We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay on weekdays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
irela
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay on weekdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Got a good deal over agoda, went over to celebrate wife's birthday along with our 3yr old and 3 month old boys, Easily accessible from the PLUS higway, check in was done in 5 minutes. Didnt have printed voucher with me but staff oblige and printed off my email account. Hassle free.
Once in the room(1st floor pavillion villa), we were impressed by the plushness and size. It was a bit warm on arrival which the aircon handled with ease. Welcoming fruits were a bit tasteless to my liking hence our 3 year old messed with it instead. Resort surroundings were excellent, feels like u re in a jungle than 30m away from major roads! It does tend to get a bit noisy at night with the carts zipping up and down, for the light sleepers they probably could hear the cars from the highway! Not for us though, we slept with very little problem. Pillows can be a bit on the hard side, mattress were firm and supportive.
Local attractions are closeby and accessed by car.For those drivers with poor sense of directions or do not have GPS/iPhones etc, get a taxi!You d do well to save yourself the headache.
Breakfast? 0830-1030, hence a bit too early for us with kids but we made it on both days. Spread were adequate with a mix of local and western cuisine. No real problem with flies on our visit. Huge man made carp lake mesmerized our 3 yr old for quite sometime, so we had a peaceful meal.
The pool? fantastic! not too deep, not too shallow. water was warm at 5pm so we swam for an hour. happy out...
the boys driving the carts and at the parking lot were friendly and able to answer all q's politely. ask them where the locals go for things like asam pedas, seafood etc and you wont be disappointed.

Overall? we had a good time. Our expectations were met. Groupon voucher meant we did not have to pay the full price as some disgruntled visitors did, particularly from the south where the standards are apparently better.I do not believe the ratings and reviews given are fair but who am i to judge? this place can be a bit pricey especially during the weekends but hey, if you know when to go, you ll end up happy like me! Peace!

Room Tip: 1st floor deep in resort( quiter, close to spa, far from pool) or else get a suite/villa if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xchalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear xchalee,

Greetings from Philea Resort and Spa Melaka!

Thank you very much for staying with us and our team members were really happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here.

We would like to sincerely thank you for the wonderful commendation which you have posted up and most importanly, we are happy to hear about your wonderful experience with us. Added to that, thank you for the great tips shared.

Here's wishing you a great day ahead and we are looking forward to be of host to you and your family in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    158
    100
    50
    47
See reviews for
150
132
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Before our arrival, my daughter was a little apprehensive about other comments regarding the spiders and flies. Of course there will be insects. Its all part of the such a setting!

I believe we stayed there at the right time being the school holidays are just over and the place is really quiet and you get the full attention of the staff.

Check in is a breeze and we were driven in a buggy to our rooms. Rooms are nice, clean and size is like any other deluxe hotel rooms. There's a bathtub and separate shower with full set of toiletries including comb, shaver, toothbrush, etc. like any other 5 stars hotel would provide.

We arrived right after noon and after checking out the rooms we went for lunch at the Cravo Carvo restaurant. Had the hi-tea buffet which was really nice with large selection of food. It could even pass off as a lunch buffet!

Had the concierge arrange us a transport for 6 persons to town (Jonker Street) and on another day to the mall for some shopping and food.

Breakfast selection and quality was as good as any other 5 stars hotel and nope there were no houseflies.

Special mention must be made of the pool. It is definitely in a class of its own. The waterfall feature and the greenery around it makes the poolside a nice place to laze or suntan.

Will go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Jodarl,

Thank you for choosing Philea Resort and Spa and we are delighted to receive such a wonderful commendation from you.

We are so happy to hear that your family and yourself had a great time in Philea Resort and Spa. We sincerely thank you for the great comments and looking forward to be of host to you and your family once again in the not so distant future.

Here'w wishing you a great day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed in Philea recently to celebrate new years day on 31st Dec 2011. Initially I read other reviews on trip advisor and was hesitant to stay because of the mixed reviews. But decided to go ahead and try. It turned out to be a disappointment and painful experience - paid almost SGD 200 for one night. Painful because its not worth the money. decided not to extend.

When checked into the room, it was quite dusty and bathrooms was not thoroughly cleaned with stains in several places . The electronic lock in the room wasnt even working.

While taking bath, water in the shower section collects at your feet due to poor drainage. Feels quite yucky as the water remained stagnant .. Feels very uncomfortable having water surrounding your feet while taking bath isnt it?. Notified the reception, and they responded that its normal ; and advised to give it some time to drain out. This response for a 5 star resort @ almost SGD 200 per night?

There seemed to be very lax about outsiders coming in to use the pool also. Suspect some people are not staying in the hotel. They could easily walk in through the reception, go down the staircase, walk pass the small roundabout and then proceed to the pool.

During breakfast , flies buzzing around the food and very poor choices. lack of variety and the eggstations, waffle , pancakes stalls were very very very slow and long long queues.

Philea resort stated on the internet to be a privilege of peace and tranquillity . Not quite true. During the afternoon, I was sitting outside the balcony reading. And there were Philea housekeeping staff that were cracking jokes, chat loudly, creating a racket ; oblivious to the guests around. They would shout loudly without any care for the guests?? And the gardeners were making loud noises and even tried to climb a tree nearby trying to pick some fruits.

Overall, my experience of the stay here has been quite a disappointment. When one spends that kind of money to stay in a hotel, one would expect a service level , quality and standard that matches the amount paid.

Not here. Not in Philea.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank da c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Dear J for Jason,

Thank you for taking your time in writing this review highlighting your experience at Philea Resort and Spa Melaka. We had a meeting this morning with our team pertaining to these issues you have addressed. Our team is analysing these matters seriously.

We sincerely hope that you will provide us the opportunity to regain your confidence and trust in us. Once again, thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayer Keroh hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We paid about SGD210/room night for a stay at the resort. First impression of the resort is nice as it is full of greenery and as our car stopped at the hotel frontage, there is someone attending to us and helped us with our luggages.

Next, we moved on to check-in our rooms (we have booked for 2 rooms). It took the front desk personnel to sort out the reservations which was booked through a 3rd party website.
And the gentlemen which attended to us wasnt very fluent in his English proficency which hinders further on the check-in procedures. And a funny question that the front desk ever asked was "paid"? Of coz we did before we received the vouchers. My concern is what if we didnt? Then, we could simply says we did and they will not charge us? Anyway, another lady took over and she told us our rooms are not ready (we arrived after 2PM, the official check-in time) and please help ourseleves with the welcome drink at the centre of the lobby. As I was travelling with my 2 years old daughter. Hence, I was curious to know how long do we expect to wait. I could see the impatience expression of her's and she said "Room not ready, please help yourself with the welcome drink and take a seat".--she simply shut me up!

Fortunately, we managed to get our rooms after 30 minutes of waiting. Due to high occupancy during our stay; we were assigned to a 4 rooms log house at the end of the resort. Thus, it was quite a distance to walk to the resort lobby or for breakfast. however, to the pool is still fine. takes about 5 mins walk only. And the pool is clean and the cascading waterfall made it even beatiful. However, I noticed there were no attendant near the pool. The resort simply lay the pool towels at the side and you help yourself with it. It seems like the general public could also access the pool as nobody cares.

The room is nice. It has all the basic amenities like comb, shavers, toothbrushs, bath gel etc. The batik slippers provided in room also also interesting. They have it in 3 sizes, Daddy, Mummy and Baby. (Size 41, 39 and 32). Bed and below is comfy too. However, the -ve side is the room is generally dirty. After walking bare footed for awhile, i noticed my foots are black. And the stickers (from the slippers) were found on the floor too. There were at least 3 "size 41" stickers found and it gave me the impression that the room were previously occupied by at least 3 different groups but the housekeeping did not clean the floor at all. My daughter dropped her toy under the bed, and we found lots of rubbish such as biscuit box while trying to retrieve her toy.

Even the bathroom, you could also see the stain/dust at the sides near the bath tub. Hence, during our stay, we did not use the tub at all. Our travel partner at the other room have a safe that is ran out of battery. And shortly upon their check-in to room, the Engineering team came by to inform them that there is problem with their tap and need repair now. It gave us the impression that they knew it was damaged yet they dont take the initiative to repair. They are trying to laze around until someone check-in; and before the guest complain they repair!

Breakfast has quite a nice spread of food. Though not all are delicious but still edible. Replenishment of food was slow. The service was slow too. guests have to queue about 10 minutes for pancake/waffle, omlette counters. Flies are everywhere too which made the breakfast experience an unpleasant one. I managed to have a small chat with a in-house guest at the resort, who is also a local there. Quoing what he said "This resort is definately not worth the money. For RM500, it is alot of money to us Malaysia and we can get a pent house or even suite room in KL. And if we stay in suite, we get freshly squeezed juices for breakfast. And not these concentrated ones served here".

Location of the resort is far from the city. About 20-30 minutes drive to jonker street / shopping district. However, it is very near to the zoo and butterfly museum. Hence, the location is only good if you just wanting to relax after check-in and not do any shopping.

My personal ponion about ths resort is the resort is a nice place but the service is lousy. The people who run the resort have no passion. Which, I hoped that this could be improved. If the staff take ownership of their job, i believed most of the negative points i mentioned could be avoided. And lastly, will i come back again? Most probably nope.
The resort is good for a 1 time visit to a eco-friendly theme resort. However, i agree it doesnt worth the money!

Room Tip: If you have the money to spare, book the suite room instead as the noise level could be bad if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Irisangel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Dear IrisAngel 13,

Thank you for taking your time in writing this review highlighting your experience at Philea Resort and Spa Melaka. We had a meetingwith our team pertaining to the issues you have addressed. Our team is looking into these matters seriously and will look into ways in rectifying them.

We sincerely hope that you will provide us the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence and trust in us. Once again, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back again to our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

As part of our Christmas present to each other, the wife and I decided to take a trip down to the Philea Resort in Malacca. This year has been an exciting one for us as I have decided to un-padlock the wallet and try as many hotels and resorts as we can now that we are living in Malaysia.

The pictures of the Philea looked good on the resort website and was a bit different to our usual choice of resorts, both of us were excited to be staying in what would be our first Eco-Resort. Once we arrived, initial impressions were very good, pretty much what we had expected with lots of wood wherever you looked and good old Malaysian hospitality. We stayed in one of the Philea Suites, a detached log cabin that had a very nice 'Luxury' feeling throughout. The bed was very comfortable, again loads of wood everywhere, the bathroom had a first for us, a free-standing bath right in the middle of the room with a TV built on the wall – very nice.

The big stand-out feature at the resort is the pool, it gave a bit of a jungle feeling with the plants and large waterfalls around the sides splashing down into the large pools. As odd as it seems, we never took a swim during our stay preferring to visit the Butterfly and Reptile Sanctuary next door (which was great fun), eating all of the lovely food and lounging about in the suite.

During our stay we ate at a number of places at the Philea Resort, best place for us was the Cravo Cravo which served really good quality food at pretty reasonable prices. The staff were polite and friendly and we must mention the Chill Out Bar and Karaoke Rooms, places that kept us occupied until bedtime.

I've read the reviews from other people that have been here that didn't have the fun time we had, I guess it's down to each persons expectations. We didn't really have any expectations and we ended up having a really nice time. It did rain while we were there which literally put a slight dampener on things! And a bonus for us was the occupancy level was quite low (probably due to the weather) so we managed to have a nice quiet time without annoying and screaming kids running everywhere. You can tell we don't have any kids!

I can't comment on what the noise levels would be with someone staying above you as we had a detached suite, my advice would be to either get something on the first floor or a suite like ours. Unless you have experience of Eco-resorts don't have any expectations and have a good time like we did!

Room Tip: Some people have said that ground floor rooms can be noisy with people walking around above, I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corporateangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileaMelaka, Manager at Philea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Dear Corporate Angel,

First of all, thank you and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Thank you very much for your commendation. We are happy to hear about your experience and great to know that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we have enjoyed serving you.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recognizing our team's effort and we look forward to be of service to you once again.

Here's wishing you a great day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayer Keroh
13.2 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
12.6 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
13.7 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 166 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#2 of 7 in Ayer Keroh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
12.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philea Resort & Spa

Property: Philea Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 2940 Jalan Ayer Keroh | Off Jalan Plaza Tol, Ayer Keroh 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Ayer Keroh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ayer Keroh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,527 - ₹ 9,544
Hotel Class:5 star — Philea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanning over 15 acres, strategically located in the fast-developing Ayer Keroh in Melaka, Philea Resort and Spa is an extraordinary resort built utilising natural resources, including 8,000pieces of disused railway sleepers for the staircase and more than 6,000 tons of marble from Perak as block fencing. Recycled materials from shipwrecks are used as furniture in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Philea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philea Resort And Spa
Philea Hotel Ayer Keroh
Philea Resort & Spa Ayer Keroh, Melaka State

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing