We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”
Review of Ray's Cafe

Ray's Cafe
Ranked #4 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cosy restaurant with pavement and indoor seating. Open 7 days a week, fully licensed. Serving early morning breakfasts, teas, sweet treats, homemade cakes. Light lunches all made in our own kitchen, homemade pie and gravy, hamburgers, fish and chips, bangers and mash, healthy quiches, salads, soups and so much more. Sunday Roasts with roast beef and yorkshire puddings. Ideal for bus tours with large groups, families and business meetings.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stopped at this café for tea after seeing the falls and were delighted. My scones were the best I have ever had and my sister was delighted with her pancakes. The staff were so pleasant and welcoming. Definitely worth visiting.

Thank jackieC6945ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev S, Owner at Ray's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, and we are so glad you had a memorable meal. Many thanks from The Team @ Rays Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Reserved seating for guests that book. Even though long weekend we found a table inside. Wide range from roast lunch to quiche and salad available. Prompt good service.

Thank Lauren_LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Manager at Ray's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your kind response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

After spending a Beautiful weekend in Drakensburg, we decided to stop in Hawick to view the falls.

As I was driving out I spotted this quaint Café on the road side Called Ray’s Café on arrival we were greeted immediately by an elderly gentlemen who sat us down and gave us the menus.

The Café was comfortable and clean .The menu had a good variety to cater for all taste buds there were daily specials advertised on Chalkboards that hung on the walls. We ordered Fish & Chips, Pancakes with Cream and the Carrot Cake . The Fish & Chips was fresh tasty and the potion size was huge defiantly value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeeandranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Ray's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you so much for your compliments and so glad you had a great meal. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Stopped here as my young nephew loves the pancakes and I could see why. The breakfast were generous and cooked exactly as requested and the omelette I ordered was mouth watering.

The coffee's went down a treat and refills were ordered. Friendly staff who were not overbearing provided the meals efficiently.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Ray's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. So glad you had a great meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. Popped in for an early breakfast at Rays Cafe and ended up going for the traditional pie gravy and chips. Yes a homemade pie, fresh chips, secret of the house gravy and to top it off, pleasant chatter with Kevin, the manager and outstanding service from Zanele. I love independent cafe’s and this baby sits right up there as a must do when sliding through Howick for an antique trawel on weekends. A 10.

Thank JanineViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B, Owner at Ray's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Cafe also viewed

Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ray's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing