We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
70
54
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
54
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town the owner bed was comfortable barolo hill region vineyards suite wine
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful building in a beautiful location, just down the hill from the old town, with lovely views over the countryside. We only had one night here and it was raining most of the time but even so, it is a beautiful place. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room which was delightful, beautifully decorated and opening on to a lovely terrace with weeping wisteria. All the amenities did as they should and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was in a lovely room and offered plenty of selection to satisfy most. This would be a lovely base from which to explore the northern parts of the Langhe, or indeed all of it. Neive itself had plenty of action with restaurants, wine tastings and lots of historical interest. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andrewcK1965JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villauri, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Lauri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Sir Andrew, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great time here in our hotel, we hope to see you very soon,
we all wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

I would imagine anyone wanting to stay in the Neive, Italy area knows that you would be situated in the center of some of the world's best wines. If you go there and want a quiet environment with excellent sertvice (from the likes of Vivenne, the owner and tremendous employees like Ennis and Evonna, then you found the right place). To repeat another visitor, the Barolo Suite gives you a great views from the spacious outside deck and the bathroom window. To give constructive comments, the shower is very small and if you are a big person, it is not optimal. They don't have room safes which may be an issue for some people. There is a restaurant that is connected to the hotel, though not part of the hotel which is very nice. From the hotel it is a short walk to the town of Neive, albeit uphill.

Room Tip: Choose the Barolo suite!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kelleyted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villauri, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Lauri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Kelley Ted, we are pleased that you liked the place and the location and we can't wait to see you very soon.
With the best regards
Villa Lauri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This villa was the perfect first-stop in our Italian trip. The room was very, very comfortable, the views of the surrounding vineyards were breathtaking, and the breakfast and coffee served on the patio (or dining room) was the perfect start to our day. We were without a car but enjoyed very much the short walk to town. For a daytrip to Alba, Vivienne helped us with bus information, arranged for taxis; she was truly wonderful. The restaurant below the villa (Cantina del Rondo) was a very pleasant surprise. The restaurant was beautiful, there was a great ambiance, the staff was attentive, and the food quality was impressive. Rondo's own wine was outstanding! We are so happy to have discovered Villa Lauri and we very much hope to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 999Puravida999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We spent two nights here in late October, 2016. My wife and I stayed in the Barolo suite and my in-laws stayed in the room next door. We arrived as the sun was setting. Before checking in, the host brought us to the small dining area and prepared coffees/espressos. After a drive across northern Italy from Venice, that hospitality was very welcome.
The rooms were clean, perhaps a bit dated, but in good repair and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable--and with back problems a comfortable bed is extremely important to me. We were likely the only people staying in our section of the hotel those nights. It was midweek, and late in the season. So it was definitely VERY quiet. But the highlight was easily the terrace of our room. It's large and has an incredible view in three directions, most prominently toward Neive to the north. While we had cool, foggy weather, in sunnier times it would be a glorious place. It's definitely worth the extra money if it's available.
Note that this hotel is outside Neive proper. It would be a 5-10 minute walk (with some hills) or a very brief drive to the town and it's shops and restaurants. We thought it was perfect, since you avoid any town noise but still have ready access.

Room Tip: Get the Barolo suite. Definitely worth it for the terrace and view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BusterSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Quiet luxury is just what you get from this lovely small hotel where the rooms are named after wines. The rooms are spacious and airy, as are the shower rooms, and the large beds are comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. All staff we came across were cheerful. We walked up to the old town on one day, and on another day we walked from the hotel garden through the vineyards to the village of Barbaresco while the grapes were being harvested. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews