We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
127
253
157
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
253
157
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location bars and restaurants breakfast room short break no safe in the room safety deposit box sister hotel euros per night nice hotel postiguet beach few minutes walk sea front mini bar the bus spent nights here spanish hotel
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 1.30pm and was greated by a friendly lady on reception, we had a lovely quiet room on the 5th floor, very spacious, very comfy beds and pillows, towels where plentiful and changed everyday, room was a little warm in the evenings so opened the windows to let some fresh air in and we both got bit by mosquitos! Be warned! . Breakfast was continental, with plenty of fresh bread , pastries, fruit, and Spanish meats and cheeses, there's something for everyone. There's a complementary drinks machine to use throughout your stay in reception, lovely to have a cuppa at the end of your evening as its still chilly in the evenings. The location of the hotel is spot on just 1 street away from the beach, but also in the heart of the old town, the c6 bus is so easy to use from the airport no need to pay for taxis, just go to level 2 in departures the bus is right outside its €3.85, per person, takes around 20mins. Lots of different bars restaurant to choose from, beautiful beach, great nightlife with the Spanish culture. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charlie23Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

WOW!!!

We are all happy to read your survey and knowing that you had a good time with us in Alicante

Thank You Charlie

Cheers!

Carlos Bosch & Marta López
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We had room for 3 people. It was really nice surprise to see that the room was so big. Great wifi. Location is excellent, close to the centrum and the beach but still quiet. Bonus was the good breakfast which was great start for the day. Staff was always smiling and helpful. Good value for the money. I defenately go there again if Im going to Alicante again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SesseI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you very much Sesse for staying with us. We are all happy to know that you had a good time with us in Alicante.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon

Cheers!

Carlos Bosch & Marta López
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Visited on a 4 night city break to celebrate birthday with my partner. Hotel was very easy to find following hopping on the c6 bus from the airport which only cost 3.85 euros each, better than 20 euros in taxi. Hotel only one street away from us stop. Only had standard room which was adequate as did not spend much time there. Safe was based by reception and was free of charge. Breakfast was adequate and nice environment. I have lactose intolerance and the hotel were more than happy to keep my lactofree milk in the fridge. We had a slight issue one morning with water coming through light in bathroom and we reported and the maintenance man arrived within minutes, got the bathroom in a useable safe condition for us and while we were off out for the day the repairs were completed and the bathroom and room were immaculate when we arrived back. I found all staff to be friendly and helpful. Resturants and bars in the old town were good and served some good food but the marina was a let down and would advise avoiding. The hotel was in a good position to use the tram, bus and train services.
We would return and recommend for city break.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you Kelly, happy to know that you had a good time with us.
Sorry for the leaking!
We all look forward to welcoming you soon again
Cheers

Carlos Bosch & Marta López

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

A decent enough hotel in a great location let down by a few 'couldn't care less' staff!
We had booked a standard room but after checking in decided that a superior one would better suit our needs. After looking online to confirm availability I returned to the desk to secure an upgrade but told in no uncertain terms that it wasn't possible even though I was happy to pay.
Venturing out later in the day I noticed that grumpy had been replaced so I enquired again to be told that it was possible at 65 Euros per night, I was a little taken aback as the nightly cost of the standard room was only a little more than this figure so declined the offer as I was seriously considering checking out and staying elsewhere but decided to sleep on it.
On the way to breakfast it was clear that Grumpy #2 had also gone so I decided to ask again... This time a very nice smiley Raquel said 'yes, no problem' at a cost of 16 Euros per night which was ultimately more acceptable so upgrade we did and very were pleased with the decision!
It really is a decent hotel in a fab location, the breakfast is more than adequate and normally the standard room would have been fine but the weather wasn't great so we spent more time in the room than anticipated so the upgrade made all the difference.
Every one of the female staff were lovely, helpful and friendly but both of the male staff members that we encountered managed to turn the 'service' score from excellent to average.
All things considered I would definitely return and would recommend this hotel but advise anyone to avoid any male staff!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
2  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank You Tim for your report, we take very seriuosly your comments and will take action immediately, attitude is number one!!!

Cheers

Carlos Bosch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We went for a supreme room which says comes with terrace bath kettle and toiletries
The terrace was large but never in the sun
The toiletries were razor shower cap toothbrush comb I expected shampoo conditioner body was and cream none of that which us unusual most hotels supply these I had yo go out and buy some
Yes it had a kettle but as tea and coffee were available all the time in reception we didn't use
I hate showers we had a shower which was long and narrow and you had to squeeze past the basin in to get in any one on the large side would niot be able yo get in the shower
There appeared to be no fan in the bathroom so after showering the room was steamed up and very wet
My husband slipped on the floor sknned both elbows and grazed his head
He bled a lot and I had to use a towel also managed to get blood on bedding
The girl was brilliant and put all clean bedding and towels on. I can't praise the girl enough she even asked if he was ok the next day
Breakfast was ok aulways bacon scrambled egg and sausage as well as continental
We had no problem but feral in the summer you would probably have to queue for a table as the room was a little small but well run
It could not have been more convenient it's close to the beach and restaurants
Quiet of a night when we were there building work was going on so a bit of banging through the day but guess works gave to be done and early part of the year makes sense
The staff were all helpful the hotel was clean

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone who wants a very convenient comfortable hotel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank EDEN-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank You Eden for staying with us and for your detailed survey.

Difficult to make everybody happy, the trend in Spain is to replace bath tubs with showers, we do not have so much water as you do in northern Europe and on the other hand most of the people prefer showers. It is true that the glass in that bathroom makes the path too narrow, we will replace it

We all wish your husband a good recovery and llok forward to welcoming tyou again soon

Cheers

Carlos Bosch & Marta Lopez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews