We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management-I didn't get to stay there but am glad I didn't.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Poor Management-I didn't get to stay there but am glad I didn't.......”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I called the Abama Hotel to obtain a gift token for the MB Michelin Restaurant as I have a second home in Tenerife and wanted a special surprise for my wife's birthday.The hotel directed me to the Ritz Carlton group headquarters in the States as no gift tokens were available from the Abama directly.I got the token specially shipped to the Uk by Fed Ex and turned up at the MB a couple of months later for our meal.I presented my gift token after an amazing meal only to have a very embarrassing moment as the restaurant refused to accept the token despite being told by the Abama that it would!I ended up having to pay with a credit card,the moment was lost and it was all very awkward.The restaurant were very apologetic though and having been assured that I would be contacted back immediately to credit my card we left The call never happened, Initially I was given the wrong information by the Hotel,there was no communication between the MB and The Abama Hotel,there was no follow up from the Hotel,I had to pursue them and eventually I got a half baked response and explanation and a promise of a call from someone in a position of responsibility which never happened.This is all very unprofessional and does not bade well for such a large hotel group at all,nobody seems to care.
MB 9/10 Abama 4/10.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    561
    273
    109
    71
See reviews for
852
954
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I took out a suite. A golf buggy is included as the resort is big. Check in was very poor in general. They tried to fob me off about the buggy saying they'd let me have one as soon as they could. I didn't accept that and insisted they provide one upon check in and they miraculously found one!
The suite was great. Spacious and clean. Do not order room service if you're not staying in the main building. Every time I tried it arrived cold.
When it's busy (I went Easter week) service is slow and poor and food is not to the 5 star standard one expects.
Main pool is great for kids as is the kids club which is very well organised and very safe.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Icon-Hotel-Luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This resort is breathtaking... the pools are absolutely beautiful, it's incredibly relaxed and the staff are all very nice and helpful. I was there in Jan 2012 with a large work group for an offsite and we were very well looked after. There's lots to do at this hotel, including a nightclub, and it's the perfect place for a relaxing break. I can't imagine it ever feels incredibly busy because it's so big and well laid out.

I had a room within the main hotel building which was beautiful, large bathroom with walk in shower and big balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Really relaxing. Not sure how good it would be for families, perhaps in summer.

Room Tip: I'd say all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtravelgal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Have just returned from a week at The Abama and we were v disappointed
I have never seen so many young children in one hotel
This meant restaurants and pool areas were just chaotic and noisy
No atmosphere, unfriendly staff due to being overworked and a feeling of poor quality standards. The buffet breakfast was a complete nightmare
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world but definitely won't return to this one!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

This was our 1st trip to Abama and we loved it. We were worried about the reviews. However do not worry. We stayed in one of the villa's. I would def recommend them as we found out when we got there u get your own pool shared with the other villas in ur row! Also as ur away from the resort you get ur own buggy. A great hit with the kids! Yes breakfast was busy but it was half term and they did their hardest to accommodate everyone. Food was good, I found the buffet at veranda was less than average but every other meal I had there we all really enjoyed. Yes food is expensive but what else would you expect going to a ritz Carlton. all in all we had a lovely time and cannot fault the hotel at all.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DKBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
5.0 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
10.2 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
11.0 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,609 reviews
5.1 km away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
10.4 km away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#9 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,792 - ₹ 41,614
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing