We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
17
20
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
20
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs park gate core area wildlife experience gaur jeep bears tiger camp jungle tadoba land luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Tiger Trails is so close to the Tadoba reserve that even the biggest of animals treat the grounds as part of their territory, as the live webcam link to the watering hole on the estate can attest (not to mention the photograph of a leopard sleeping on one of the porches). The very extensive and beautiful grounds give a lot of scope for daytime walks in between game drives in Tadoba reserve. Aside from its splendid location, this lodge is unique as being the vision of one man who has developed the estate and accommodation to highest ecological standards. Comfortable en suite rooms with all mod cons are arranged in three adjacent two-storey buildings, one of which also houses the dining area and a courtyard where drinks and outside meals can be enjoyed around a fire, as well as cooking demonstrations (as photographed). The food was totally outstanding - delicious, varied and locally sourced - and catered personally for the tastes and needs of individual travellers in our group. There are separate cooks and kitchens for veg and non-veg food. The service is ideal, efficient but unobstrusive while the furnishings are basic but very comfortable.
Decidedly uncommercial (it would be impossible to find without detailed instructions), Tiger Trails is more like a family home in atmosphere and our group thought it was the best (albeit not the most luxurious) of the four stays on our tour.
I cannot speak for the cost as it was part of an all inclusive tour.
Tadoba itself was also the most enjoyable of three reserves we visited, with magnificient sightings of tigers and sloth bears among others. The lodge keep a register of tigers (by their markings) and one that we saw was new to them, so our photos were added to the collection.
Most highly recommended as an experience that is more than just an excellent place to stay.

Room tip: I had the outside room by the courtyard in the main building and thought it was the most convenient as well as quite light and spacious.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our visit to Tiger Trails was a wonderful one. My emails were promptly answered and loads of information sent to help me plan this trip. Very responsive team. Not set up for credit card payment though, so a bit of an issue getting payment to them, though they were patient and helpful in this regard.

The lodge is perfectly situated to the park entrance and the driver that took us in the park, accomodating and very experienced. Even if we were strange, non-obsessed-tiger fans. That being said, he was so good at anticipating the tigers movements and positioning the car for great shots, we couldn't have asked for a better guide. He was also very good at finding birds and other animals that we expressed interest in seeing.

We were the only guests visiting at this very hot time of the year, so had our pick of the rooms. The owner also kindly opened up other rooms above us, so we could cross over to each others balconies, to sit out at night without venturing from the rooms. An important consideration when tigers and other predators are know to frequent the lodge's vast grounds.

The owner was very accomodating and friendly. The rooms were very large, basic and clean, though quite smelly with mothballs everywhere. Might just be because the lodge wasn't full. The food was good and plentiful. No ice, which wasn't great in the heat, but certainly not a big problem. Probably more of a problem keeping energy going sufficiently to keep drinks cold and ice available in the heat.

Because of the heat, we were not fully able to experience the maachans and lookouts of the property, so will definitly want to go back to take advantage of these unique features.

The park itself is not easy to access, get permits, etc. Especially for a foreigner. It is also not very well serviced yet with lodges that take care of this for you. Tiger Trails took care of it all for us seemlessly. Would definitley look forward to returning.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LisaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed in Tiger Trails - Tadoba with my colleagues and freinds. This is nice place to stay in Tadoba with basic amenities. Food is really good. One can enjoy the surroundings when he is in lodge. Staff is friendly and always ready to help you. Thanks for Mr. Amrut Dhanwatey for providing such a nice place to stay in wilderness. Definitely going to visit again…

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SwatiChaubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Tiger Trails at Tadoba is a family run forest lodge - its location is very good (just 5 mins from the closest park gate) and the lodge is spread out spaciously. They have solar units to be self sufficient in an area that faces frequent power blackouts. When we visited the place, it was mid summer with the mercury over 48 degrees - the dry heat hits you hard so you must go prepared with adequate headgear to protect from sunstroke. But this is positively the best time of the year if you want to see the tiger!

The rooms at the lodge are spacious though when we visited they had no ACs, only air coolers - not very efficient in the blistering heat. Hence it was nearly impossible to get good sleep, and one would imagine for the expensive rates they charge they would install more efficient cooling - they did install ACs subsequent to our visit though. The food was simple and well prepared and the service was reasonably good - the cold towels and iced spice drinks after safaris was quite refreshing. The owners have good knowledge of the reserve and habitat - a plus point.

Go to Tadoba for the experience of assured tiger sightings (May is the best time) - we were able to see tigers (and sometimes tiger cubs) leisurely relaxing in the waterholes practically every morning and evening during our 4 days there - each event more exhilarating than the other. There's variety of wildlife apart from the tiger of course, including wild dogs, sloth bear, lots of deer etc, sometimes the deer visit the lodge at night since its so close to the gates - we even saw a leopard kill at the edge of the lodge in the morning after listening to animal calls all night!

All in all, a great experience and a must visit if you are into tiger tracking. The lodge itself needs to do more to give you value for your money - if they run it more professionally it should do much better.

Room tip: If in May, pick a room on the ground floor
Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dips09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Spent 4 nights her, and overall we quite enjoyed our stay. The lodge is ideally situated just 2 minutes from its own entrance to the Tadoba Park, and the rooms were very spacious, with A/C and hot water for showers (both intermittent). The food was excellent, all freshly prepared, and they are also happy to cater for those who prefer unspiced or plain food.
The lodge is run by Aditya, an excellent and enthusiastic naturalist, who was happy to show us round and explain their plans for the lodge and its grounds. Game drives with him were very good, and he clearly loves being in the Park and showing it to guests. The main problem at the lodge is that EVERYTHING revolves around him, and indeed very few of the staff speak any english. This meant that when you needed anything (the electricity turned on or the water reconnected for the room) you had to go and find him (the "bar" staff did not even understand our request for a beer, and had to fetch Aditya). The language barrier was mildly inconvenient in the lodge, but a major problem in the Park itself as the Lodge driver/naturalist(?) also spoke virtually no english, and seemed convinced that the ONLY animal any of us wanted to see was tiger. This meant speeding past various deer/gaur/wild boar on our way to a corner of the park where someone had apparently heard an alarm call (it was 2 days before I realised that not all Spotted deer are blurry!). We then would sit staring into the undergrowth fo up to 2 hours waiting for a tiger to emerge (which despite numerous long waits never happened). On one occasion, while waiting at the very picturesque lake for a tiger to appear from an area where someone had heard more calls, a sloth bear turned up and headed down the road. We could not make our driver understand that we wanted to see the sloth bear (several other drivers did move, and our friends got a good extended view) and so we had to just sit and stare at the undergrowth for another hour, without success. The only tiger sighting occurred when we were racing (and I mean racing0 out of the Park to make the 6pm deadline, and a male tiger was just disappearing over the bank by the side of the road. We did get to see a leopard in the Park, but unfortunatly our overiding memory of Tadoba is of either sitting with many other jeeps and cars(Tadoba allows self-drive day trippers, who career around in the most unsuitable vehicles, and have no understanding of the rules or etiquette regarding wildlife watching) waiting for something to appear, or travelling at high speed from one bunch of undergrowth to another, pulling up in a cloud of dust, and then sitting there for ages.
The other downside of Aditya being in sole charge happened when he was called away halfway through our stay. His father arrived to "cover" for him, but it must be said the whole atmosphere changed, and it became even more difficult to get things done.
Overall, I believe that Tadoba Park has some great wildlife (we did not see as much as we would have liked, but that is partly down to luck0 and this lodge has huge potential. But they need to run it more professionally, and it has to be said, if they are catering for Western tourists they do need staff who have basic english, especially the driver/guides (our driver was not the only one who could not communicate with his guests). I would suggest that Aditya employs a lodge manager, to free him up to spend more time with the guests and their wildlife viewing.

Eric

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ERIC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews