We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

New Park Hotel Bistro
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Athenry
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Athenry's Boutique Hotel and Home of Good FoodThe New Park Hotel, located in the historic town of Athenry, Co Galway is a renowned Boutique Hotel with a terrific reputation for hospitality and great food. The family run hotel which first opened in 1994 has recently been renovated and we would love to welcome you as our guests to enjoy our Park Bar and Parlour Bistro or why not stay over in our newly renovated bedrooms. We are also the perfect host for your party and we can comfortably take care of 120 guests.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The steak was great here, ham and mashed potatoes.. very good. The best entree we ordered was the fresh fish with bacon and mashed, this was outstanding! The chicken wing appetizer was good. It felt like we had a long time friend as our waitress, she really made it fun. The value here is amazing. Six of us ate, with appetizers and a 27 euro bottle of wine for a total of 152 euros!! May be the most cost effective dinner we had in the entirety of Ireland. Plus, the food served here is just wonderful.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Having read such good reviews about lunch, we stopped here yesterday. Sorry we did!
We both had roasts, turkey and ham €15. and the roast beef €15. Reheats! Veggies were fine.
The roast potatoes were possibly a few days old, terrible. Plates smothered in gravy (I wonder why).

Drinks were expensive also.

Toilets were nice. That was the only positive!

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank dublinvisitor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

My husband had the “Thai chicken curry” - it was definitely yesterday’s left over roast chicken dinner with a jar of shop bought thai curry sauce added. I’d the seafood platter - smoked salmon along with large and small prawns and a piece of poached salmon - the only fresh thing was the smoked salmon. The King prawns were tough and rubbery; the small prawns were barely thawed and the poached salmon was over cooked and had definitely been in their fridge for at least 2 days. Don’t waste your time or money. Service was only okay. Had to ask for cutlery and drinks ....

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank smg705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful dining room, attentive staff and most importantly fantastic, attractively presented food at very reasonable prices. I would always recommend the fish chowder and the salmon. I will be back on my next trip!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nimbus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newparkhotelathenry, General Manager at New Park Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Nimbus49

Thank you for your excellent review on both staff, restaurant and of course our delicious food! It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,


Shirley Kilduff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We arranged a bit of a family reunion here on a Saturday. The place was not crowded (we were there for 3PM) but was very inviting. The staff were friendly and left us alone to meet and greet.

Our orders were taken with friendly help as needed. The food was delivered hot and appetizing. The portions are a bit small and that is disguised by larger portions of veg and potato. This resulted in the price being a good deal too high for what was delivered.

That said, everyone was friendly and helpful and due to the lack of customers we were let have our reunion to our hearts content. We thank them for that.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fenway1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Park Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Athenry, County Galway
Athenry, County Galway
 
Athenry, County Galway
Athenry, County Galway
 

Been to New Park Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing