We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais L'Antico Convento
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the convent with our children aged 2 and 5 (but wish we could have stayed for longer). The old convent is in the most stunning surroundings with so many beautiful places to visit nearby that a week is not long enough. We experienced an authentic Italian cookery lesson, a fascinating visit to a bee keeper and alpaca farm, a tasty local breakfast every morning and a beautiful 'Dinner Under the Stars"; all arranged by the wonderful 'Antonietta' who is at the convent every day to provide friendly and invaluable help, advice and assistance in all matters. The swimming pool was perfect with a beautiful backdrop and was a great place to catch up with other guests, all of whom were friendly and helped to make our stay even more enjoyable; our boys were particularly taken with "the girls." The owners Roberto and Francesca were very welcoming and accommodating; they keep the gardens looking immaculate and introduced us to some of the tasty local beverages.
Whilst out and about the people we met were warm and friendly and in true Italian style the children were made to feel welcome.
We would love to return.

Room Tip: Apartment 10 had a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife, 2 year old daughter and I spent 10 days at the old monastery. The place is located in the hills in the countryside.The place is unique in the sense that it is unspoiled, quiet and surrounded by rustick nature. Also thanks to excellent service from Antonietta (reception), sublime hostship from Francesca and Roberto (owners) and a second to none neighbour family we had a wonderful holiday. We had the best restaurant experiences in the small mountain village Montone, located approx 25 kilometre away from the place. A beautiful spot with panoramic views - a place worth to visit. The downside about the place is, that you do not easily walk down to a nearby bar/restaurant to enjoy a glass of wine along with some antipasti. However this is also the quality about the place if you are looking for quietness and relaxation. /Clara, Mette & Christian from DK.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ctornvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have had an enjoyable time at l'Antico Convento. Perfect apartment, nice views, very friendly host and owner. Nice quite place in the hills of Umbrie.
Perfect arranged cooking lessons. Nothing is too much.
Our twin of 10 had a very nice time in the swimming pool.
We booked the breakfast, which was perfect with a lot of choices.
For dinner you have to go out, which will take approx 15 minutes to the closest restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marjanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I have just got back from staying at this convent and I almost don't want to recommend it so that it stays a secret. It was such a special place- remote, beautiful and romantic. The convent was on a hilltop surrounded by lavender, rosemary and wild flowers and all we could hear were crickets and birds. The apartment was clean and really prettily decorated and the walls were so thick it was lovely and cool. Antonietta was fantastic- so thoughtful and helpful with everything, and she brought us fresh bread each morning. The owner Roberto and his wife were friendly and kind, even giving us some Grappa one evening when we were eating out on the terrace looking over the Umbrian hills. We had a cooking lesson while we were there which was really fun- we made ravioli, linguine and gnocchi from scratch and then ate it under the stars afterwards. We can't wait to go back- thank you Antonietta and Roberto for a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic week at this Convent. The appartments are lovely, we stayed in the one with private evening sun terrace which was really good. the bed-room upstairs is an old church, so it is really a special experience. the convent is placed in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by hills, it is so beautiful. the pool and pool area is very nice, also the barbecue area. You can make nice excursions in the afternoons/evenings to lovely villages such as Perrugia, Asissi, Montone, Gubbio. we would love to go back, (2 adults and 2 kids). We were the only guests during the week we stayed and it was just perfect to have this very special place to yourself. Very sweet receptionist who recommended good restaurants and visits. Very friendly owners who visited while we were there.

Room Tip: some of the ground level appartments smelled bad. I don't remember which one. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariac0penhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umbertide hotels
9.2 km away
Castello Valenzino
Castello Valenzino
#8 of 25 in Umbertide
311 reviews
12 km away
Villa Valentina Resort & SPA
8.1 km away
Camere Sotto le Stelle
Camere Sotto le Stelle
#15 of 25 in Umbertide
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
Goccia di Luna Agriturismo
#13 of 25 in Umbertide
52 reviews
4.2 km away
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
Agriturismo Monte Acuto
#6 of 25 in Umbertide
58 reviews
8.3 km away
Agriturismo Alle Vigne di Pace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais L'Antico Convento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais L'Antico Convento

Address: Val Racchiusole 467, 06010, Umbertide, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Umbertide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Umbertide
Price Range: ₹ 5,504 - ₹ 11,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais l’Antico Convento dates back to the 12th century and is idyllically set amid sunflower fields and wooded hills on the border between Umbria and Tuscany. ‘This Old Convent’, as Relais l’Antico Convento is affectionately known, has been carefully restored using only authentic materials and decorated with an eye for elegance and functionality. Situated on a promontory overlooking the Val Racchiusole in the Comune of Umbertide, the crystal clear swimming pool and California Hot Tub complete the panorama. Relais l’Antico Convento is an unique place for an independent family or couple’s holiday. It is also ideal for special events such as weddings, family reunions, birthday parties, hen dos, stag parties, the list is endless. The location offers multiple opportunities for activities, from local walking trails which allow guests to explore the natural beauty that surrounds Relais l’Antico Convento t. How to do at Il Convento: cooking lesson, relaxing massage, wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Relais L'Antico Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais L'Antico Convento Umbertide, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing