We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Amerigo never fails to delight.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospes Amerigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospes Amerigo
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Amerigo never fails to delight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having stayed at the Amerigo on several occasions, the experience never disappoints. The staff are excellent and always helpful and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and always perfectly presented by the chamber staff. The whole team do a great job. The ambience is relaxed yet efficient and the food and facilities are delightful. There is no better place to stay in Alicante.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank encantado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and be sure that we will pass your comments to all the Hospes Amerigo team.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcome very soon in your next visit to Alicante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    381
    133
    32
    20
See reviews for
164
743
44
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stay at the hotel for business but It will be a good place for vacation too due the position in the center of the town, near to several restaurants, beaches and to the castle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauri60Massa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is exactly what I expected for a stay in a smaller Spanish city near the water. It is not perfect but the staff was extremely helpful, nice, and attentive. I would have to agree with a couple other reviewers that some of the details need fine tuning (carpet in the hallways, etc.) but it is definitely not a disaster . We had a family suite and the price was also very reasonable - family suites are very difficult to come by traveling in Europe!

The pool area is small but there is also a patio outside the pool area that is lovely with more seating. The pool is shallow but perfect for us. And then there is a beach which is a 5-10 minute walk.

The restaurant next to the hotel was fabulous and a nice break from some of the tourist restaurants in the area.

The location was also outstanding for beach, touring and shopping. I would recommend it as an option for other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divachitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are very glad that you could enjoy one of our family suites specially designed to ensure that you can spend your time in Alicante with your children with all the comfort.
We will pass your nice comments to all our staff and we are looking forward to welcome you very soon specially in the coming months where you can enjoy the excellent weather and the nearby Postiguet beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very friendly staff, great rooms (the bathroom!) and right in the centre of Alicante at an affordable price. The beach, authentic restaurants, the Santa Barbara castle, everything is at a (short) walking distance of this fantastic hotel. Can't miss!

Room Tip: Get a room by the street side if you want to get up with sunshine on the balcony in the morning. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I was hoping I would be able to leave a very positive review here but I am not. We booked the family room for 4 nights and chose this hotel over an apartment because it was 5-star, and after staying in an apartment in Barcelona we really wanted a 5-star experience. Unfortunately that was not the case. I would not recommend staying at this property the end of March through the beginning of May or Sept/Oct. We found out the hard way! It really ruined most of our time in Alicante because we were so tired. The hotel has no air conditioning March - May or in the fall. They only have heat and wait to put air on after they don't need any heat! We stayed over Sunday evening (the first night) and was up all night. The room(s) were SO warm. The lobby was fine, but once you reached the 2nd floor it was so warm. We could not open the windows because it was holy week and too noisy, but you really couldn't sleep with them open anyways with all the street noise. On Monday I went to the front desk and told them it was so hot, we were up all night and demanded fans. Came back Monday night and there was nothing. Again, we were ALL up ALL night - 2 kids as well. On Tuesday I went to the desk AGAIN and said we needed fans and we then learned because it's an old building they cannot operate a/c and heat at the same time. How can this be a 5 star with that?? I would never have chosen a hotel that did not have air conditioning. The rooms had to be 80 degrees. Again I had to tell them we were exhausted. 2 nights with no sleep. It ruined our day touring time. On Tuesday I demanded the fans. We came back at night and there was a fan in each room. The fan in the kids room was old & rusty and really did not help. The fan in our room was better, but it was still so hard to sleep with a major fan blowing on you.

I've never written a negative review but felt this needed it. This was not worth $1200.00 The hotel should have credited our entire stay, it was miserable. If management had left the lobby they would have known when walking down the hallway on the 2nd floor the heat rose about 20 degrees.

Room Tip: I would never stay in this property at a time when you may need a/c or heat in the room, pending out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Amerigo, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences encountered in your last stay in our Hotel.
I can assure you that for us is very important to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.
For that reason and because we are constantly working to improve our facilities and servicies, we have recently changed the air conditioning system that did not allow us to have both air conditioning and heating at the same time.
We have currently a new air con system in the Hotel that allows us to have both air con and heating at the same time from January to December, so this problem has been solved 100%.
Please in your next visit to Alicante, do not hesitate to contact me directly to ensure that I can handle your reservation personally and ensure that we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#2 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Amerigo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Amerigo

Property: Hospes Amerigo
Address: Rafael Altamira 7, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#1 Family Hotel in Alicante
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#2 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,826 - ₹ 15,080
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Amerigo 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hospes Amerigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Amerigo Alicante Hotel Alicante
Hospes Amerigo Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing