Alicante
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,416 - ₹ 28,725
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing