We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth for what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not worth for what we paid”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have been hearing this luxury resort since long time ago. I got a good deal from internet and was so excited to go with my hubby for his birthday celebration. Everything seemed well upon our arrival, friendly receptionist and working staff, nice design lobby and warm greetings from staffs. Once we stepped into room, the strong wooden smell pulled me off and somebody left a box of cigarettes on the chair of balcony. The power of electricity didn't seem liked enough to support all the electric appliances. I on the hair dryer for 5 min, then it just suddenly turn off by itself with few lights. I have take out the key card and re-insert again to restart all the power supply. The resort is really far from melacca town and it is hardly to get restaurants nearby. The terrible thing is there are so much flies flying around the fruits, vegetables, bread and foods platters. This shouldn't happen to this so-called 5 start resort. The working staffs there don't really bother it also. I feel so disgusted to share my breakfast with so many flies. The staff doesn't seemed liked be well-trained. One of the staff just clear my plate without asking me when I haven't finished my foods. The most terrible breakfast buffet i have. For sure, I won't spend my second visit to this lousy resort with such a high price. Never ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ELsie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear kei0520_12,

Thank you once again for your valueable feedback. Regret to hear about your experience and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. As we do take all feedback seriously, these matters will be rectified soonest.

Here's wishing you a pleasant day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    161
    101
    53
    48
See reviews for
153
134
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Pro

1. Very nice architecture environment
2. Nice room feel you live in nature.
3. Nice swimming pool next to waterfall
4. The walkway is very beautiful for walking

Cons

1. Not wellcomming reception
2. You fell you are lonely and even if you call to room service, won't get what you need.
3. Toooooooo noisy room not well sound isolated because made by wood and you can hear next room and every one walking.
4. Noise from buggy car was soooo annoying even on midnight.
5. The breakfast was like 3 star hotel.
6. Far from Melaka town and tourism attraction

Overall:

The hotel is good for someone want scape from town and need some nature and relaxation.
The hotel looks new and very well architecture.
I stayed one night in hotel and then decided to check out for next night to stay inside Melaka.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Saman M,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback on your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to list it down too. Our team is currently working on the pros and cons which you have listed.

Just for your added information, you might want to opt for a relaxing massage at our in house spa on your next visit. We do hope to be able to be host to you once more.

Here's wishing you a good day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Upon on arrival at the lobby, all seemed well with polite receptionist and had a buggy sent us to our room.

Room was OK but had ants issues. Couldn't drain water from bathtub. Asked for extra towels and was shocked to be told that we had to pay RM30.00 for the use of an extra towel??? I had never had to pay for the use of an extra towel in any hotel!

Breakfast was horrid. There were flies everywhere landing on the cheese platter, bread platter, etc. The cook who was manning the egg station couldn't even cook a proper egg! We actually witness the cook shake his head and throw away his own cooked egg! It was that bad!I ended up having cereal - with warm milk!

We paid SGD240.00/RM600.00 for this bedroom - a much too high a price to pay for this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmatuerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Amatuer Traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us on your valueable feedback. Ou team have rectified these issues immediately after our Chefs met up with you personally on the day of your visit. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your kind feedback and aplogise for any shortcomings.

We would like to thank you for sharing your review once again and we wish you a pleasant day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayer Keroh hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

It is indeed a nice relaxing holiday destination. Beautiful room and toilet. Nice quiet back to nature environment. Very comfortable soft bedsheet and pillow. You just dont feel like getting out from it.However, improvement can be made for the room sound proof. Basically, if you are staying at the ground floor u can hear every single steps from the room upstairs. So, if there are kids upstair that dont sleep at night, you can kiss ur good night sleep.goodbye.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Herma Gan,

Thank you very much for your valueable feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. As for the sound proofing of the resort, extra measures will be taken when assigning guests to the units.

Have a pleasant day ahead and awaiting for your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed in this beautiful resort for 1 night. Unaware that malacca has such a hidden oasis right in the middle of the jungle.

I was awestruck by the architecture and the landscaping, the swimming pool and waterfall in the middle of the resorts.

A couple of disappointment for the management improvement though:

Firstly, upon arriving at our room, the TV was not working, and technician only fixed it in 3 hours, very unacceptable from a 5 stars hotel.

Secondly the sauna room was also down due to some maintenance.

Thirdly the buffet breakfast was a huge disappointment. The spread is cheap and unpleasant coming from 5 stars standard - cheap in ways like serving frozen food choices. I would give the food a mediocre 2.5 stars. During the breakfast, loud Malay pop songs were played, not to be offensive or discriminate, but somewhat nice soothing jazz would be a better option as many of the guests are not locals.

Last but not least, the restaurant next to the pool, I wonder what their crews are doing as the tables are not wiped clean and has a layer of grease on it - speaking of 5 stars it's not even there.

All in all, the environment and quality of the room and facilities score easily 5 stars but the quality of service, food and details is a low 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xtremesportx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear xtremesportx 123,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your valueable feedback.

Regret to hear about your experience with the resort during your stay and my team is working on the areas which you have raised. As we are dedicated to provide gracious service during your stay, I would like to extend my humble apologies for these unexpected challenges.

Lastly, we thank you for your patronage and looking forward to be host to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
13.2 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
13.7 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
12.4 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#2 of 7 in Ayer Keroh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
13.9 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Property: Philea Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 10,149
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Ayer Keroh, Melaka State

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing