We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great spacious beach, good food”
Review of Almirante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Almirante Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great spacious beach, good food”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very decent rooms for the price we paid, everything clean and comfy. The location is perfect for a quiet holiday - 2 min from the wide long beach, 15 min by tram from Alicante city center, no nightlife around. The area around the hotel and the swimming pool is very well looked after and seems cosy. The breakfast was ok, with great coffee, the lunches and dinners are two course meals (you can choose from 5 or 6 dishes), some of them really tasty, the only thing is that the menus are not translated into English and the waiters are not of much help either, so it can be tricky to order. Overall, nice place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    115
    67
    11
    27
See reviews for
72
149
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Great location on a beachfront strip, delicious restaurants nearby, and great value. We're glad we chose San Juan over Alicante town (which is about 15 mins away by train or bus) as the beach is more beautiful and it seems to have a more laid-back vibe. Any restaurant we chose along the beach strip was fantastic, cheap, and offered generous portions.
The rooms look like they have been updated, while some of the decor in the common areas is stuck in the 70s. Everything is clean and in good condition though. All balconies have views to the water (if you look to the left). The only issue was that sound seemed to travel a fair bit between the rooms (ie: you can hear neighbours coughing and watching TV) but it didn't bother us. The pool was clean and sunny - a good thing to have if the beach gets too windy in the afternoons.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We've been coming here since the last 4 years almost once every year. The hotel is very clean, nr. 1 spot on the beach (you just need to cross the boulevard) and last but not least. the tram which will take you to Alicante city stops in front of this hotel. We therefore never need a car. The employees at reception are very helpful. The employees in the restaurant are very nice but do not speak English very good, so I try my best Spanish :) but we never had a problem getting what we wanted. Breakfast is 8,-- which is good value for what you get. Rooms are very clean and we always have sea sight view in their standard rooms. Across from thed hotel oy will find Domingo's, also a nice Spanish restaurant with good prices.

Room Tip: In the standard rooms we always have sea sight from the side. I think this is because how the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braintree,essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My friend and I went last weekend for a girlie 3 days break. We chose the hotel as it had access to a brilliant beach for the daytime and was a taxi ride into Alicante for the nightlife. Alicante town was buzzing on Saturday night and quieter on Sunday night which allowed us to have 2 types of evenings.
The hotel was typically 3 star with excellent friendly staff, rooms were comfortable with everything you would need. The pool was great.
This area is very spanish and does not cater for mass british tourists which suited us perfectly.
We had a fantastic time and would return again. (Once the hangover has gone!!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

All I can say is that I would not stay at this hotel even for free. I stayed in 7 hotels during my stay in Spain (in various locations) and for similar prices as this one. This was the worst hotel. First the room was disgusting, the beds small and uncomfortable and honestly I felt scared to sleep on it. We were there in October and they put on the A/C at 12 midnight (not sure in the summer). It was pretty warm and had to leave the windows open. When I woke up I had bites either from mosquitos or from something in the bed. The elevator starts at the 1st floor so we had to carry our heavy luggages one flight of stairs which was ridiculous. It is close to the beach but that's about it. There is nothing else in the area. The staff was unfriendly. The look of the hotel is shabby. I haven't seen it but my husband said he saw how the balconies were being held up with something in order not to crash. Horrible Horrible hotel. I stayed in better hotels for similar if not lesser of a price.

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — the room, hotel, nothing to do in the area
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monianyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#12 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Albahia
#15 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#27 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almirante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almirante Hotel

Property: Almirante Hotel
Address: Avenida Niza 38 | Playa de San Juan, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,426 - ₹ 19,910
Hotel Class:3 star — Almirante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the oceanfront, in the well-known San Juan Beach of Alicante, the Almirante Hotel is nestled within charming gardens and palm trees, facing the sea. Discover the crystalline sea waters of the Mediterranean and the idyllic coastal climate of Spain, only just steps ahead. Recently-renovated guestrooms and crisp modern furnishings, the hotel has just inaugurated 2 new rooms: Premium Rooms and a Suite with a marvelous whirlpool. You may also enjoy a variety of accommodations: Standard Rooms, Oceanfront Superior Rooms (Panorama), and Family Rooms, combined with a private balcony with sea views and outdoor pool views, free high speed Internet access, and a sense of being in a welcoming retreat in the midst of the city. The Pocardy Restaurant serves buffet style breakfast and offers a Mediterranean cuisine for lunch and dinner. Guests may dine indoors or beside the gardens on the outdoor terrace. Easy access to Alicante city and Benidorm by Tram, only 100 metres fom the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almirante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almirante Hotel Alicante Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing