We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house in a beautiful Mediterranean island”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Su Domu Grogu

Su Domu Grogu
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Su Domu Grogu
The house overlooks the village square The spacious roof terrace has panoramic views across the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Su Domu Grogu
The house overlooks the village square
The spacious roof terrace has panoramic views across the valley
The large kitchen is the heart of the house
Well equipped kitchen and utility room
The kitchen has an open log fire
Main bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom with balcony
Twin Bedroom
Twin room
The sitting room
The sitting room
Dining room looking through to sitting room
The village of Sagama
Roof terrace in evening light
View of village from roof terrace
The nearby town of Bosa
The River Temo in nearby Bosa
Torre Columbargia beach nearby
S'abba Druche beach nearby
Porto Alabe beach nearby
Culputitu beach nearby
Sa Sartiglia horse festival (2016 dates are 7 - 9th Feb)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tresnuraghes, Province of Oristano, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AnerleyBo...
Kingston Upon Thames
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a beautiful Mediterranean island”
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011

I stayed in Su Domu Grogu with a few friends in the middle of a (very uncommon) snowy February and before the refurbishment work was complete. Consequently I saw the house and the village of Sagama at their least picturesque. Nonetheless, I liked the house a lot and I had a fine week.

The house is large and comfortable, built in the 1930s I think, for a large extended family. It’s well decorated and furnished, and has solid masonry walls throughout - quiet and coolness are built in. The rooms are large and well-proportioned, as are the hall and landings; the space and airiness impressed me immediately. It's altogether unlike the typical modern holiday villa.

Su Domu Grogu doesn't have a garden but it has a terrace by the front door and a large roof terrace. Both terraces and all the rooms face south, looking down on the high street and the church piazza. The roof terrace has a rustic loggia roof, providing much-needed shade - the sun in spring, summer and autumn is hot and constant.

The house is opposite the village church and looks south across its piazza to open countryside and the Monte Ferru massif twenty kilometres away. The piazza is the physical and social centre of the village, of course. It was landscaped and refurbished in 2010 and it is a wonderful social space, especially in the evenings, especially during the passeggiata.

Sagama has one tiny shop, no bar or restaurant and no other holiday homes or villas. The lack of entertainment didn't seem very important. For shopping we went to the nearby villages, where the walls of many houses are decorated with remarkable murals - some religious, like the one on Su Domu Grogu, some contemporary/quirky/bizarre. For urban entertainment we went down to Bosa, the nice riverside port about 10mins away.

We went for several runs around Sagama and a few cycle rides (there are a couple of bikes in the garage below the house). The surrounding countryside is a rolling green plateau several hundred feet above sea-level.

We didn't have time to visit the island's rock-climbing areas – boulders, mountain crags and sea-cliffs - which are dotted around within driving distance of Su Domu Grogu. We didn't visit the nearby Bosa Rowing Club but rowers and rowing clubs from around Europe regularly do, attracted by the atmosphere and good rowing water of the estuary. We went to Oristano to see Sa Sartiglia - a marvellous 500-year-old festival and equestrian tournament.

The nearest beach is about 10mins drive away, and the coast is typically Mediterranean, with rocky outcrops and small sandy beaches.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2011
Looks like you had an active time, even in winter! The horse festival, Sa Sartiglia, in Oristano is extraordinary! The whole old-town is transformed, people in national dress, amazing horse acrobatics. We've put a picture on the advert.
We think the house is quite a bit older - probably 19th Century. Look forward to welcoming you back in a warmer time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianwen...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great accommodation in beautiful, unspoilt Sardinia”
Reviewed 3 June 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Stayed in Su Domu Grogu for a quiet autumn break last year. The house is huge and very well equipped, so it was strange just having the two of us there! However, we chose this villa because it's great value and we wanted to go somewhere sunny and unspoilt - we certainly weren't disappointed by the charming village of Sagama.

The directions and advice that we received from the owner were very helpful, they also gave us some ideas of beaches to go to and places to eat out.

To visit rural Sardinia you will definitely need to rent a car, but it's worth it - we really enjoyed driving around and found some stunning beaches. The nearest town is quite pretty and has supermarkets, shops, restaurants and cafés, but aren't any shops in the village.

A great location to relax (on the beach or on the large sun terrace) and get away from it all. I really hope that we can come again but next time I would bring a group of friends to fill the place and make the most of it, as there is plenty of space for eating, drinking and chilling!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2011
Look forward to welcoming you back, bringing some friends so you fill the house a bit more! And a little shop has opened up in the village now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RENARD V
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for these kind words and so pleased you had a lovely holiday! We would be delighted to welcome you back. Peter and Ruth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0Jean_Pie...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pleins de commodités (Parasols, Ventilateurs, ...)
Liked least: Manque lave-vaisselle
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zacael
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lo amplia que es la casa y su ubicación
Liked least: Suciedad, y deterioro general de la vivienda
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
We’re glad you liked the house and village but sorry somethings weren’t quite right on this occasion. We were surprised about the cleaning because our cleaner has been fantastic. Perhaps you could take a moment to email us with specifics so we can take it up and improve things for future visitors. And this winter we are investing in upgrading the windows and shutters. Best wishes, Peter and Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing