We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
98
43
16
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
43
16
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lea gate mixed grill raf coningsby low beams large garden whilst visiting the area olde world lovely old pub fillet steak lovely evening sunday lunch steeped in history nice meal large party catfish lovely room play area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Visited for the first time last night. The room was booked for us by a third party so didn't know what to expect. The place is lovely and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Due to a road closure we were running VERY late. This wasnt a problem and happy to wait up until we arrived. We arrived after 11pm and were shown to a very clean room with comfortable beds. We slept solidly and after a good hot shower went for breakfast. This didn't dissapoint either. Wonderful hot fresh food for breakfast and good size portions. We will definately be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cowgirlwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Arrived very late, to be welcomed by lovely staff. A lovely room with ensuite bathroom.
We were more than happy with the breakfast menu and the scrambled eggs with salmon was wonderful.
We would not hesitate staying here again, if we were in the area.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank jayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Cannot accomodate Gluten Free menu,
We ordered and paid for a Gluten Free breakfast, and the hostess claimed she didn't know, until we were leaving , then said she saw it in the notes ..
Host on arrival was not friendly at all
NOT worth £72 per night

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Arrived 21st March, booked a family room at short notice due to a plumbing problem at home.

Our family of 4 were made to feel very weclome upon arrival, having had a stressful few days during a bathroom refit, the room was clean, tidy, warm and inviting. it was important to us stay local so we could get the children to school on time and be at our property to meet the workmen the following morning.

Breakfast the following morning was delicious, my teenage daughter, who can be extremely fussy asked for bacon with cheesy beans, she was duely accomadated and in her words "it made her day".

Would highly recommend to visiting friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richandsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Arrived Friday 23rd March and departed Tuesday 27th.
Great hotel steeped in history, staff, owners and locals made us really welcome especially on the Saturday night on the eve of my wifes 60th birthday.
Really nice food, had a lovely Sunday dinner there and two really nice evening meals.
Room was lovely, overlooked the the rear garden, really peaceful at night, could not fault it and can't wait to return and meet all that made us so welcome.
A big thank you to Sharon and Mark, they were great hosts, see you soon guys.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the rear garden was lovely and spacous, well recommende
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews