We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just breathtaking...”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Swimming pool and garden the semi covered patio area offers some welcome shade for al fresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Casa Laura, private swimming pool and terrace
Swimming pool and garden
the semi covered patio area offers some welcome shade for al fresco dining
Start your day with a coffee or discuss the days events over an aperitif
lounge with plenty of comfortable seating
lounge leading into study
Study with WIFI internet
kitchen
kitchen dining area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second upstairs double bedroom
downstairs bathroom
upstairs bathroom
view from Sillico church
Casa Laura with the  panoramic views from the house and garden
Create you own pizzas in our outside wood oven
Your hosts, Yvonne and Delfo Melli
Horseriding is just one of the many outdoor pursuits available in the area
Sillico's July wheat festival
Sillico village
Il Belvedere Restaurant, Sillico
Sillico in the spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ArishaIsa...
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking...”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in June 2014

A wonderful place. Great views, wondering location and fantastic living conditions with pretty much anything you need. If you required anything Yvonne was more than happy to pop in and help you. Will consider returning here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tessa c
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and welcoming”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

lovely house, views and village. Beautifully kept and cared for by very considerate owners. Wonderful mountain top views and just a few steps to a friendly little bar.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most wonderful villa to complement the beautiful views!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a quiet villa to rent in Tuscany with a private pool for the 1st part of our honeymoon. We chose Casa Laura which is located in the spectacularly situated hill side village of Sillico, looking down on the towns of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana and Pieve Fosciana.

The villa itself is a large and traditional two story house with one of the most stunning views i've had the pleasure of witnessing. The view from the garden, the pool and from all of the front windows of the house looks straight across the valley to the villages and tree clad mountains beyond, in any weather it's a very special view and in bright Tuscan sunshine or with a clear night sky it's a real challenge to tear your eyes away.

The house itself is incredibly well equipped, there is off-road parking and the ground floor has a large kitchen diner full of everything you could possibly need, two front living rooms with comfortable sofas and a library of books, films and music to enjoy, a shower room (with a rather fancy multi jet shower) and a large double bedroom, upstairs there are two further large bedrooms and a shower room as well as access to the garden to the rear. Outside there is a large dining table underneath a veranda (so perfectly usable if there’s rain) and then the pool and terrace area with ample seating, several sun loungers for admiring the view from and a raised grassed area with lots of plants and flowers too. Next to the car parking area is an outdoor wood fired Pizza oven, which we had great fun attempting to use - Sadly we forgot a vital ingredient and our pizza turned out to be a bit of a misfire with only ourselves to blame, but you live and learn and next time round we’ll do better! - We spent the majority of our time in the villa’s lovely garden, lazing on a lounger with a book in front of that view. It was always our intention to have as relaxing a holiday as possible after the year or so’s worth of insanity that comes along with planning a wedding and Casa Laura facilitated that perfectly. When we found the energy we did take several walks in the surrounding countryside and were lucky enough to see plenty of wildlife and many more remote villages clutching the hillside.

The villa is only a moment’s walk from the village restaurant and shop which we found to be delicious and reasonably priced, or it’s a short drive down the hill to Pieve Fosciana for a Coop supermarket and more eating out options in Pieve or Castelnuovo. We also took the train to Florence for a day’s sightseeing which was brilliant and very much recommended (You can drive to Florence in a couple of hours but by all accounts it’s not the most enjoyable city to be a driver in, especially if you're unfamiliar with the city), the view from the top of Il Duomo is worth the trip alone but the rest of the city is as you’d expect full of a vast amount of cultural and culinary delights.

All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend Casa Laura to anybody looking to spend some time in northern Tuscany, The owners of the villa live close by and were courteous and helpful throughout our stay and you really couldn’t ask for a finer base to explore the surrounding area, sample Italian life or alternatively like us chill out and watch the world go by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C66
central scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with magnificent views”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks at Casa Laura and had an amazing holiday. Villa is well appointed and photos really don't do it justice , much more spacious than we'd expected. The views are incredible and the village probably hasn't changed much in 100's of years. We were fortunate to be there for a local festival and enjoyed a 4 course dinner at different points throughout the village. Worked out about 20 euros a head including aperitif and was well worth it.

Villa was a good base for exploring the area and we visited Florence and Lucca. The drive up the mountain takes about 20 mins but the views are spectacular. There are 2 supermarkets in Pieve Fosciana which sell everything that you need and prices are reasonable , only open til 1230pm on a Sunday though.

We spent many relaxing days at the pool, it's not heated and can take a little while to acclimatise but once you are in it's fine!

Villa owners were very helpful and responded very quickly to any requests.

Would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny A
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace in the mountains”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Laura is definitely for people who want to get away from it all and enjoy spectacular views and walks. The village of Sillico is very pretty and boasts a restaurant which is OK. Getting there does involve a drive up a very steep, winding ascent.

It is a comfortable, well equipped house the only draw back being the trek from the kitchen to the patio which makes dining al fresco a bit of a mission. The owners are a very friendly and helpful couple who are on hand if you need any information. We had a very relaxed an enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of storage space in second bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing