We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husa Alicante Golf & Spa was superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alicante Golf
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
San Juan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Husa Alicante Golf & Spa was superb”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We booked 7 nights at the Husa Alicante Golf because the Hotel Sidi San Juan closed down earlier this year. We last stayed at the Husa 4-5 years ago when it was 5 star. The biggest difference was that staff have been cut by 75%, which meant that each member of staff was doing the same amount of work previously done by 4 and the Husa is now 4 star.

However Spanish 4 star is a different universe from English 4 star, and the service at the Husa was second to none, the room was excellent and the food far exceeded our expectations. We could not believe it when a couple of northerners said that the breakfast was appalling because the scrambled egg and bacon was not hot - for heavens sake there was a full spread of fruit, breads and cold meats with cheese.

The lunches were excellent with a 3 course set meal including one drink for € 20. The waiters were all 5 star trained and therefore first class.

There are plenty of sun loungers in the pool area, with entertainment provided by the many ducks who waddle about - really!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    151
    122
    40
    37
See reviews for
122
163
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights for a combined golf and leisure break. We opted for a deluxe room with a huge balcony overlooking the 18th fairway and the swimming pool. The room was excellent and spotlessly clean with a mini bar which we did not use. There was a language barrier with the staff and locals but this added to the fun and interest of being in this locality. There were almost no English people in this area and we took full advantage of the Spanish experience. The food in the hotel was not so good with a mediocre breakfast and quite poor meat dishes. We chose to eat out and two restaurants stood out as being excellent. The Fore restaurant 5 minutes away across from the 18th fairway offered stunning food and although only one waiter spoke English we had a lot of fun choosing the meal which was top quality and a joy to eat. Our favourite restaurant was the 'Vivaldino' in Avda de Bruselas De San Juan about 10 minute walk from the hotel. The menu was in Spanish only but the owner and waiter were extremely helpful The food and service are highly recommended and do not be afraid to experiment with your choices. The staff and especially the chef could not have been more attentive and caring and the restaurant was furnished perfectly with a great ambience. The golf course was in first class condition with plenty of water and challenges. The staff spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. The golf course and hotel have an arrangement to allow you to pick up a buggy in the hotel carpark. The golf course is set between houses but with wide fairways and safety nets wayward shots are not a problem.
All in all 'A truly Spanish experience' and we will definately return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the golf course or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keeling883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Hi, we have just returned from a five night stay at this hotel and I would just like to warn any Irish or English people to stay away. The hotel is a very spainish hotel for spanish people... we did not feel in any way welcome to be there by the staff or the guests. The staff could bearly understand anything we were saying. The food was poor and again only tailored to the spainish. We paid extra for the buffet breakfast and ended up eating cereal and fruit (very limited fruit selection..was dry) every morning as the cooked food was horrible...didn't even have proper tea / butter (I know.. shocking, how did we manage). We always go for a nice hotel, not snobby or anything but like the staple things to be nice such as friendly staff, nice food, nice pool, clean rooms etc... but the staff were miserable but still expected to be tipped. The food was very poor, the rooms and hotel in general was shabby and smelled of varying odours (dust, damp etc). The hotel pictures shown are drastically exaggerated...the pool is very small (really disappointed when we seen this), they have a nice golf course with a pond (this was the only nice part to be brutally honest), the pond had alot of ducks, the ducks would go swimming in the kids pool also which some people found cute but was really disgusting as you could see or walk on 'duck poo' around the pool so they were definitely urinating in the pool. The hotel had a pool bar next to the pool that was never opened so you have to go up to the main lobby bar to get water / drink which was a real nuisance . They dont serve ice-cream / anything like it to help cool you off and the nearest shop is 15min walk away. A spanish wedding took place just below our balcony and very late into the night the hotel put on a firework display right outside our balcony...this may sound nice but we were sleeping (a child with us) and were rudely woken by extremely loud banging from the fire works..if we were elderly we would of had a heart attack..it frightened the life out of us and scared the child to bits. They didn't even have the courtesy to let us know they were going to do it. The hotel is a 15-20min walk to the beach which again is full of spanish, I didn't here one english word spoken, we felt so out of place there and stood out like sore thumbs being pale skinned. We really felt that we were not welcome in the hotel and surrounding restaurants/area... I would not recommend this hotel!
Hope this review prevents someone else from having a bad holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fifile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

alicante
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Ask for a room at the back side of the hotel with view on the golf course. If you have a room at the street side it can be very noisy specially during weekends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Good points....the welcome was excellent, we arrived late and the male receptionist was very friendly and courteous. Our room was good and had a large balcony. Although the peacosk birds were an amazing sight, they were, on occasions very noisy, sometimes, even at night-time. Beds were generally fine.

Negatives....that are, as I say, easy to fix...firstly the service in the lobby dining / cafe area. I sat for 20 minutes waiting for a waitress byt one did not come, so I ordered at the bar. The food was good, but the service again was poor when I was looking for the bill. Also, and perhaps unusual, there were a number of people in the car park, late at night (Friday night) having mini-parties out of the back of their car, loud music lots of alcohol. It seemed bizzare that the hotel would allow this to continue. On check-out, the receptionist was again excellent and seemed friendly and well trained. I should add, that the value was very good, per night, approximately 70 Euro for a good sized room. Also, the guests were all very nice. We have stayed there before when it was classified as a 5 star, and now it is a 4 star. It is fair to say that the rooms are 4 star but the service (not the reception) is more like 2 or maximum 3 star. Charging for parking is also a negative, however there is ample public parking adjacent to the hotel.

Big negative is that they looked for an additional €20 for a late check-out, in my experience first time ever, even in Spain.

As I have said above, a few small changes, in particular lobby restaurant area in terms of service, would go a long way. Also, do not charge guests for an extra hour or two for late check-out.

I will stay there again.

Room Tip: View of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#12 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#17 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#27 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alicante Golf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alicante Golf

Property: Hotel Alicante Golf
Address: Avenida Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#11 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,590 - ₹ 9,825
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alicante Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alicante Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alicante Golf And Spa
Husa Alicante Golf Hotel Alicante
Hesperia Alicante Hotel
Hesperia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing