We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our great expections!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Mass
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceeded our great expections!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have had a trip to this hotel on my bucket list since I first saw it on the cover of Wine Spectator in 2006! Given the steep price (especially compared to other fine hotels in the area), I wasn't sure that it would live up to my expectations. I was not disappointed! Our request for a room in the main Gehry building was honored, and I gasped when the door to Room 10 was opened. Light filled the room (even on an overcast day) through the set of windows that were signature Gehry and reminiscent of our recent visit to the Guggenheim.

The staff was cheerful, helpful and very approachable so the atmosphere is very relaxed and not stuffy. Just perfect for this crazy, fun building!

Dinner in the restaurant was delicious but a little too formal for our tastes. I can't relax when I feel I have to whisper through dinner. But small complaint when you are sitting in such fabulous space, eating such delicious food.

Highly recommend but not sure if our experience would have been the same if we ended up in the annex!

Only thing missing from the room was hooks in the bathroom near the shower for towels, robes etc.

Room Tip: Request the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaoMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    178
    57
    25
    13
See reviews for
115
592
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in Jan., 2012, and found the staff to be one of the most helpful, upbeat group on our trip. Great experience touring the winery, wonderful spa, facilities were top notch. Very American friendly. Restuarants/food was outstanding, particularly the breakfast buffet. Great location for day trips to Bilbao (the Guggenheim Museum), Pamplona, and San Sebastian.

Room Tip: Suites are not that numerous, but if a special rate for upgrade is offered, I would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Relaxation in rural surroundings...
Advantages:
- Excellent location
- Excellent rooms, views and decoration
- Excellent Spa
- Excellent service, friendly staff

Areas of development:
- Kids amenities, baby cot is more playpen than a cot. Finally our baby slept with us. Baby-chairs are not suitable for baby under 1 year.
- Breakfast might be more variable for such level of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful monument of art from Frank Gehry and fouding families of Rioja region.

Only one word to describe the experience - Fantastic!

Staff was the most courteous, facilities and Vinotherapie spa was fabolous. Top notch amenities including B&O tv, Porsche design coffee maker, Claudijale toileteries and IP phones in rural Spain in most exquisite location and designed hotel.

We had a chance to visit the winery during our stay and were impressed by the stuff, a must do in the Rioja wine region.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The last thing this place needs is another 5 star review because they are already so many but I have to say we had the best service and room while traveling here. We have decided this might be one of our top favorite hotels ever. We aren't extensive world travelers but I feel like we have stayed some cool places and this hotel is the total package. The rooms are so comfortable, we were in room 15 looking back into town. We did the 4:30 wine tour and enjoyed getting to see all the original buildings. Our food at the Restaurante Marqués de Riscal, was great and the service in the actual restaurant was AMAZING. One piece of advice, if you are in the area long enough book a car service to drive you around wine tasting throughout the area. Laguardia and all the areas close are beautiful but you won't regret staying here as your home base. Only side note, stick to wine at the restaurant. We had been drinking wine all day and decided to have two cocktails each which cost 75e, half our bill. Stupid Americans:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemsongal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
5.1 km away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
5.6 km away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
598 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
254 reviews
14.9 km away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
498 reviews
5.5 km away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,065 - ₹ 48,524
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing