We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Valentina Spa(Umbertide)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello Valenzino(Umbertide)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Collina dei Fagiani(Umbertide)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
45
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal attractionshostterraceassisigroundviewshill
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have had an enjoyable time at l'Antico Convento. Perfect apartment, nice views, very friendly host and owner. Nice quite place in the hills of Umbrie.
Perfect arranged cooking lessons. Nothing is too much.
Our twin of 10 had a very nice time in the swimming pool.
We booked the breakfast, which was perfect with a lot of choices.
For dinner you have to go out, which will take approx 15 minutes to the closest restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marjanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I have just got back from staying at this convent and I almost don't want to recommend it so that it stays a secret. It was such a special place- remote, beautiful and romantic. The convent was on a hilltop surrounded by lavender, rosemary and wild flowers and all we could hear were crickets and birds. The apartment was clean and really prettily decorated and the walls were so thick it was lovely and cool. Antonietta was fantastic- so thoughtful and helpful with everything, and she brought us fresh bread each morning. The owner Roberto and his wife were friendly and kind, even giving us some Grappa one evening when we were eating out on the terrace looking over the Umbrian hills. We had a cooking lesson while we were there which was really fun- we made ravioli, linguine and gnocchi from scratch and then ate it under the stars afterwards. We can't wait to go back- thank you Antonietta and Roberto for a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic week at this Convent. The appartments are lovely, we stayed in the one with private evening sun terrace which was really good. the bed-room upstairs is an old church, so it is really a special experience. the convent is placed in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by hills, it is so beautiful. the pool and pool area is very nice, also the barbecue area. You can make nice excursions in the afternoons/evenings to lovely villages such as Perrugia, Asissi, Montone, Gubbio. we would love to go back, (2 adults and 2 kids). We were the only guests during the week we stayed and it was just perfect to have this very special place to yourself. Very sweet receptionist who recommended good restaurants and visits. Very friendly owners who visited while we were there.

Room Tip: some of the ground level appartments smelled bad. I don't remember which one. I would recommend the 2 appartments with eveing sun terraces, and el Rey (?) and la Reina (less place.)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariac0penhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I intended to write this review months ago. What a lovely place to stay. Joan and her daughter took great care to ensure we knew how to drive to the property and gave us a wonderful run down of what to see and do in the area.

The apartments are located in a gorgeous, carefully renovated convent. Very clean, quiet and perfect for our family. We traveled with a 3 year old and a 5 year old and they had a ball. The pool is lovely, the outdoor hot tub was delightful and the space perfect for two little girls after a week spent on the streets of Rome. My husband didn't want to leave the grounds for two days, preferring to just swim and take in the incredible views.

I took the children for several day trips by myself without any trouble using Joan's instructions. We prepared several meals in the small kitchen rather than drive to a local village for each meal which was a treat as we had picked up some delightful supplies from local markets.

Much better than any hotel and a far more unique and memorable experience for our family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our fouth family holiday (2 adults, three children) in Umbria. Our first time at Il Convento, which I do not hesitate to recommend. We stayed in Il Re appartment. Good sized, clean, very comfortable beds. Lovely location and well kept old buildings. The pool is far nicer than Il Convento's photos suggest, with a good shaded area and lots of sunbeds/chairs. Joan is very helpful. I understand she is selling but staying on in a managerial capacity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews