We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bliss Resort(Bamburi)
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahama Hotel(Bamburi)
US$ 80
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 222
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 166
US$ 146
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 353
US$ 275
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
247
225
80
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
225
80
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswing barindian oceanbamburi beachmain barbeach holidayhalf boardpeace and quietstandard roommosquito netanimation teamscuba divingseafoodthe food is greatfantastic holidaysafariafricamonkeys
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Great accommodation and staff were awesome plus the facilities were awesome. Location was also good by the beach. Rooms have been renovated accordingly. Food was awesome (Buffet) and quite a variety to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leonorah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Leonorah,
we appriciate your positive comments very much and are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Next time please also visit our Severin Safari Camp in Tsavo West Nationalpark, easy accessable by the new Madaraka Express.

With sunny greetings from the beautiful Indian Ocean,
your Severin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This is already the second time when we are at Severin Sea Lodge. The level of the hotel itself alongside with work of the management team is awesome and amazing. As the organizer of different events all over the world my first priority is making my guests feel at home. This requirement is met at Severin Sea Lodge. while planning our second visit to Mombasa I didn't doubt a single moment which hotel to choose. Special and separate thanks to sales and Marketing Manager Caroline who is a real professional and easy to work with. This hotel is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Lesya,
thanks a lot for your great feedback.
We were very pleased to welcome you in our Severin Sea Lodge and will forward your comments to our colleagues.
We are sending you sunny greetings from Bamburi Beach,

Your Severin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

All of the rooms in this fabulous hotel were either rondavel huts, in the Africa tradition, or small blocks of rooms.
All rooms are light and and cool, they all have a view of the sea, or of the swimming pool area which is 100 metres from the beach.
In the evenings they had acts or live bands which could be watched from the room window for those who were not keen on sitting around the pool.
The main bar is circular in construction with a thatched roof and it seats around 40 people, with tables and chairs situated around the perimeter of the tiled area. There is a good bar menu to choose from if you choose to eat in this area (alfresco) and not in the dining room.
The breakfast buffet gives a wide choice of hot and cold foods, fruits, juices etc and the serving staff are always smiling and very friendly and helpful.

You can swim in either of the two large pools, or in the sea, which is around 21 degrees.
You can have camel rides along the beach, or explore Mombasa in a 'tuk tuk' scooter cab.
A wonderful all round experience.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Rick S,

Thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor and your kind words.
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you again soon!

Your Severin Sea Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

It is a nice place to be but they really should do some maintainance in the rooms. Tap was leaking, phone didn't work, airco didn't work. After telling them about it, they fixed it in a day. The staff is really nice.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank LaetitiaGrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear LaetitiaGrave,

We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for having stayed at Severin Sea lodge.

We are very obliged that you appreciated our staff and the Hotel. We are however regretful for the hiccup encountered during your stay and we have noted your concern on the maintenance review. We have passed the message to the respective department to always ensure that everything is in order. We value your feedback and do all our best to resolve the issues that may cause inconvenience to our customers.

We do assure you that, you will not experience any such inconvience during your next stay and we shall ensure that you have a memorable encounter here at Severin Sea lodge.

We would love to see you back in Severin Sea lodge to experience the great change.

Once again thank you for choosing Severin Sea lodge and for your valuable feedback.

Best regards,
James Boho
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The staff are very helpful and friendly. I especially enjoyed the variety of food offered at every meal. It's a beachfront property with an amazing swing bar right next to the beach, a gym, two pools and other useful amenities. Definitely recommend it for anyone looking to stay in Bamburi/Shanzu.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Natalie,
thanks a lot for your kind review.
Our hotel team appriciates your time very much! Indeed our swing bar next to the beach is one of the most popular places in our hotel.
Sunset there is an unfortegable experience.

We are looking foward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sunny greetings, your Severin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews