We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
127
253
157
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
253
157
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town great location bars and restaurants breakfast room short break no safe in the room safety deposit box sister hotel euros per night nice hotel postiguet beach few minutes walk sea front mini bar the bus spent nights here spanish hotel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

A decent enough hotel in a great location let down by a few 'couldn't care less' staff!
We had booked a standard room but after checking in decided that a superior one would better suit our needs. After looking online to confirm availability I returned to the desk to secure an upgrade but told in no uncertain terms that it wasn't possible even though I was happy to pay.
Venturing out later in the day I noticed that grumpy had been replaced so I enquired again to be told that it was possible at 65 Euros per night, I was a little taken aback as the nightly cost of the standard room was only a little more than this figure so declined the offer as I was seriously considering checking out and staying elsewhere but decided to sleep on it.
On the way to breakfast it was clear that Grumpy #2 had also gone so I decided to ask again... This time a very nice smiley Raquel said 'yes, no problem' at a cost of 16 Euros per night which was ultimately more acceptable so upgrade we did and very were pleased with the decision!
It really is a decent hotel in a fab location, the breakfast is more than adequate and normally the standard room would have been fine but the weather wasn't great so we spent more time in the room than anticipated so the upgrade made all the difference.
Every one of the female staff were lovely, helpful and friendly but both of the male staff members that we encountered managed to turn the 'service' score from excellent to average.
All things considered I would definitely return and would recommend this hotel but advise anyone to avoid any male staff!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
2  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank You Tim for your report, we take very seriuosly your comments and will take action immediately, attitude is number one!!!

Cheers

Carlos Bosch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We went for a supreme room which says comes with terrace bath kettle and toiletries
The terrace was large but never in the sun
The toiletries were razor shower cap toothbrush comb I expected shampoo conditioner body was and cream none of that which us unusual most hotels supply these I had yo go out and buy some
Yes it had a kettle but as tea and coffee were available all the time in reception we didn't use
I hate showers we had a shower which was long and narrow and you had to squeeze past the basin in to get in any one on the large side would niot be able yo get in the shower
There appeared to be no fan in the bathroom so after showering the room was steamed up and very wet
My husband slipped on the floor sknned both elbows and grazed his head
He bled a lot and I had to use a towel also managed to get blood on bedding
The girl was brilliant and put all clean bedding and towels on. I can't praise the girl enough she even asked if he was ok the next day
Breakfast was ok aulways bacon scrambled egg and sausage as well as continental
We had no problem but feral in the summer you would probably have to queue for a table as the room was a little small but well run
It could not have been more convenient it's close to the beach and restaurants
Quiet of a night when we were there building work was going on so a bit of banging through the day but guess works gave to be done and early part of the year makes sense
The staff were all helpful the hotel was clean

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone who wants a very convenient comfortable hotel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank EDEN-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank You Eden for staying with us and for your detailed survey.

Difficult to make everybody happy, the trend in Spain is to replace bath tubs with showers, we do not have so much water as you do in northern Europe and on the other hand most of the people prefer showers. It is true that the glass in that bathroom makes the path too narrow, we will replace it

We all wish your husband a good recovery and llok forward to welcoming tyou again soon

Cheers

Carlos Bosch & Marta Lopez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Couldn’t really ask for more in terms of location, really well positioned. Rooms are very clean. Breakfast is quite basic but adequate. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Due to the position on the street, can be a bit noisy outside, but not bad at night. Would stay again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenJ_Stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank You Karen
Have a good day

Carlos Bosch & Marta Lopez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

A fantastic location just a couple of minutes to the waterfront on one side and the same time on the other towards old city, restaurants , museums and so on.
Our room at first floor no great view , a just partial view to the sea, but it has been an our choise .
Besides the great location , we appreciated the room very clean , modern, without moquettes and with a very confortable bathroom.
Moreover, a complimentary machine with cold or warm water with any choice of tea, herb tea, herb brew, etc

Room Tip: gorgeous location!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinta92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank You Pinta, wishing you a Merry Xtmas and happy 2018
Look forward to welcoming you again soon
Cheers
Carlos Bosch & Marta Lopez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Have stayed in Alicante before but further out at San Juan. This hotel is ideally placed being only 5 minutes from the Marina and same from the Airport bus stop (C6) Typical good Tryp breakfast selection. We only had a standard room so had to go down to reception for a coffee but not a problem as we collected on way back from dinner. Rooms are large enough with toiletries and good shower. Flat screen TV but only CNN in English, comfortable beds, aircon/heating and free safety deposit box. Sufficient space in wardrobe for a 5 days break. Staff friendly and helpful and whole hotel kept clean. Numerous restaurants and bars locally and at the Marina.Only minus point the walls are quite thin and tv/voices can be heard.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ianlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Director General at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank You!

Have a Nice Xtmas

Cheers

Carlos Bosch & Marta Lopez
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews