We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rioja-Rioja...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rioja-Rioja...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Relaxation in rural surroundings...
Advantages:
- Excellent location
- Excellent rooms, views and decoration
- Excellent Spa
- Excellent service, friendly staff

Areas of development:
- Kids amenities, baby cot is more playpen than a cot. Finally our baby slept with us. Baby-chairs are not suitable for baby under 1 year.
- Breakfast might be more variable for such level of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    151
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
101
517
13
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful monument of art from Frank Gehry and fouding families of Rioja region.

Only one word to describe the experience - Fantastic!

Staff was the most courteous, facilities and Vinotherapie spa was fabolous. Top notch amenities including B&O tv, Porsche design coffee maker, Claudijale toileteries and IP phones in rural Spain in most exquisite location and designed hotel.

We had a chance to visit the winery during our stay and were impressed by the stuff, a must do in the Rioja wine region.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The last thing this place needs is another 5 star review because they are already so many but I have to say we had the best service and room while traveling here. We have decided this might be one of our top favorite hotels ever. We aren't extensive world travelers but I feel like we have stayed some cool places and this hotel is the total package. The rooms are so comfortable, we were in room 15 looking back into town. We did the 4:30 wine tour and enjoyed getting to see all the original buildings. Our food at the Restaurante Marqués de Riscal, was great and the service in the actual restaurant was AMAZING. One piece of advice, if you are in the area long enough book a car service to drive you around wine tasting throughout the area. Laguardia and all the areas close are beautiful but you won't regret staying here as your home base. Only side note, stick to wine at the restaurant. We had been drinking wine all day and decided to have two cocktails each which cost 75e, half our bill. Stupid Americans:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemsongal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is absolutely amazing! Upon arrival, we were served a complimentary drink at the check-in desk, and then escorted to our room. The room was perfect with a view over looking the vineyards. The room was equipped with everything to make your stay enjoyable, including Bang and Olufsen sound system, bottle of wine, comfy bed, large bathroom.... The staff here was wonderful! We enjoyed many nights at the bar conversing with the employees and learning about their culture. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Full spread of meats, fruits, breads, juices, champagne, and more. This hotel is well worth the price you will pay, you wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymbolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We chose this hotel basically due to its design, since F. Gehry is my favorite architect. But as soon as you enter, you start to relax completely. And believe me, it's not just the smell of winemaking in the air :) Privacy is guaranteed, and service seems to be natural to all the employees. Rooms are spacious and equipped with anything you may need. Good for weekend stays, when there's need to be pampered... If you stay longer, rent a car and go and explore beautiful Basque country, great wine and friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokioska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
5.1 km away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
5.6 km away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa de Elciego
Hotel Villa de Elciego
#2 of 2 in Elciego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 km away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,040 - ₹ 70,857
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing