We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altomincio Family Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altomincio Family Park
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is our third year to camp previous two occasions were to France which we loved but felt like a change this year so decided on Italy and we are so glad we did. The mobile pitches are quite small but as we were travelling with another family this wasn't a huge issue. There is no parking beside your mobile which is a nuisance when you have to go to the supermarket and trek back with your shopping but on the other hand it is so safe for kids as there is no cars driving up and down constantly.

The on site restaurant isn't great but there is a fantastic restaurant just outside the front gate although it doesn't really cater for kids and they are quick to tell you in broken English "NO PIZZA" but they do pasta dishes which our kids loved and there is also great restaurants in the nearby towns and the take away on site is good. The site is also a no cash site you are given a card on arrival which you keep topping up as you need it again a bit of a pain but you soon get used to it.

Entertainment in evening is aimed at younger kids mainly kiddies disco which our 5 year old loved however 10 year old not so impressed. Swimming pools are fantastic kids pool is soft and spongy so if kids fall there is no tears.

Our Thomson Al Fresco reps were fantastic and very helpful they were always passing by and most days would stop for a chat.

Would totally recommend this park as we had a fantastic time and weather was fab(which always helps) will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    222
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
574
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We are just back from spending 11 nights with Eurocamp in Altomincio.

We have trevelled with Eurocamp for the past number of years and we once again got a very good service. Van was well kitted out and very clean and in a good location in the park. Couriers were very friendly. Only critism is can they get rid of blankets and provide duvets and also provide a better quality of towel.

With regard to the campsite, we really did enjoy it. Our three children are 9, 12 & 13 and it was ideal for their age group and younger. If your children are over 15, they may find it too quiet for their tastes. The following is a breakdown of the campsite:

Layout & Pitches - Pitches are close together and if you are a late riser, you will hear everything that goes on around you from about 8. The pitches allocated to Eurocamp, Keycamp and Thomsons are probably the best on the site. Other pitches particuliarly near the football pitch are uphill and along way from the pools and facilities. Park is very well maintained and clean and the issue with footpaths is now fixed with paved paths everywhere. There are no cars on site and it can be a bit of a walk to the carpark. On arrival reception will bring your luggage to your mobile by golf cart and you can book the same when you are leaving. If you go out to shop, you should stop at carpark at reception and put your groceries in one of the shopping trollies there and take it to your mobile using it.

Swimming Pools - Swimming complex is great. Lagoon Pool has four slides and the two ones side by side provide great entertainment for races etc. Lagoon pool is padded and very shallow so don't worry about children banging their heads. Olympic pool is about 1.2 M in depth. Pools are clean and well maintained but were very busy by the time we left on the 11th July. If you are thinking of going for a proper swim in the olympic pool, you will have to go between 9 and 9:30.

Sports Pitches - Not in good condition and at far end of campsite. No other sports facilities.

Bar/Restaraunts - We found them to be good value and good quality. We ate their twice. If you are dining out, you should go up to Valeggio or Pescheira where there is plenty of good restaraunts.

Shop - Reasonably well stocked and prices are OK. Good enough to buy initial supplies when you arrive and to top up during stay. There is a very good supermarket in the local town (3 KMs away). It is very well stocked and good value. I would recommend going to it as it will save you a lot of money.

Staff - We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

In all we really enjoyed our stay here. However it is about 5 miles from the lake and if you want to take full adavantage of the lake you would bebetter staying in Bell Italia or another campsite that leads onto the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HMCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We have just come back from 2 weeks travelling with a 2 and a 3 year old. We booked with Eurocamp although they only have 15 caravans on site. It is true that the pitches are extremely close together. We were on the main path to the pool and there was a lot of passing traffic although not after 11pm. Our two children absolutely loved it. The children's staff were phenomenal and made our children feel very special. They all spoke excellent English to us and every time they saw them, they would run up to dance or chat. There is a lagoon pool with 3 slides and a whale in the middle with slides. There is a normal swimming pool too. The lagoon pool has a soft bottom and is only calf deep so is very safe but be aware of kids and adults with water pistols which can get annoying. Even in hot weather the water is chilly in the morning and best in the afternoon. The site has a nice atmosphere and the staff are all friendly. The restaurant and takeaway are good with a nice selection of food and reasonably priced. Foggys bar at the pool is the exception as service is slow and the food poor and pricey. The shop is adequate and they Ice cream shop is fantastic. At all these places you need to pay with a payment card which you pre-pay with funds at any of the establishments which actually works quite well. There is a little walk to the car park. We drove from Calais and it took 12 hours through France and Switzerland. There are around 12 play parks throughout the site which are great. Lake Garda is very beautiful and lots to do in the local area. We visited Gardaland, Mini-Italia and a safari park. The town of Simone is worth a visit. The site is by a river and we hired bikes one day for a pleasant cycle towards the lake.
As our children our young we did not experience the evening entertainment. We would go to the tots disco at 8.45 and did not see the evening shows which started at 9.15. The disco was good and as well as the evening one would be repeated twice a day in the pool. The weather was glorious in June and the whole family had a great time. I am very happy to recommend this site for young families

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorfahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford IRl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Hi, We arrived late at night, the campsite staff were very helpful but we never saw or spoke to anyone from Vacansoleil until I got a note in the door to say we hadn't paid our deposit and to go to reception. We weren't given any info about the Lake and found the Vacansoleil staff unfriendly. The entertainment at night was terrible, we had two teenage girls with us and they found the noise of children in the early moring very annoying, probably because the mobile homes are very close together and you were woken either by the tractors picking up the bins, buggies or children crying. Shop was very reasonable, food in take away was nice but a bit pricey. Walk along the river was nice but access to Lake Garda is 10 minutes drive away, so a bit far to walk.We stayed at this site 2 years ago before they had added all the extra mobile homes and it was a nicer place to stay. Don't go during peak season or with children any older that 14.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WexfordIRlStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed onsite with Thompson Al Fresco....no problem....great accommodation and great rep's...although the showers in the Pucini rivieras could do with looking at!!
We were however a little disappointed with the site itself. We have been doing this type of holiday since the mid 80's ( when Eurocamp were known as in-tent!) and we have never seen so many units packed into such a small space!.....We were at the end of the site which has just been developed ( near to the reception) and it is particularly overcrowded, The part of the site closer to the pools is much more mature and although a little too shaded in places, there seemed to be a little more space here.
The site is child friendly with no vehicles allowed but as others have said you take your life in your hands dodging numerous golf buggies and bikes!! We found the shop quite well stocked and reasonably priced with fresh bread and croissants etc however there is a supermarket 'Martinellis'..just a couple of minutes drive away which has a good deli counter and the cheapest wine I have ever come across while camping in Italy....and not rubbish wine....valdo prosecco, bigi..fontana candida...at unbelievable prices. We were not impressed with the restaurant......be aware that everything onsite caters for the german and dutch visitor, which is general in the garda area, however this isn't a problem. There is a lovely little hotel/restaurant ( forgotten the name) just outside the gate on the riverside, well worth a visit!
The biggest problem we came accross onsite were the childrens play areas. They are not regulated or organised in any way. We were directly opposite a play area, which was great, as we had our 3 year old grandson with us....or so we thought! During the day it was fairly quiet with most people offsite or at the pool, it was evening time when they came to life! Unfortunately it was older children causing the problems, misusing the equipment, screaming and shouting and worst of all throwing sand ...and rocks!! These areas are meant for toddlers!
On two occasions I had to intervene and stop boys throwing missiles...one was a concrete paving block!...this I reported to the Thompson rep. who did take action and spoke to the parents concerned. Also be aware that the equipment itself is not completely safe...if you have toddlers watch them like a hawk! On our last evening a 2 year old fell between a platform and the steps leading up and badly cut her eye, requiring hospital treatment!
We felt the site and the area around the lake had a generaly 'continental' feel but not specifically italian!!,,,if that makes sense! We wouldn't particularly recommend this site, but it is great fun for children. What is surprising is that the site is owned and run by Elite Club Vacanze...who also own and run camping Norcenni Girasole in Tuscany...an outstanding site we have visited 6 times...the two cannot be compared!

Room Tip: Can recommend Al Fresco for accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beetle274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valeggio Sul Mincio
1.8 km away
Hotel agli Ulivi
Hotel agli Ulivi
#1 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.2 km away
Camping Bella Italia
Camping Bella Italia
#1 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
6.1 km away
Camping del Garda
Camping del Garda
#3 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
#1 of 27 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
26.3 km away
Camping Eden Village
Camping Eden Village
#4 of 12 in San Felice del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
5.5 km away
Gardaland Hotel
Gardaland Hotel
#3 of 11 in Castelnuovo del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altomincio Family Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altomincio Family Park

Property: Altomincio Family Park
Address: Localita Torrente Valle SNC, 37067, Valeggio Sul Mincio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Valeggio Sul Mincio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Valeggio Sul Mincio
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,351 - ₹ 13,679
Hotel Class:3 star — Altomincio Family Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Altomincio Family Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altomincio Family Park Hotel Valeggio Sul Mincio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing