We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace in the valley”
other travellers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clive B
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace in the valley”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

what a spot, glorious views from the shack with a well appointed holiday home. No Wi Fi but mobile reception was just about available! Cleanliness was the only disappointment; with sizable cobwebs in various places in the lounge area and the paintwork in the main room/stair area in need of a lick to make it feel clean. the small garden area is lovely but hadn't been tended for some time so was overgrown. the main double bed very comfortable, the children's bunk beds only had one made up on arrival and we had to hunt for bedding and when my 10 year old got in found chewing gum on the bed frame! all this aside I would stay again, its charming and very convenient for all the walks and cycling locally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
...housekeeper has been informed...normally she is very good and doesn't tend to miss anything...paintwork is re-done regularly but people inevitably bump cases against the walls in the stairwell...we do our best. Thanks for the otherwise good review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
2 reviews
“So many good things to say, so little space!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want the ultimate in relaxation this is it. If you don't like the countryside this is not it!

The cottage is beautifully appointed, tastefully finished, warm and comfortable and set within some stunning peak district scenery. For us one bonus was a lockable bike shed and of course there are many great cycle trails in the area. Another was being within 20 - 25 minutes walking distance of Hayfield, so dinner at the local pub without those drink drive issues.

Treat yourself and share some time with the sheep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The wet room was excellent and the views were stunning.
Liked least: The WiFi is intermittent at best but hey it was supposed to be a get away from it all break.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sheep Shack for three nights in mid November and had an amazing time. When we arrived the heating (including underfloor heating) was on and the house was very clean, tidy and cosy. We were very impressed! We immediately made use of the log burner with the logs provided and were able to pick from a large selection of DVD's and films on hard drive. We had a particularly rainy three days but did not mind as the house was lovely to be in. Views from all windows were also fantastic. Overall we can not fault the stay and would highly recommend. We are already looking forward to returning next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reema S
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, great cottage !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at the Sheep Shack end of June for 4 nights on a very last minute booking and what a great find it was... beautiful location with walks starting right at the door step.
Cottage is very cozy and extremely well equipped with top quality appliances.
The only thing I couldn't find was a pair of oven gloves ..... Michael to make note!!
We were also extremely lucky with the weather last week week.
Would definitely book again. Michael also gave us a tour of Harolds farm, the larger holiday rental opposite the sheep shack and that was beautiful too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for the great review. Don't know what the housekeeper has done with the oven gloves. New gloves and some more kitchen utensils on the way this weekend! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry A
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SPICEWORLD! Beautiful converted grade 2 listed barn in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from our second stay at The Sheep Shack and are already eagerly anticipating our next trip! The barn is excellently furnished with all the amenities you would need for a week long stay. It' s a great opportunity for salarymen like myself and my friends to get away from the busy metropolis' of London and Lowestoft. The walking options locally are ample and the pretty little village of Hayfield is also within reach.

Slight criticism would just be of the kitchen frying pan could be replaced as well as a few more cleaning utensils. But this is so minor and making these changes would enter the property into a shakra-like state of supremacy.

I would give 6 stars if I could, I almost just want to selfishly keep this world class shack a secret, but it would be an insult to all the hard work Michael has obviously put in, in making it such a comfortable and homely place to stay.

Best wishes and happy holidaying.

Ben Coleman and the lads

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing