We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
18
13
12
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
13
12
5
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Complex with bungalows, apartments and hotel that has old fashioned charm. This is a place to stay a little longer. If you rent monthly the price is reasonable. It used to be $ 500(overwinter that cannot be compared to 2 weeks or so), now tourism is lower so you could get it cheaper. Hotel side has breakfast, it's nice even tough every day the same and the chairs are for anorectic. Or I'm getting fattier with age.

It's really great that housekeeping aren't yelling in the morning and waking up elder gentleman who is trying to get better from Club Casablanca Tropican / Dropan experience. I heard rumors that EU has cattle marked 3 million euros to destroy Dropan cultural history.
Comlex has three swimming pools. So when on if them has distraction you can move to the next one. And of course you can go to the beach.

On of my favourite hobbies is feeding monkeys and getting them drunk. Stole bread form breakfast or buy some. Wet it in brandy or whisky and older male monkeys enjoy it happily so that leaving balcony is groggy. Tipsy alfa monkey takes his herd to raid easily the next door resort. Opposite of the hotels balconies there are cross stick huts where are a lot of open hanging places with peoples stuff all over the place. Good place for a monkey herd. Bungalow manager once came raging that white man is persuading three dozen of monkeys on to his customers. The next day I bought three times more mangos and bread. I don't like when bungalow customers kids are shouting during my evening brandy on the balcony.

Apartment side has small restaurant where the food is okay, all tough meals are small. With kindness, bribery and blackmailing you can try to get bigger sizes. Pool bar on this side has the evil snake, loud TV, which will be turned quiet if you say it appropiately. The apartment building has a very good quality gym in down stairs.

Always check the price before you go there. Sometimes weak minded Narobian gets ripped off. It's a good forth.

This is a good place to relax. Alone or with friends.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank silverhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Tried 4 rooms until we found one that we could accept.

List of issues

Wood worm in wardrobes & kitchen units
Dirty sheets & beds
TV very old & unreliable
No internet in room (had to join others in reception)
Chambermaids regularly screaming & shouting to each other along corridors
Hardly any cooking facilities
No hot water for days (No water at all for one day)

Basically, the place needs new ownership & investment.... No really the staffs fault, although a few were totally apathetic to these issues.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room near chambermaids room, its so loud with their screaming at 7am...
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Solidly average place. The price was good though, so no regrets as it was a decent value.

Highs:
- price
- breakfast was actually pretty good
- good location
- lots of space
- Quiet

Lows
- AC wasn't very effective and too loud to have on while sleeping, so hot nights
- bed was old and not very comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeldonWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I have stayed at this hotel many a times and I find it very comfortable and superb. Tireless service from the management and staff. A very professional, courteous and
a friendly service away from the stress of the world. Sun, Sea, Sand and good food. The Oberoi family are very down to earth and accommodating.
Kuldip tours organise all your travel requirements right form touchdown to takeoff.`

Room Tip: Great rooms near the beach
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Oh what a wonderful experience on Safari we had over three days.
We chose Kuldip touring company after a recommendation and chose a three day personalised itinerary as we wanted to tailor our experience whilst in Kenya.
The recommendation had highlight the difficulty in choosing an operator not only with a wealth of experience but one that had long term experienced drivers, that are trained in not only driving but sensitive to the needs of tourists and more importantly the environment of the safari parks to be visited.
We especially wanted a small company that was experienced and personable, which is exactly what we got.
It turned out that they were the first tour company in Mombasa and whilst in their office I commended on an old black and white photo on the wall and was told that it was taken in 1958 by our agent Ishi's Grandfather.....I like family business....I like them because they don't try to impress you, knowledge is their bedrock so you just get good service.
Now the tourist industry has been severely effected all across Kenya by the terrorist attack in Nairobi in 2013 so it's a relief that businesses like these are still in existence and I'm glad to support them.
The safari was remarkable, I've never seen nature on this scale, this close and on such a scale.....the two parks we visited Tsavo East national park on day one, staying at Satao Park lodge for the first night, toured the park early on the following morning and then traveled up to Amboseli National park on day two and staying at the Serena lodge for the second night. Early morning safari the next morning and then travelled back via Taita lodge for lunch before heading back to Mombasa.
Now:
We didn't see one elephant....we saw over 40 the first day in Tsavo and over 50 the second day in Amboseli. Countless zebras, cape buffalos, Gnus, impalas, Thomson gazelles, emu's hogs etc.
Then the rarer species....cheetahas....we didn't see one....we saw two!!!!! Giraffes we saw seven on day one and nine on day two. Which made us feel very lucky.....but that wasn't all....we also saw Hyenas...13 of these in Amboseli, snarling, foul smelling beasts. Which only left the lions.....and if you've been on safari you know you have to be luck.
The parks are huge, Tsavo is 28,000 sq km, Amboseli 8,000 sq km. this is one of the reasons you need a good driver, knowledge and an ability not to get you killed or to bore you with unnecessary talking...lol.
It was the morning of day two after setting out early that our driver spotted a pride of lions three hundred meters off the road....we watched them for 15 minutes until that disappeared into the undergrowth...it wasn't close but it was a pride of 10...beautiful lions.
The driver Abba then drove on and fortunately we spotted another pride of 9. They were following Zebras and for over half an hour we watch with baited breath the excitement of Mother Nature up close.

Good luck with your Safari!!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank daivdbushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews