We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful retreat in the mountains.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Annex
The Annex The Annex Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to The Annex
The Annex
The Annex Entrance
On top of the world......... early morning mist
One of the many views you will enjoy
Living area showing sofa bed
Kitchen
Some of the generous breakfast hamper
Dining area with views beyond
Bedroom 1 showing king double which can be divided to form 2 king singles
Bedroom 2 showing 2 singles which can be joined to form 1 double
Boxing male wallabies fighting over the female in background
Please visit, we'd love to see you.
Relax at the end of the day with a glass of local wine & enjoy the sunset
A great place to unwind & have a BBQ
Somewhere over the rainbow..... is a place called The Annex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Branxton, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
george w
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful retreat in the mountains.”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Annex was a great holiday rental residence and the owners have shown great hospitality. Though our trip was only a few days, it was very enjoyable. A substantial breakfast was already supplied, so you don't need to worry about that. The whole building was very spacious and comfortable. Although it was a tad far away from the shops, it was a great experience that is close to nature. We would definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review, George. We loved having you and your family to stay and are so glad you enjoyed your brief time here. Thank you for booking The Annex, leaving it so cleanand tidy and we look forward to seeing you again. With kind regards, Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location is fantastic, on top of the hill with panoramic views and very peaceful. Sue & Roland are great hosts and we could not want for anything more. Everything was provided. We came to visit the wineries and were a little hesitant at first being around 25 k's away but it was so peaceful and quiet we are so glad we booked. If we visit the Hunter Valley again we would definitely stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you Robert for your positive review; it's always helpful to receive guests comments on our property and location. We will look forward to welcoming you back. With best wishes for 2017. Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch6y
1 review
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Annex was the perfect retreat with friends to celebrate a special occasion. Directions provided to the place were easy to follow. Located on the top of a hill with spectacular views we adored the beautiful sunset in the evening and were companied by wallabies. At night we could see the bright stars and could hear the crack of thunder echo through the valley. During the day we utilised the BBQ area for lunch and were lucky to see eagles in the sky. Everything was provided for and more. Susan and Roland have exceeded my expectations to every fine detail to make our stay a memorable one. I would love to come back with my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful and positive review; it's good to know we are doing something right! We really enjoyed having you and your friends here, it was lovely to hear your laughter and we are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to seeing you again. Roland and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruderlin
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a magnificent place to stay at. The Annex retreat I shall call it as our family of 4 had an absolutely fabulous stay. Roland and Sue are terrific hosts and have thought of every little detail to make you welcome. Better than a hotel stay I say. Everything is provided. Just pack your clothes, follow directions given by Sue and you will be very comfortable when you get there.
We will certainly return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for your review and comments which are always welcome as they give other guests some idea of what to expect. Thank you for coming, we hope to see you again. Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Idyllic!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a fantastic place the annex is, the situation is beautiful with extended views over the valley and everything you can think of has been provided. Roland and Sue are excellent hosts, follow their directions and finding the annex is not difficult. We were very comfortable during our stay and would have loved to stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your review: we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing