We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
65
111
49
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
111
49
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning superior room great location central courtyard small fridge old town super hotel short break bath shower plenty of bars and restaurants small hotel late flight cleaning staff airport bus stayed for nights city break budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel staff very friendly at front desk
Room clean
Comfy bed
Nice little balcony with table chairs and windows
2e for a safe deposit box
Great location, best esplanade and loads of good restaurants
Was a bit noisy on Saturday night
Good value for money

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank angela_collett1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio C, Gerente at Mendez Nunez, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. We love that you enjoyed with us. We work hard to offer the best stay at the right price. We hope you had a happy trip and of course here you have your home for whenever you want. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Terrible service rude staff frauduelent bank behaviour of you want a nice holiday do not stay at this hotel my husband hasn't been in holiday in nearly 10 years we work hard pay our taxs but do we have a right to be respected in our honeymoon this hotel thought we did not have the right we were treated with the respect of something in the bottom of someone's shoe

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio C, Gerente at Mendez Nunez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

It is not our fault if you do not read the conditions of the reservation. The customer must be the holder of the card with which the reservation is made because otherwise the customer can not sign the card's receipt, being liable to claim that charge as fraudulent. All this was notified via email but you ignored it. Upon arriving at the hotel and not being the holders of the card, we made the refund of the charge that had been made to the other card and you paid with your own card. From that moment, your behavior was rude to the receptionists and annoying with the rest of the clients. The receptionists had to go several times to your room to ask for stop screaming at night and annoying other customers. You arrived very nervous and aggressive, insulting and the second night you beat up a homeless man in the street, who made the police come. After these mishaps, we talked to your husband, indicating that we were not going to consent this behavior and that you both should leave the hotel or we call the police. Your husband told us that you had a mental problem and please that we did not throw you away from the hotel by the promise that your behavior would be correct. From that moment, there were no more problems and until the day of check out, everything was correct. We report your bad behavior to the web page where you made the reservation to not accept your future reservations. You can put the comment you want, but it does not make your version real.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I have stayed at Mendez Nunez on a number of occasions and can highly recommend it, The hotel is being upgraded year by year, better showers, air conditioning and electrical sockets with multi plug points USB Etc,. All the staff are helpful, and the cleaning staff are very good . Always clean and tidy rooms and all areas .

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank redplm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio C, Gerente at Mendez Nunez, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. We love that you enjoyed with us. We work hard to offer the best stay at the right price. We hope you had a happy trip and of course here you have your home for whenever you want. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This 2-star hotel was A good experience for me and my husband. We stayed 4 nights in July. A clean and comfortable room, good aircondition and veri good Wi-fi. Location ideal for senior traveller. I can recommend.

Room tip: 6th floor was very quiet.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank riittakirjalainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio C, Gerente at Mendez Nunez, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our location in the very center of the city. We hope you had a happy trip and see you again soon in Alicante. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

I booked this hotel for my niece and her 1 year old daughter and payed one week in advance. When we came into the room we were greeted by a swarm of mosquitos. There were no windows.... ahh.. one window that opened to a wall. That window was never opened. After I had killed the mosquitos I left my half sobbing niece... Alicante hotels were almost full this weekend cause of some celebration. She called me later that night... there was another mosquito attack... the window was still closed.. but there was a whole in the ceiling in the bathroom. The mosquitos had a way in. She managed to kill most of the mosquitos and fell asleep feeling horrible with here baby girl. She spoke to "Kathy Bates" in the lobby the day after and she just told her to open the window (usually you are supposed to close the windows in Spain in the twilight to keep the mosquitos OUT). She did not want to do anything about the whole in the ceiling. "I'm sorry but we can't do anything about that" she said to my niece holding her one year old daughter in her arms. This made me mad and I went down there and demanded a refund for the rest of the nights. "Kathy" told me that booking.com was responsible for this booking and that if I wanted a refund I had to talk to them. I later spoke to booking.com and they told me "Kathy" was lying. "Kathy" was the only one that could refund me. I was rude to "Kathy" (and I apologize) and rushed out. My niece called me crying again that night cause of another mosquito attack, now more than ever. Her stepfather went down there and stuffed the hole in the ceiling with some cloth from the bed (we have photos of this), and killed "most" of the mosquitos. On the third day I received a phone call from booking.com. The lady on the phone seemed pissed off about "Kathy's" lies.... she called "Kathy" and then me again...I was refunded and we managed to find another hotel for my niece and here baby girl. Booking.com is definitely a company to be trusted. THE END

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank HalldorAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio C, Gerente at Mendez Nunez, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

We are sorry that your stay has not been as we would have liked. That said, the story is imaginative and curious but it does not correspond to reality. Alicante like any other Spanish city, has mosquitoes in summer and if you open the window at night, they can enter and put in wet places like the bathroom. There was a small hole in the ceiling of the bathroom that leads to a closed roof. The problem is that you got obsessed with that hole thinking that they were getting by there ... When you notified at reception, the receptionist went up and put an anti-mosquito device. She reviewed the room and saw no mosquito ..
We do not want to have customers to dislike, so we offered you the return of the rest of the stay and go looking for another place more according to your tastes. It was not you who "demanded the return". Your intention was to obtain a discount, as you commented several times in very rude manner with the receptionist, who was working to facilitate your stay as much as possible. Being a booking.com booking, any modification of it, must be made by them, prior acceptance by us. That modification was made two days later, but that is already a theme of booking operation and not ours.
The hotel's policy is not to give in to any type of blackmail by you. You threatened several times with a bad comment and can do what you consider, but this comment does not make the story, real. The minimum you have to have is education and not refer to the receptionist with the name of "kathy", which is not her name and is a nonsense that only makes funny to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews