We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing huge house, made our holiday!”

Review of The manor house

THE MANOR HOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE MANOR HOUSE
THE VILLA VIEW DOWN THE GARDEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
THE MANOR HOUSE
THE VILLA
VIEW DOWN THE GARDEN
BBQ
POOL
GAMES ROOM
GAMES ROOM
MASTER BEDROOM
JACUZZI IN MASTER BEDROOM
MASTER BEDROOM
VIEW FROM MASTER BEDROOM
MASTER BEDROOM WET ROOM
LOUNGE KITCHEN
KITCHEN
BEDROOM 2
BEDROOM 3
BEDROOM 4
BATHROOM 4
BEDROOM 5
TV
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
888Shelly...
Radstock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing huge house, made our holiday!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Firstly great communication with Mark the owner from the day of booking, we emailed a few times with questions and we had a reply everytime. We were given great directions to find the Villa, on arrival, we were gobsmacked at the space! The photos don't quite show the amount of space, indoor and out!
The two younger kids couldn't wait to get in the clean warm pool, the older kids couldn't wait to get in the games room and play pool!
Plenty of cutlery, crockery (a few more glasses wouldn't go a miss, didn't help that we broke 3 during our stay, which Mark was very understanding about, sorry Mark!) plenty of spare blankets (not that we needed any during our stay) and lots of towels.

Couldn't of asked for a bigger, homely place to stay, beds were comfy and the house was so cool. There is no air con but it wasn't needed at all, temps were up to around 35 degrees and the house didn't get hot at all (lots of fans provided if needed but we didn't need these either)

If I had to pick at anything, it would be, dishwasher really does need updating, it works and cleans but is very old and a new airer and/or a proper washing line is desperately needed!

WiFI was amazing, most of the time we had 4 phones and two tablets connected and it was quicker than my wifi at home!

Mark is a really nice genuine guy and we would definitely use this villa again, thank you Mark :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and the space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Thanks guys !! The villa has a new dishwasher now and plenty or airers !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGSas
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“'WOW' what a place to stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

'WOW' what a place to stay in, myself and my family stayed at the manor house for 2 weeks in june/july.
When we first arrived Mark the owner was there to meet us and could not be any more accommodating and very welcoming and as a added bonus even got the basic essentials for us in as we were not arriving until late evening.
The house itself was in very good condition, very spacious and ideal for all of our families needs.
The house itself in my opinion caters for everyone whether it be a group of friends or large family's.
My 3 year grandson loved the size of garden and pool which he spent most of his time in.
The area that the house is in, is very peaceful and picturesque, the views around the property are stunning and its only a very short drive to san isidro where the nearest main shops are.
We all would recommend this property to anyone and we all hope to go back and stay there again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dctarrant...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Mannor house was exactly what are group of 7 needed for a fantastic holiday. There space in abundance so for a group, half of which didn't know each other there was plenty of areas where they could find peace and quiet and the main communal area was plenty big enough for everyone to come and cook and hang out together.

The swimming pool and games room where a great addition and provided hours of entertainment. Climbing was the main purpose of our trip and the house is ideally located less than 40 minutes drive from Arico gorge and El Rio, but still within a very easy drive of big supermarkets.

The only small criticism is that I am not convinced about the build quality, the fire place is falling appart and the patio doors do not seem that secure (however there is a safe provided) there is also plenty of the owners belongings still in the property which is slightly strange.

The master sweet is something to behold and is bigger than my entire house. With a Jacuzzi in the bedroom and two seperate showers and sinks in the on suite whoever gets the master bedroom will be the envy of all the other guests.

Would stay there again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price
Liked least: Build Quality
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OspreySwa...
Swansea, Wales.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Great Property for an Extended Family”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor House. The villa is out in the countryside but not isolated (only 8-10mins from large supermarkets). We enjoyed the lovely views, clear air and quiet. It can be a few degrees colder up in El Salto, where the villa is located, than it is on the coast. It is about 10-15 mins drive from Medano and 20-25 mins drive from Los Christianos and Playa de Las Americas, we did not find this any problem.
The grounds around the villa are very large, well kept and completely walled in. The heated pool was warm enough for us to swim and even the baby enjoyed short dips. There is plenty of room for sunbathing and as the wind on the island tends to change direction throughout the day there is always somewhere to sit in the sun shaded from the breeze. Anyone holidaying in Tenerife during winter needs to pack some warm clothes for the odd grey day or chilly evening.
The villa has been lived in and therefore the furniture and fittings are not brand new but everything worked well including the washing machine and dishwasher. The microwave did have a mind of its own but we managed to cope with it. There was plenty of crockery, pots and pans which were all quite new. There were 7 of us and a baby and we found the villa to be spacious with a very big kitchen living room that was ideal for a family holiday where we could all be together. The bedrooms were large and 4 out of 5 were en-suite the beds were all comfortable and the bed linen and towels (including beach) were all clean. There was always plenty of hot water. The weather was average for the time of year and we did use the oil filled radiators for a few hours on occasions but we had no problems heating the property. Lots of baby equipment including cot, highchair and playpen.
The internet works efficiently and the television is run through the internet with a huge range of channels available. This did not degrade the signal and on occasions there were a few people on the internet at the same time as the television was on. We had no problem with the lighting in the property and only one downstairs connecting bedroom does not have a window.
While the property is not 5 star in terms of having brand new facilities we felt it was excellent value for money considering the size and location. We found Mark the owner very approachable keeping in touch with us throughout our stay and sorting out promptly any issues we did have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size and facilities
Liked least: Could be a few more comfortable seats in lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny-Sus...
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rather a disappointing stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Rather disappointing stay

On arriving to the villa for our two week stay around Christmas and New Year the first impression was of unbearable cold inside of the house. The villa doesn't have central heating and those 2.5 heaters we had (the third one barely functioning) weren't enough to keep the house warm. The owner gave us two more heaters we asked for (albeit, two days later), only then we could stop sleeping fully dressed. We still had to abandon the master bedroom upstairs as the room was too big to be heated up to a survival condition with one heater only.

On first glance the villa seemed fairly cleaned but the kitchen cabinets inside had oil spills, bread crumbs, food residue, etc. The inside of the ovens, the trays as well as the barbecue outside looked like they had never been cleaned in their entire life. Both of two remaining frying pans were in appalling condition with a thick layer of soot and dirt combined with dust. The glasses, plates, bowls most of them hadn't been properly cleaned for our arrival either. Lots of the bowls and plates are chipped. All the soft furnishings are dusty, the blankets and pillows most likely have never been aired, leave alone dry cleaned. A good dry cleaning or airing at the very least of the bedding could potentially help with this sour odour hanging in most of bedrooms.

The dishwasher is in dire need to be updated. Unfortunately the owner is in a complete denial about this. For the time being the dishwasher seems to be serving the only purpose - to tick the box in the property description. The same applies more or less to the microwave. Both the dishwasher and microwave can be turned on which still doesn't mean they'll function properly.

Considering it was a winter stay it was a way too cold to dine al fresco. With the dining area inside non-existent we had to take our dinners at the breakfast bar, to make it even less comfortable the bar stools had no height adjustment so we looked more like birds hanging on tree branches. So much to enjoy the family Christmas dinner.

I most likely wouldn't notice it in summer but in winter the house definitely needs more lighting. None of the bedrooms downstairs (even though that have no windows) have ceiling lights, those ceiling lights that were in other areas were anyway too dim to read or even play games. The living room is illuminated only by the lights from the kitchen area which is not enough for winter.

As if a joke the bathrooms had light switch activated on entering. If there was no movement it would turn off within less than a minute. In order to brush the teeth, leave alone to take a shower and keep the lights on one has to do a bit of tap dancing every 30 seconds or so to keep the light on. It was excruciatingly annoying! I think if a villa called is a luxury one the timer should be set up for at least 5-10 minutes before allowing the light to go off. I personally would appreciate to choose for myself when to turn the light on and off.

The heated pool adds more irony to the story. We only rented this particular villa because of the heated swimming pool. During our two weeks stay not even once we could use the pool - its temperature being less than 20 degrees. By owner's own admission the sea is currently warmer than the pool.

A bit on the surroundings, not a complain this time, just for your information. The villa is 20-30 minutes from the beach of Las Americas or Los Christianos. About 1 hour from Santa Cruz and 1.5 hours from Loro Park. It's in the mountains and temperature is colder by about 5 degrees than that on the coast. There's also more wind and a bit more cloudy. It might be nice in summer, in winter one may like to bring more long-sleeved t-shirts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Cold inside of the villa and the fact it wasn't cleaned properly
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing