We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Living room
Living room
Small dining area
Small dining area
Kitchen
Logburner
View from living room window
Arched windows
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
View from garden
Summerhouse
View towards Kirk Yetholm
View from summerhouse
Gypsy Palace circa 1890
Cheviot Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Yetholm, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon B
1 review
“Great cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in October 2016

Came for a long weekend, walking eating and drinking in the area.... this was a gem of a find. To be able to come back to a warm cosy cottage at the end of the day was a real treat. Well worth it, and we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage, lovely location but in need of a good clean.”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Quirky cottage in a lovely location for walking.
The cottage had most things needed for a short stay and was comfortable. Unfortunately the internet didn't work the whole time we were there which made it impossible to check tide times, opening times and weather forecasts etc. That could be forgiven but we also wanted to discuss the cleanliness of the cottage with the owner and after trying all 3 telephone numbers and leaving messages it became clear that they had no intention of responding.
The cottage was in need of a clean in some areas: skirting boards, bath panels etc looked like they had not been cleaned in ages. This lack of attention to detail made the cottage feel a bit grubby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2018
Thanks for your review Wendy. Unfortunately we were away on holiday in Spain and didn't receive your messages until after you had left. Its a pity you didn't give us time to respond but never mind. The cottage had just undergone some building work and I'm guessing that the resulting mess wasn't properly cleared up as thoroughly as we would have liked.. Its something we have now put right with a deep clean. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the cottage so I'm sorry that you had cause to complain.

Steve & Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith C
2 reviews
“Cute, cozy cottage - great gettaway”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely location on edge of village and on Pennine Way. Full of character and history, but fully equipped and comfortable. Pub in the village and shop nearby. Great location for quiet holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky little cottage”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found this on the internet and liked the history of the cottage and its location. It is a lovely little compact cottage at the edge of the Pennine Way and the village is really friendly and an excellent location for exploring the Scottish borders.
There is a log burner which we didn't need to use as we had a good week weather-wise and there is oil central heating.
The views from the cottage are stunning and it is a walkers' paradise. The Borders Hotel serves hearty meals to die for and there is a general store in Town Yetholm, just a short walk or drive away. If you want to get away from it all this is ideal.
The bedding is high quality and feather duvets and pillows so beware if you are allergic and let the owners know.
My only suggestion would be to bring some comfy slouchy outside chairs/deckchairs if you are there in summer and you want to relax with a book in the garden. There is the usual garden table and chairs and there is a summer house but if you like to sunbathe a little you might want some comfy chairs/loungers if they will fit in your car - definitely worth taking.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thanks for the review Sharon - glad you enjoyed your visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosni
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Tiny house with great character and charm”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The upsides: the Gypsy Palace has lots of character and charm. There are a lot of very nice touches, such as the stained glass windows and other ornaments throughout the house. There are several books in the bookshelf at the top of the stairs that detail the historical significance of the Palace and Kirk Yetholm. It was gratifying to see the house prominently featured in these works and also on the historical markers in nearby Town Yetholm.

The house is situated in a quiet neighborhood directly on the Pennine Way, a National Trail which extends from Edale in the Midlands of England 267 miles north to end in Kirk Yetholm. During our stay we saw occasional hikers and horseback riders making their way down the trail. The house is within easy walking distance of two pubs, the Border and the Plough, both of which have a fine selection of Scotch whisky and excellent food.

The house was very clean upon our arrival, and the owner thoughtfully provided coffee and tea to enjoy after our journey from the Highlands. There are a couple of bicycles in the "Lodge" (out building) for guests who would like to take a ride along the Pennine Way or to town.

The downsides: The house is pretty tiny-- while in theory it may sleep four as advertised, practically the space is best suited for no more than two adults and one or two small children-- four adults would most likely not be comfortable with the sleeping or living arrangements.

The photos in the listing do a great job of showing the highlights of the place; however, they don't really give an accurate idea of the size and layout. The dining room, for instance, doubles as the foyer of the front doorway, and while there are four chairs included, it is really not something more than two people could use comfortably (even two is a squeeze unless you are quite petite). The main bedroom and second bedroom are attached, so you must walk through one to get to the other-- this is fine for e.g. a honeymooning couple, or parents in the main bedroom with one or two small children in the second bedroom, but less intimate groups (e.g. three or four adult friends) would probably desire more spacious accommodations.

All in all, we found the Gypsy Palace to be a cozy and well-situated place for a couple or small family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the place featured on historical plaques in Town Yetholm; proximity to local pubs
Liked least: Space was smaller than we expected from the photos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Hello and thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and particularly pleased that you appreciated the history of the house.
I agree that the cottage is quite small (thats part of its charm!) and is much better suited to smaller groups such as two adults or perhaps a couple and two small children.You're right in that four adults would just struggle for space so we prefer not to take bookings of this size.
Sounds like you had a good time though and you would always be most welcome should you ever want to visit again.
Steve & Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing